We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well preserved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #100 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 13, 2014

A wonderful historic hotel that has not been over-modernized. There is still the feeling of nineteenth century luxury. This is not for everyone, but for those of us who enjoy going back in time, it is perfect. Service is good as are standards for almost everything. The breakfast buffet is tired and needs to be re-thought, and the classic baths are extremely confusing to navigate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear David K,

We are truly delighted to read that you had a great stay in the Gellért. Thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent holiday in the Danubius Hotel Gellért. We do appreciate your kind comment "a wonderful historic hotel that has not been over-modernized"...there is still the feeling of nineteenth century luxury". We were sorry to read your negative feedback concerning the breakfast, and we agree the bath and spa area may seem confusing to navigate, but there are hostesses on the hotel side, the management of the Gellért Bath have placed a lot of maps to help to navigate.

I thank you once more for your comments an I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Hotel on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,178 - 3,184 of 6,492 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

We know Gellert Hotel well from before. As always, we were greeted by friendly and competent staff. The room was nice, with a nice outlook over the danube, and with an AC-device to keep it cool. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rogert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Rogert D,

My sincerest thanks for your very short but kind review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in the.Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. It is always a pleasure for us to get kind feedbacks from return cutomers like this "we were greeted by friendly and competent staff...the room was nice...we were very pleased."

A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers and we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the Gellért soon.

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

To whow it may concern....

Otto von Habsberg was gentleman and supported the people.
I just stayed in his room and was treated like royalty.

Thank you all there..Peter, Robert, Paul, Gabo and Maria,
who has beautiful singing voice in the morning.

Regards from a cold, wet and green Eire.

TLC

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Thomas,

My sincerest thank for your review about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel Gellért. We are truly delighted to read that you had a great stay in the room of Otto von Habsburg. Yes, this is an excellent suite, the bedroom is overlooking the pool area and the saloon to the Gellért Hill side. We also thank you for your praise on the reception staff.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Gellért.
Sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing. We couldn't have dreamt for a better location on the Danube riverbank.
Everywhere was in walking distance and if you opt for the lazy option there is a tram stop at the front of the hotel.
The rooms were nice and spacious.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
For breakfast we were spoilt for choice.
The coffee shop was very cute and quaint. The man playing the piano was a beautiful touch.
I had a massage here at the day spa and it was great.
The baths, spas and pools and definitely something you have to do when staying here (the wave pool is good fun as well).
If you are staying in Budapest this is the hotel. They even have a souvenir shop and can convert foreign currency.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Temaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Temaui,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor about your vacation in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We are really pleased that you had spent a great time here.And this comment is really very kind of you "the hotel was amazing, we couldn't have dream for a better location... the rooms were nice and spacious.... hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.. .the man playing the piano (in the café) was a beautiful touch." And we were happy to read about your enthusiasm concernig the spa and the wavepool - many thanks.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the GELLÉRT.
Best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed as part of a tour for 2 nights. It really is a beautiful hotel in an absolutely beautiful location, overlooking the Danube River. The staff were very very friendly and allowed us to check in at 1030, which was unexpected. WiFi was good. And of course 1 free access to the famous Gellert baths. The breakfast was also very good.

Down side to the hotel. The rooms are very outdated, they just look old, there was a tear in the fabric of the head board over the bed. Also there was no air conditioning which really made it uncomfortable after exploring Budapest all day. We did have a pedestal fan, however no power points close enough to the bed to be able to use it.

Would stay here again, under the condition of having air conditioning or at least the ability to actual use the fan.

Room Tip: Try and get an air-conditioned room, and over-looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Paul N,

We sincerely thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent holiday in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT! Thank you for having decided for our property. Many thanks for your praise on our location, the attentiveness of our staff and the excellent breakfast. I am very sorry I did not have the pleasure meeting you personally because I would have definitely offered you other room options.We had an extremely hot July and as we have now over 80 rooms with a mobile A/C unit the receptionists may have assigned one for you. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the GELLÉRT,maybe in a cooler period.
Kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed there in July for only 2 nights. I also stayed there on many occasions in the early 90s... And frankly, they have not changed anything in the reception, and hardly modernised the rooms. My room was exactly how I remembered it... including the key..... The old fashion way.... Wifi and new TVs, with multiple channels (expected but not always the case in 4* and 5* hotels of a much higher category), large safe and a very complete minibar were the main changes in my spacious room. Everything looks a bit old but works to the perfection. And the price was really affordable. The breakfast is how you can expect it in a 4* hotel: perfect and huge, with may be a negative point on the coffee.... but this is unfortunately common.
The selling point of this hotel is the access to thermal pools and outside pool (in summer) : a beautiful place built in a charming old style with the hotel and magnificently preserved from exagerated modernisation. Congratulations.
Lat but not least : the staff is wonderful though very professional and perfectly trained: THIS is the real luxe, not the bling bling modern and expensive hotels you can find in just anywhere in the world. This hotel is classy. I loved it and I will always stay there when in Budapest again.

Room Tip: Don't expect to find a super modern room: just enjoy being in a hotel which had the privilege to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear msegard,

We would like to thank you for this very positive note about our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We do really appreciate your most kind comments: "I also stayed there on many occasions in the early 90s, ... and the price was really affordable.. the breakfast is how you can expect in a 4 star hotel :perfect and huge".And last but not least "the staff is wonderful though very professional and perfectly trained THIS is the real luxe!” - a big thank you for this feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Gellért Hotel and would like to assure you of our best personal attention.


Sincerely,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Gellert for three nights in the end of July. The service at the reception is excellent and the staff there is really helpful with booking restaurants, cabs etc. We stayed in a twin room (despite having told our travel agency we wanted a double room). on the 3rd floor with view over the bridge.

The room had seen better days, and in the bathroom there was paint falling off, the plumbing was working bad. We also had a problem with the shower head that wasn't working. After two calls to the reception however they did send someone up to change it. The room was missing A/C but we slept with the balcony door open. Despite some rain and storm there was almost no noise and made the room an okay sleeping place.

The breakfast was in my opinion not worthy of a four star hotel. The staff would, at best, offer you coffee after you finished breakfast and a lot of the guest just went to the staffs tables and served themselves instead. The breakfast has a good variety but is refilled uneven and often things were missing. When I asked for more dark bread the staff just shrugged their shoulders and in general it seemed understaffed at the breakfast.

The baths, who has another owner then the hotel, was great. But I still believe Gellert is living on it's old charm and on the fact that people believe the hotel and baths to be the same. It looked like some room were being renovated but there are still some rooms that don't seems to been touched in too long time. Next time I go to Budapest I'll choose to live somewhere who has a better total and that is closer to the center point, which now is about a 20 min walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elfmatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Elfmatilda,

We sincerely thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent holiday in our hotel. We thank you for your praise regarding the "excellent reception staff”.

The owners and the management have already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel, however at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place. We try to ensure the highest level of the breakfast, but it is a constant situation that all our dear guests would like to have breakfast between 9.20 and 10.00 and in this case the breakfast room may look full.

We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.

Yours faithfully,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,407 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,471 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#73 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $86 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing