We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis close to the busy Budapest centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pension Helios
Ranked #97 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
“An oasis close to the busy Budapest centre”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights and found it to be very nice. Room was clean and had a balcony where we could sit in the evening and enjoy the views. Warm water flow in the shower could have been better, now it was kind of brittish if you know what I mean.
The staff was very helpful with everything from supplying bus tickets to calling the local restaurant to ensure that they kept the kitchen open a bit longer for us. We could park our car inside their locked garden, probably not needed as the area seems very calm and nice, but better safe than sorry. The room rate was good but we found the breakfast price a little bit high, not expensive but still.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael_Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    111
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
106
37
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

It is the third time I'm spending my vacantion on Budapest, staying at Helios Hotel.
I'm very pleased by the services and my kids love to play in the backyard, while we are preparing to go downtown, which is easy to do by car or even by bus.

I mostly appreciate that the hotel has free private parking, which can be a real problem in the center hotels...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel Pension Helios is in a gorgeous location in the Buda hills. (Is this really in the city?) Yet it is easy to get to by public transportation. Metro and tram gets you up the hill quickly. It is quiet and clean. There are oleanders and lavender in the surrounding garden and the balcony is wonderful for enjoying one's morning coffee or evening rose. The staff was very friendly, but it was when I had a problem with my bike that the staff went way beyond the call of duty. I asked the concierge to check the train for the next leg of my travels. It turned out I was unable to take my bike on the train due to work on the tracks. The concierge checked all kinds of alternative routes, but none worked. Finally, he offered to keep my bike for me until I returned to Budapest. Problem solved! Getting immediate help from such an unexpected situation when you are traveling away from home is the kind of thing that stays with you. Staying at the Helios Panzio was a great experience for me and I will recommend it to anyone going to Budapest. Thanks.

Room Tip: My room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We arrived for one night and found a great room which we are sure to return to in the future.
As the place is quite high over the city, the air was plesent even on a very hot day.
We had a room with balcony and enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: To enjoy this hotel recommended to come by car, as it is quite far from the center at a high point o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hava111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great place with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable.The neighbourhood is quiet. Property has a beatuiful garden and private parking. We will visit that place again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seweryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel. Our room had an ample balcony. The hotel is clean and our room very very confortable. It is too far from Budapest (29 minutes by car), but the price made up for the travel time.

I have to say: We liked it a lot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orlando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great place for a base camp for the Budapest exploration. Excellent both for lone travelers and families. You can get bus tickets right in the hotel, as well as a lot of trip advises and recommendations from personnel. Next time I hope we'll stay in Helios again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#122 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#98 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Korall
#145 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Budai Hotel
#151 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#102 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Helios

Property: Hotel Pension Helios
Address: Liderc utca 5/a, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
#37 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Helios 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel in Budapest. Located in a green area of the City only 15 min. by local night and day bus from the City center. Helios Hotel Pension offers in Budapest newly furnished room studios and apartment.We offer free Internet access, enclosed parking place and hungarian buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pension Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing