We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #95 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“do not stay here!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and has a wonderful outer beauty, however it is beyond horrible within the room.
The beds were old and worn, the chairs were neat 1920's vintage but oil stained from years of use. The tv was old square style that sat behind a pillar for a blocked view. The finish on the porcelin tub was completely gone and the toilet has been leaking so long the floor had rotted away.
The lobby and stair cases are grand and are well kept. Don't be fooled by the replies by the hotel, they have not renovated the rooms, only your first impressions.

Helpful?
3 Thank pennycar1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Pennycar1,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor website, regarding your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT .It was not pleasant for us to read your very negative comments regarding your hotelroom. I am sorry that we did not meet during your stay I would definitely have offered You some other rooms in a better shape.In the year of 2000 some 38 rooms have been totally refurbished and in case of vacancy we do offer a free upgrade to those rooms.
We do have plans ready for a full reconstruction of the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when this will start.

Sincerely

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

5,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    2,463
    1,113
    425
    216
See reviews for
892
2,010
847
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The baths are still nice, though poorly run, but the hotel is grubby and the staff are nasty. It's a great location and historic presence, but the facilities are sub-standard. And they don't coordinate between the spa and hotel, so you end up scrounging for cash in your swimsuit. It's a shame--a good cleaning and an attitude adjustment would go a long way...also they don't enforce the non-smoking policy, which makes parts of the spa disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Alison B,

Thank you for your comments on your last stay. It is always useful for us to get information and reaction on any of the changes that we implement or rather we have to implement.
This is the case regarding the Bath as well. Just to give you the background to these changes.
The Gellert Baths are under the management of a separate company. The Gellert Hotel always paid an annual fee to the Spa that allowed the hotel guests to enter the Spa premises without any limitations. Since the “Spa company” has raised its annual asking price substantially the hotel was no longer in the position to pay the same way to the Spa. Thus this arrangement came about, giving guests still the possibility of one free entry to the Spa.
We are constantly gathering and analyzing all the information that is connected to the Spa. Thank you very much again for your views.

I am afraid I have to agree with you on the air-conditioning situation. We have had an extremely warm summer in 2013. This does not occur every year, although it doesn’t make the problem go away. It needs to be addressed. We are working very hard to solve this problem for good. So hopefully the next time we can welcome you here in the summertime we shall not have these inconveniencies.We have the plans already to refurbish the whole property. It will be a major step in the right direction
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the “new” Gellert, and thank you once again for your comments.

Lajos Imre
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scharbeutz, Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The "Gellert " is almost 100 years old and its hotel rooms definitely need complete renovation. Although it is still one of the most well known centrally located hotels in Budapest right across from the Szabadszag bridge it now appears that most people would associate the "Gellert" with the separate Spa and its thermal indoor and outdoor pools rather than the hotel. As one of Budapest`s prime attractions the various pools and the vast "Jugendstil" Spa area with beautiful colored tiles and ornaments in the pools and all over the walls are very much worth a visit to hotel and non hotel guests. Please note that hotel guests have direct access to the Gellert Spa and are offered one free visit to the Spa and thermal pool area per stay plus 50 % off the regular spa entrance fee on future visits.

While a visit to the public Gellert thermal pools area is highly recommended the hotel itself cannot compete with the spa complex and does not deserve a four star rating. Compared to earlier stays at the Gellert hotel it appears that nothing much seems to have chganged over the past 20 years. The breakfats buffet is still good and so are the delicious meals and afternoon pastries at the various restaurants and cafes.

For those who are used to comfortable hotel and bathrooms the Gellert hotel will likely be disappointing. On the other hand if one does not mind old fashioned and often mediocre rooms and instead prefers a good location, healthy breakfast and direct access to the Gellert spa, a stay at the Gellert may constitue a challenge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Stoertebecker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT for your Budapest stay.
It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that alltogether you had an overall positive impression of the hotel, and an excellent impression of the spa facilities,
We appreciate your remarks like " the breakfast buffet is still good and so are the delicous meals and afternoon pastries at the various restaurants and cafes ".
Yes sorry to say we must agree with you "faded glory -it appears that nothing much seems to have changed over the past twenty years ".
But we also read with pleasure the following " if one does not mind old fashioned and often mediocre rooms and instead prefers a good location,healthy breakfast and direct access to the Gellért spa a stay at the Gellért may constitute a challenge "-thank you !
We hope the Gellért will be refurbished as soon as possible and we will be able to welcome you back..

Yours truly,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Although the interior is slightly dated, that is part of the hotel's charm, and we really enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the staff were extremely helpful. One thing that we didn't like was the way the staff would come and check if there was anything missing from the minibar as soon as we had eaten our breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HadjGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear HadjGray,


Hereby we would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We would also like to catch the opportunity to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your Budapest stay.

We find your feedback very positive, that "interior slightly dated, that is a part of the hotel's charm". We do appreciate your opinion about the plentiful and delicious breakfast and the staff always do everything for the comfort of our guests

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT!

Sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Gellert previously, and booked for a second stay for reasons of proximity to my meeting (at the University nearby), availability of a decent rate, and no time to look for alternatives. The Gellert looks magnificent but is tired. The lobby and common areas are in generally better shape than the rooms themselves, which are in need of renovation. Everything worked, but it hasn't been updated for years. I had a room on the fourth floor looking out over the Danube - which was glorious. Somehow I'd arranged a "Superior" room which had a portable air conditioning unit, without which the temperature would be unbearable: it was +38C while I was there. Many rooms at the Gellert are without air conditioning, and in the summer heat you'll really struggle.

What you do get at the Gellert is very attentive service (the staff are good), a good breakfast buffet, a great spa and a beautiful old building. What would be nice to have is air conditioning and rooms that don't quite look like the 1970s, but presumably this will come. I'd not stay at the Gellert again in the summer; in the height of winter I'd consider it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. In the summer, try to book a superior room with air conditioning o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandoras_chocolates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Pandoras_chocolates,

We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel a second time too.We thank you for your time and review on TripAdvisor.We appreciate your kind remarks about our "attentive staff ,a good breakfast buffet,a great spa and a beautiful building "

Yes we all know that we are in need of a renovation and the temperature is sometimes unbearable,the portable air conditioning unit is not effective in the large rooms.

The owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the GELLÉRT, however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation will start.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a cooler period by the end of September the weather is more agreable.
Sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is unique. Really, it is quite sexy to be in a place where the clock stopped. Unfortunately, the clock in the Gellert hotel stopped in the mid-1980s, at the peak of the Soviet area. So it seems, at least.

No, Budapest is not Russia. Quite, quite different from the Russian cities I have seen---not many, mind you. My hotel room---I insisted on a (paid) upgrade, as the outside temperatures did not warrant an AC-free room with the sun shining in all day---is large. And quiet, when the balcony doors are shut and the AC is off.

There you go: the AC is a large stand-alone machine, blowing cold air in the room with a noise that is worse than the heat; better sleep on a truck. The balcony might fall off any minute. The carpet, also original 1980s, so it seems. As are the curtains, the furniture, and anything else in the room. Probably the AC, too!

The hotel room allows for one free trip in the spa. The spa is not very large, is in the same state of disrepair as the hotel (that's a bit unfair, it is in fact better). As I do not like spas, I'd better not comment much more on this issue, though.

The price category of the hotel, between 50 and 100 a night, attracts many tourists, and the breakfast room is very crowded. But it's ok. The quality of the food matches the rest of the hotel, but service is lovely. This also holds for the reception: service is slow---hindered by rules and regulations---but people try to help, and can.

So, summing up: cool. Freaky. Terrible. Poor. Interesting. Go there. Stay away. Oh... I hear there is a renovated wing, too. Might be interesting to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Padgoute,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.We were sorry to read your rather negative comments on the state of your room.

We appreciate your positive comments "breakfast room is OK...the service is lovely,..this also holds for the reception " I personally have enjoyed your first sentences :"the place is unique,..really it is quite sexy to be in a place where the clock stopped " -thank you!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the renovated wing,yes as you put it "might be interesting to see"

Sincerely

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have just arrived and checked in to a Double Room. If I had not pre paid I would check out immediately. The price that you pay is unacceptable for the condition of the hotel and the rooms. I saw a better room for Euros 15 per night more but out of principle for what I have already paid I could not justify giving more money to somewhere I was already being ripped off.

The hotel is in a great location but Other hotels are just as accessible for similar prices and in far far better condition. Don't be disappointed on your vacation. Dominic Carr

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr Carr,

I have just read your comments. It important for us the gather information from our guests even the negative ones. Thus we will be able to improve our services in the future.
As I have said before there is no denying our property needs refurbishment. The plans are already in place, so this will be done in the not to distant future.
I am sorry we did not meet during your stay so I could have offered you some amenities to make your stay more pleasant.
May I ask you to write to me before your next visit to Budapest and I will offer you an upgraded room availability permitting.

Kind regards,

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager
lajos.imre@danubiushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,027 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing