We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #95 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Kandy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved the faded glamour of this Art Deco Hotel., its vaulted ceilings rising above in a cathedral like fashion were spectacular with rather over the top stained glass windows give an impression of what eastern cities were like in the past.(.circa 1930) The thermal spas and indoor swimming pool awe inspiring. Our room had a balcony, an adjoining room with table and chairs and a rather uninspiring bathroom with separate toilet. Breakfast was excellent, staff very helpful in every way. I had made a special request when booking and this had been already arranged at no extra cost. It needs a little TLC perhaps some new carpeting etc., but I would not hesitate to return if I have the opportunity. Its location is superb right at the Liberty Bridge which is lit at night and a great sight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Eithne E,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Danibius GELLÉRT hotel for your Budapest stay. We also thank you for your very kind and positive feedback on TripAdvisor website..I was delighted to read that you have had a great stay with us and were satisfied with the room,with the breakfast and with the staff.
We appreciate your kind feedback like "I would not hesitate to return if I have the opportunity ".Yes we do hope to welcoming you back in the Gellért soon.

Kindest regards

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    2,463
    1,113
    425
    216
See reviews for
892
2,010
847
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Gellert. Having read some reviews we were concerned that the hotel would be very run down. It was delightful with the most incredible views from our spacious balcony. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable with a spotless bathroom. The staff could not have been more helpful.Things got a bit hectic at breakfast but I expect this shows how popular the hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Aileen46,

Our sincerest thanks for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor website,about your stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We thank you for having chosen to stay in our hotel.. We do appreciate your feedback "the room was lovely clean and comfortable...with the most incredible view from our spacious balcony ...the staff could not have been more helpful " - thank you very much.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the GELLÉRT soon!

Kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The Gellert was a fantastic experience. We were travelling with our children aged 10 and 12 who loved the outdoor wave pool and we all loved the spa which was beautiful. We had a family room which was spacious and clean although bathroom was quite dated. We opted to have breakfast which I really recommend as it was great value and there was a huge choice. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel has an air of old fashioned elegance although a little faded around the edges. The only really negative aspect was the lack of modern air conditioning in our room which was unfortunate as there was a heat wave while we were there! Will definitely go again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear G R,

Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback on your recent stay in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.We were happy to read how much your children have enjoyed our outdoor wave pool we thank you for writing "we opted to have breakfast which I really recommend as it was great value and there was a huge choice ...the staff were friendly and helpful "

Thank you for your promise "will definitely go again " may we suggest to visit us during some other month-without a heatwave...

Best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful hotel, ideally located opposite the prettiest bridge, Liberty bridge, on Buda side of town, next to a tram stop with trams going along the river (19) or across to Pest ).
Our room was large and comfortable, with desk, armchair and table as well as TV , and toilet and separate bathroom (what a good idea). Magnificent, generous buffet breakfast with everything you could dream of - from tuna, salads,
salmon, to scrambled eggs, beans, bacon, to cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, pastries and cake.
My daughter who is size 8 but can eat a horse, was in 7th heaven and insisted on coming down at 7am and staying till 9.00 so she could try everything!!!

Welcoming helpful staff smartly dressed, proficient in many languages and eager to be of assistance. Great coffee room on ground floor with pianist 4-7 and excellent selection of salads and wonderful cakes and dessert.

Wonderful ornate 1920s spa which is a Palace to the pleasure of water (1st visit free to guests,
then half price).

Yes, decor needs doing - lobby is tired, with hideous Utility red sofas, and rooms have the ugliest double wood curtain rails and heavy velvet drapes - but you're not paying for teams of interior designers! and it all has a lovely feel - welcoming, enveloping, nourishing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riricroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Riricroc,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about the Danubius Hotel Gellért. We are happy that you enjoyed the best location in Budapest and the highly recommendation of our hotel. A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers!
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and show you our warmest hospitality again.

Kindest regards,
Mihály Vásony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. One of the Grand Dames of Eastern Europe. If you want to experience what pre 1930 eastern grandeur is this is the place to stay.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is superb.

Only downside is that the hotel, being so old is a bit unkept. Chandeliers are dirty etc etc but who cares if its mostly great?

Ask for a room overlooking the Danube.

Its location is not right in the centre of town but its close enough to walk most places. Budapest is a town for walking anyway.

Stayed with my two babies and my wife and were treated like royalty. Thank you!!.....oh and I forgot to mention its located on one of the best thermal spas in the city!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Adricons,

Thank you for taking your time to write about Danubius Hotel GeELLÉRT. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and kept good memories of your stay.
I am especially delighted that you were satisfied with the friendly and helpful staff and the superb food.
Your comments about the service are most encouraging and important for the whole staff. We use feedbacks like yours to motivate the team to perform friendly and quality service.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and show you our warmest hospitality again.

Kindest regards from the Grand Old Dame

Mihály Vásony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the building is gorgeous, the staff helpful, the location is lovely, but zero money has been put into this place in a million years and it is shabby. there are rips and holes in the rooms walls and upholstery. the cafe is lovely, great pastries. the thermal spa next door is one of the more popular in budapest. but the big boss has to dump some cash into this classic treasure and bring it back to its glorious past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear



Dear Sir,

We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius GELLÉRT hotel.We also would like to thank you for posting a short comment on your recent stay on EXPEDIA..

We do appreciate your kind comments like "the building is gorgeous, the staff helpful, the location is lovely" Yes, the buliding needs really old- hopefully a full reconstruction in the near future will solve this situation.

We do hope to welcoming you back in the GELLÉRT soon!

Best regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. A true historical place. The rooms are comfortable, with names on some that are of people in great reguards. The morning breakfast buffet, total over the top. Convient on the trolly lines to either side of the river. Great little resturants just around the cornors. The spa and hot tubs a real treat. Only comment is the room are of the 1970's decoration, so a hotel face lift or update in the rooms would be a plus. Leave the lobby as it is.

Room Tip: Booking on-ine is fine. Ask to see the room they select for you. If not pleased, ask for another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Michael L,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT for your Budapest stay,and for taking the time for a short but very positive review on TripAdvisor website.I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the building "a true historical place" with the rooms that are comfortable and with the morning breakfast buffet "total over the top". Your kind comments "will be a guideline to future guests.
I truly hope to be able to welcome you back in the GELLÉRT soon!

Kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,027 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing