We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel...but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #96 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel...but...”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a difficult hotel to review. I love the hotel itself, the architecture, the history, the lovely stained glass windows, the location overlooking the Danube...but it was a disappointment on many levels.

This hotel is in desperate need of a cash infusion. The carpets, walls, bathroom fixtures, windows all need replacing. We couldn't shower for over 48 hours. The first day the water was dirty...it was literally muddy coming out of the taps. The second day...it was a little dirty and cold. There was no apologies from hotel management which I expected upon check out...but no...no apologies.

The first night I was in the hotel there was a portable Air Conditioner but it was removed on the second day. I wasn't asked if I would like it to remain there...they simply removed it. I was using it as it was hot in the room and also for white noise. The sound from the street was extremely loud so if you're a light sleeper, like I am, forget about getting a good night sleep.

I was part of a conference. The conference room was in the front of the hotel and with all the tram noise and traffic...it was difficult to even hear our speakers at times.

As for the internet service...forget it. I had to do work and tried to connect to the supposedly high speed service in the rooms but to no avail. (It's not free, it will cost you). I called the front desk and was told to come to the lobby to access the slow but albeit free internet service. Since I was under the weather and had just gotten ready for bed...I wasn't about to do this.

The buffet breakfast was nice. Although the coffee was cold on occasion.

The 2 stars are for the history of the hotel. A nice hotel to check out...but stay somewhere else for the night.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here ask for the Andrew Llloyd Webber room or the Richard Nixon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexie2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Lexie2028,

We would like to thank you for your kind and detailed feedback on TripAdvisor and we would also thank you for having chosen our Danubius GELLÉRT hotel for your stay in Budapest. Your feedback would help us to improve our services and adapt them according to your wishes We appreciate that you loved the hotel itself, the architecture, the history andm the location. During your stay we have had a lot of "badlucks" like a very old waterpipe broke just outside the hotel. After having it repaired brown water arrives for a while extremely hot weather.
We would like to hope that the next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us to show you the effort to put into making you feel more comfortable and mostly welcomed.
In case of a visit in the future to be able to offer you a free upgrade to a very quiet suite far away from the front - the suite was always used by our repeat customer,Otto von HABSBURG!

Very best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    2,459
    1,113
    424
    216
See reviews for
891
2,006
846
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Like travelling back in time, but in a grand style. Helpful and friendly staff, grand surroundings from a time long past. A bit worn down, but mostly clean ( apart from at gathering of dead flies nestling in the folds of the massive curtains in the breakfast room...).High ceilings, wide corridors, lovely old furniture, great lead windows. Lovely baths, but a maze of narrow corridors getting there from the hotel. We had a fantastic facial done in the spa end of the hotel.

Room Tip: Having seen on tripadvisor that people were not always happy with the rooms, we upgraded to superiou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Siv A,

We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT. Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor website. We were happy to read that you were satisfied with the staff and the "grand sorroundings". We appreciate your following comments : "high ceilings,wide corridors, lovely old furniture, great lead windows
.Yes ,your tip to book an upgraded,refurbished doubleroom will definitely be a useful advise for future guests in the Gellért..

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the GELLÉRT soon!

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is great. The exterior is beautiful. The rooms? Terrible. Yes, I understand the building is nearly 100 years old, but it hasn't been updated in a very long time. Wifi is only available in the lobby - if you want wifi in your room, you have to pay for it. The location makes up for some of the drawbacks, but I would suggest looking elsewhere - maybe something on the Pest side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landshark_dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Landshark_dg,

Thank you for sharing your short comments on your recent stay in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website..
I am happy to read that you were satisfied with the location and with the exterior of the hotel. Yes we must agree with your review :the building is nearly one hundred years old,and hasn't been updated for a very long time. The management and the owners have already prepared the plans for the entire refurbishment of the Gellért,however due to the recession at present we do not have the information when this renovation long overdue will take place. I am sorry I did not have the pleasure meeting you personally,I would have definitely offered you other choices/options-maybe even a free upgrade!

Sincerely,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
527 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location counts as number One. You walk across the bridge above Danube River and you are in the booming center of Budapest. On the right side is the huge supermarket/department store, absolutely amazing with all the Hungarian delicacies, vegetables and souvenirs. The hotel is nice if you like the traditional, before the World War I (!) environment. Most impressive for me was a great swimming pool in the subterrain to which have the hotel a direct access via a private elevator. Nice experience for lovers of old times.

Room Tip: With a view over Danube River, in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ota_13,

We are pleased that you have selected our Danubius hotel GELLÉRT for your recent stay in Budapest,and we thank you for posting a short feedback on Tripadvisor. Yes we do agree with your kind comments like "the location counts as number One...nice experience for lovers of old times " Your feedback on the sites to the hotel will be important information for future travellers..
We woul be glad to welcome you again in the GELLÉRT during your next visit,and many thanks for the review!

Sincerely
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
348 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed four nights on a trip with my job and I am really happy I did. The place is full of historical atmosphere, location is brilliant and the baths are an attraction to be visited in their own right. Somehow you will never get the same feeling in a small tourist hotel somewhere in town. The room I slept in to the back was fine, but like the hotel itself a bit worn down and in need of redecoration. Breakfast was plentiful but average. We dined twice at the hotel and the food was nothing special, if ok. I agree completely with someone else here on Tripadvisor that staying here is like visiting an old lady :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordboen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear LPVH,

Thank you for sharing your experiences shortly on TripAdvisor website on your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. We are most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us..
Yes, you are right "visiting an old lady" is the correct definition of our historical hotel.
We do look forward to host you again in our Gellért hotel.
Sincerely,

Mihály Vásony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Gellert Hotel has several pros and only a few cons:
Pros:
Friendly, efficient, and enough staff that I felt well taken care of
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This is the best located hotel that I saw in Budapest. You are near everything and the tram is really easy to use if you want to go downtown. Although it's an easy walk too.
Free breakfast buffet was excellent

Cons:
No gym
Spa was hard to maneuver. I don't speak Hungarian and was traveling alone. The spa help doesn't speak English, so I couldn't ever find the outdoor pools!
Wi-Fi only in the lobby...This actually turned out to be fun because I was able to mingle with other travelers while in the lobby, but it's inconvenient at night and mornings. You can get Wi-Fi in your room for a fee, which I opted not to do.

I didn't utilize the restaurants, so can't comment on the food, prices or service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear CoreleeMT,


Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor website on your recent stay in our .Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT .We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in the Gellért. May we thank you for your very positive opinion "friendly efficient and enough staff" -,LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION by Mr. Hilton,yes we agree,.
We do appreciate your praising the quality of the breakfastbuffet..
We are sorry for the Wifi. Free WIFI is available in the common areas .
Anyway we do hope we will be able to welcome you again in our Gellért hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having seen the mixed reviews I was pleasantly surprised. Grand hotel but in need of refurbishment. Rooms were comfortable, spectacular views across the river, a little road noise in the morning, good quality food at reasonable prices and the mini bar well stocked at acceptable non rip off pricing. The service was good and the breakfast spread vast, varied and delicious. The direct link (1st floor) into the Gellert Baths was an interesting experience and one not to be missed. No gym, free wifi in public areas. Close enough to walk into the main city centre, or take a tram. Taxis were cheap/ reasonable and freely available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear SMSarin,


May we thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback on TripAdvisor website,on your recent stay in our Danubius GELLÉRT hotel.We are pleased that despite "having seen mixed reviews "you have chosen to stay in our hotel.
We appreciaate your very correct evaluation " grand hotel but in need of refurbishment...rooms very comfortable good quality food at reasonable prices etc. "


Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon in Budapest and in in the Gellért!

Sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,231 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
7,020 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing