We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was even better than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is definitely worth the 5 star rating. We just loved it. The communication with the staff in English was very easy, they were very friendly (unlike in Vienna at the Hotel de France), and it helped make our trip to Budapest a joy. The hotel arranged everything for us (we're relatively novice travelers) from having a taxi waiting for us at the airport (I sent an email to them prior to our arrival and they charged it to my credit card and had someone waiting for us with our name on a sign when we landed--so easy) to purchasing our train tickets to Vienna so that we didn't have to go to the train station ourselves and try to figure out how to find it and then how to get a ticket. They arranged for a cab to take us to the train station, as well. Given that we were warned about cabbies in Budapest ripping tourists off, this was comforting to have a driver with a Corinthia sign on their car and a fixed price. We paid extra for the Executive floor and I strongly suggest that you do this. This gives you access to a private, bright, sitting/eating area with our own Concierge. Food and drinks were available all day, and you could easily make a meal in the evening from the soup and finger food. The wine was excellent, and they had liquor, as well. We loved our room. We were on the 2nd floor. It was very, very quiet, the sheets and towels were top quality, the TV was a modern flatscreen with lots of channels (about 4 in English). We like to walk, but for those who wanted to take the Metro, the hotel was very close to the M1 line. We thought seriously about staying at the Hilton on the Buda side, fearing that the Pest side would be noisy or crowded. It wasn't. I'm so glad that we chose the Corinthia. The Hilton felt like a convention hotel, and it was not nearly as elegant as the Corinthia in the lobby. The Soffitel might be an option if you want to be closer to the Buda side since it is right on the water, at the foot of the chain bridge, and seemed very nice when we went to the lobby. Personally, we liked being on the Pest side and would stay there again. We walked to the Buda side twice, (it is a very steep climb)---gorgeous and like a different world from Pest, with all its hills and castles. For us, we liked to visit "Buda", but liked staying in "Pest" since there was more to do and see.. If we go again, we will definitely stay at the Corinthia. Thanks, Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: At check-in, I asked for a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor.
We are so happy to read that we exceed your expectations and thank you for your
recommendation and nice words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,385 - 4,391 of 7,626 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nice hotel. Rooms are of a good size and nicely decorated. A bit of old-times-charm. Bathroos are new and nice. Big showers that works well. Smoking is allowed all over in Hungary, and even though we asked for a non-smoking-room, there were ashtrays in the room and it did not felt like a non-smoking-room. Sleep quality was good, but not what I would call luxurious. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, it was rather expensive and you can have lovely breakfast just around the corner – and even enjoy it outside in the nice weather. A nice hotel but we didn’t get the “ 5 star feeling”

Best tips; Stay here – eat breakfast elsewhere, lots of options if you leave the hotel, turn left, take the first right (Dob Utca) and then the second to the right (Kertesz Utca). You can sit outside or inside, order French, American or Hungarian breakfast – to a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in 5*superior way.
We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests and will endeavour to use such feedback constructively. Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be
doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your
experience with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A big hotel with a Grand Staircase occupying the centre stage when you enter into the hotel. All the staffs are polite, helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble and it was everything you would expect from a 5 Star hotel and they delivered! The Executive Room is well worth the upgrade with it's Executive Floor for it's guests. It was so handy to chill out in between shopping, sight seeing and dinning and the free usage of internet if required and there's also free WiFi too. The complimentry drinks and nibbles in the Executive Floor was plentiful and free flowing, it was rather lovely sitting by the big windows, in the sun and watching the world go by! The Royal Spa was lovely too, although we found the Steam Sauna rather mild in the temperature! The buffett breakfast was good but not the best we have had and you can sit either in the restaurant or in the Artrium. The bedroom was a good size and the bed was comfortable but the bathroom was a bit on the small side in porportion to the bedroom! All in all, I would stay here again when we're next in Budapest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKCK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to learn that your stay at our hotel have met your expectation. Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We got a rate of 104 Euros per night, excluding breakfast. It was an exceptionally well run hotel and the staff were great.

There is one review on here that says you need to use public transport to get to the main sites by the Danube. The public transport system is excellent and easy to use. The yellow metro line which leaves from close to the hotel and goes downtown is worth a look because it is one of the oldest metros in the world.

Actually there are loads of good bars etc near to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for paying special attention the Unesco World Heritage site Millenium Underground, which was built 1896 and it is the second oldest underground railways in the world only from a few minutes from our hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and 2 kids stayed at the hotel for 5 nights at the end of August. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment at the back of the hotel. It was very spacious with 2 bedrooms, a kitchen (did not use), and a living room. The best part was that the room had a washing machine. The room is right behind the hotel and is very convenient. We used all the amenities of the hotel. They cleaned our rooms just like a hotel and it was great.
The hotel is a bit far from the Buda side where a large majority of the tourist attractions are so you need to take a cab (which can be an ordeal with a lot of variability in the quality and trustworthiness of the drivers).
The restaurants in the hotel were very good but very pricey. Rickshaw was very good but an average meal for 4 can run about $175 without alcohol.
My biggest complaint is with the souvenir shop. The lady in there was extremely rude and a bit corrupt. She made us buy something because she said we broke it even though a concierge came and saw the piece and could not find a crack. It was only a few dollars but given the general atmosphere in the hotel, it left a very bad impression.

The spa was very nice. We got manicures and pedicures and the spa person Idilka was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments so we can continue to improve our guest experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor service you received by the souvenir shop staff. However the souvenir shop is an outside service we will forward your review and request immediate improvements in guest service at that area.

We will do our best to give you a positive experience next time.

We sincerely hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Who knew!? What a beautiful city and country! My son is studying in Budapest for a semester, so we went to visit. I would go back in an instant. We stayed in the extended living quaters at the Corinthia. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with a full kitchen and a washer! It was FANTASTIC! The extended living quarters are tucked away behind the hotel. It is very quiet and secluded. You would never think you were in the middle of a big city. The apartment was immaculate and spacious and the beds and bedding were very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the essentials you would need to prepare any meal, including a coffee pot and toaster. Just perfect! I also really appreciated the washer and the large drying rack. The hotel staff was very helpful and arranged day trips and rides to nearby cities for us and answered all our questions.

We did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants, but they looked lovely. Loved the spa pool. Many places to eat, shop and tour nearby the hotel. Be sure to see the Opera House and the Parliment Building, and shop at the Grand Marketplace. The transportation system is also easy to use.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwh8847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your recent stay at one of the Royal Residences Apartments.

We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back during your Son's semester.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is a absolute gem!
Fantastic in all aspects: Great food (breakfast and lunch buffet), wonderful SPA, plenty staff with pride and a smile, clean rooms and centrally positioned.

Will come back to this great hotel at any time, both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oslo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor_Kluka_CHB, Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.
This kind of reviews give us allways a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our
guests.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Gabor Kluka
Internet & Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $178 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing