We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #100 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and was rather disappointed. And I am not one to expect high standards, but the hotel promotes itself as though it is a great hotel, and truly it is not. The area is lovely, and it really looks great on the outside, however the rooms are shabby and old. The bathroom can not possibly have been refurbished since the seventies. The breakfast was nice, and the spa is large and nice, but the staff were very serious and not very helpful at all. I will not stay here again, because I know I can stay in another hotel for much less money, and not expect it to be great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScratchMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and thank you for your time and review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your remarks like "the area is lovely and it really lookes great on the outside " ,the breakfast was nice and the spa is large and nice "
We are sorry to understand that " the staff in the bath was not very helpful at all "
For your kind information since 1948 the Gellért bath is a different company,under different management...sorry for the staff...
"rooms shabby and old " yes, ,the owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the necessary renovation will start.
We do hope that after this renovation we will be able to welcome you again with a brand new room in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT!

best regards
Mihály Vásony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,355 - 3,361 of 6,509 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as I was attending a conference at Corvinus Uni just across the bridge. The hotel rooms are old & faded & if you want fancy toiletries this is not the place for you. Breakfast was OK but not great. But the view from the breakfast room is wonderful. The staff are helpful & courteous & the place is very solidly built. That means you don't get street noise or conversations from your neighbors through the walls. My room had a huge balcony just perfect for the sunny weather. A stay also includes 1 free entrance to the Gellert baths. When I visited the large outdoor pool was closed but the baths are well worth a visit anyway. Wifi is expensive but despite that I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear valued Guest,
Many thanks for your positive words on our hotel,and for your short comments on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius GELLÉRT hotel.Also many thanks for your praise on our location,staff attentiveness "the staff are helpful and courteous "...the view from the breakfastroom is wonderful "
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the GELLÉRT,and would like to assure you of our best personal attention.

best regards
Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Shabby room, rather overpriced, certainly not 4 stars. But the worst was a weekend convention with all public spaces full of drinking and partying locals. The lobby turned into a vulgar and extremely noisy discotheque, the first floor into a village fare. Complete disrespect to paying hotel guests.
Adjacent baths spectacular!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etipeleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We were not at all happy to read your following comments " Shabby room,rather overpriced,certaily not 4 stars." For your kind information : the owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place.
We have regretly noticed the inconveniences caused " by a weekend convention -actually a winefestival- and a village fare -the Gellért management will reconsider if anything like that should be organized in the Gellért.We truly apologize for this unpleasant experience.

Best regards,
Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As me & my wife have travelled to Budapest we decided to stay at Gellert Hotel becouse of it's well known reputation as a unique thermal spa and lot of history
We found out a real historical place which survived the WWII, the soviet style comunism era but got loked in eighties
If you want to have a vintage exerience and taste how is run a magnificent property get a room and have a citybreak at this hotel. There is a gem of vintage !
The room we have had was huge in dimmensions but very bad in sound proof even that we where located on the third floor. The design is very much '80's and outdated but as my wife put it " with a certain flavor and chich as is so outdated" end of qut.
The moment you enter the building you have the austro-hungarian design and atmosphere in the loby and in the first flor breakfast restaurant. The furniture the huge winows and high celling!
But when you live that and get to the room, you get outdated and quite poor facilityes you have paid, and not cheap! Tiny TV, no cafee/ tea cattell, not normal toilet paper, but something from comunist era, no in room safebox, no variety on tv channells, no free wii-fi and no sound proof
And we did not want to pay for wiew side room as we where aware about the harsh soundproof as the trafic runs out side on the streets
But on the inside part of the hotel it is busty if ther is a reunion or whatsoever in one of the hotel restaurant. And we have had such event during our sty and have music dj up to 3 o'clock in the morning!
The breakfast was good and the staff try to help but the cafee was so tasteless....
The concierge was very profesional and helpfull as we wanted to go to see "Tosca"at the Opera Hose and he got us tikets. And that made us the week end
Bottom line :
a gem but with such a high level of rust on it, that make someone to ask how come this is not a maistake?
I think that the answer must be looking at the maginficent Magnolya tree in front of the hotel
But this must be in spring onlly

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cargol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. Thank you for your time and review on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased to learn you wer impressed with our location,with the "vintage-wine tastig party with DJ." And we also regretly notice the inconvenience caused by the traffic and the lack of soundproof windows.
We do appreciate your kind feedback like "the breakfast was good and the staff tried to help...the concierge was very professional and helpful " - thank you!
We have red with soorrow your remarks concerning the present state of the room,we do have some renovated rooms /renovated in 2000 /and we would be delihted to assign one of those upon your next visit ,should you be willing to give us a second chance.

Sincerely yours
Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an old and fahsionable hotel in the heart of Budapest. Rooms are old fashioned, an of less standard than modern hotels, still the hotel is worth a visit unless you are mostly interested in TV channels and minibars. And it is connected to the nicest of old Spas that you could possibly ever imagine, with several pools (indoors and outdoors), saunas, hot vaths, etc - absolutely excellent and worth a visit in their own right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT, and for taking the time to share your comments about it on TripAdvisor.Your opinion on our hotel and on our services is of utmost importance.It was a pleasure to leatn from your comments that you had an overall positive impression of our "old fashioned" hotel, and we appreciate your feedback like " it is connected to the nicest of old Spas that you could possibly ever imagine...with several pools /indoors and outdoors/ "...etc
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel GELLÉRT in the near future.
best regards,


Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked to stay here on package deal through Expedia for business after having previously visited for Sunday Brunch (which was very good) and to visit as possible event venue.

Having been in negotiations regarding an event, I emailed before hand advising of mine a 2 colleagues stay. When we were shown to our rooms all I can say is that they didn't even rate 1 star. They were very tired, out dated, and felt grubby. The door to my room had obviously been broken into and some point and had been "carefully" repaired with wood filler.

We asked for our rooms to be changed to be told what did we expect for booking such a cheap deal and there was no possibility of changing rooms. Luckily we were able to source rooms at another venue (who in turn did end up the booking for our event). When we checked out 4 days earlier than booked the hotel staff didn' t blink and eye or make any comment apart from making sure we knew we would be charged for 2 night minimum - can only presume its something they're used too.

Its such a shame that this hotel hasn't been given the attention to detail it deserves and needs. It is in an amazing location with stunning views but as the saying goes it's all mouth and no trousers

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrs_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT,on TripAdvisor website.Yes -it is true, as you put it "that some of our rooms are very tired...and outdated "
As an "oldtimer" in the Gellért I am personally very sorry for the unprofessional behaviour of our receptionist-there is always a way to offer another room. It is a pity we did not meet, I know a lot about the faults of our rooms, and so far I have always managed to find a proper one... For your kind information: the owners and the management have long ago prepared the plans for refurbishing the Gellért,however due to the global crisies at present we do not have the proper information when the renovation necessary will start.
We do sincerely hope to welcome you again on a future occasion, with a very nice room in the newly rebuilt GELLÉRT hotel very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Elegant historical building, well-located in the bank of the Danube at a walking distance from city major attractions. Personnel is very attentive, and the breakfast well assorted.
First visit to Gellert baths (a must for every Budapest visitor!) is free, and the following ones with an appreciable discount.
Certainly, furniture and equipments are old and outdated; but clean and comfortable.
Perhaps, the overall quality does not correspond to a four-star category hotel, but the price is adjusted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartleby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your short comments on TripAdvisor website on your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel,and your feedback will help us to improve our services. We do appreciate your comments "economic option to stay in Budapest...elegant historical building...,personnel is very attentive and the breakfast well assorted..."-thank you!
And we were glad to read your feedback "first visit to the Gellért bath is free,and the following ones with an APPRECIABLE discount "
We do hope that we can welcome you back as our guest in the GELLÉRT hotel!

Best regards

Mihaly Vasony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,410 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,473 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#73 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $86 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing