We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere at Gellért”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #96 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Skælskør, Danmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere at Gellért”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed twice at Hotel Gellért in Budapest, and the reason why we chose it again is, that it is connected to the beautiful Gellerth Thermal Bath, which means, that you can change clothes in your hotelroom, and go direktly to the bath. Very conviniant. Furthermore the hotel has a certain old atmosphere, calm and quiet, and a nice restaurant "Brasserie" at the first floor.
Some rooms needs restauration, but it is ongoing. Anyway everything is ok.
Be sure to rent a room with af view across Donau (Danubius). Its magnificent to get up in the morning, at look a the river and the city.

Room Tip: Highest floor facing the river - a bit noice from the street, but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kragesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
May we thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. .
We appreciate your feedback about the Gellért bath : "very convinient: you can change clothes in your hotelroom,and go directly to the bath "and we also agree with your remarks:"the hotel has a certain old atmosphere,calm and quiet "-thank you.
Thank you again for your short comments,and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the Gellért again.
Kind regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    2,369
    1,059
    412
    208
See reviews for
858
1,938
814
768
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Early in the year we often escape the cold of a British winter by going not to Florida or the Caribbean but to somewhere equally cold: Budapest, . Sounds weird, but we do so because the Hungarian capital is a city placed atop a network of aquifers pumping out hot water rich in minerals to dozens of spas both sides of the Danube and that includes the beautiful art nouveau gem down in the bowels of the Gellert hotel.

As a guest you can put on your towelling robe and head along the first floor corridor to the spa reception where a nice young woman, speaking impeccable English, will help you on your way, including the booking of any massage or extra treatment you might want. But even without any extras you have a treat in store for you. In the centre there is a beautiful pool for those who want to get some proper swimming in, with - beyond it - a semi circular pool kept at 36 degrees (Celsius, of course) where the water spurts from the heads of mythical creatures and you start getting the chill our of your bones.

From this point I used to have to take leave of my wife, as she headed to the women's area and I to the men's. But as from the end of January this year there is no such segregation. OK, the old Hungarian guys still tend to congregate in what was their domain (and I can't blame them: the art nouveau tiling is more beautiful there, and the water in the warmest pools - 36 and 40 degrees - comes out of from the mouths of weird creatures surmounted on one side by a pair of putti riding a turtle and , on the other, by a single one holding up a pair of turtles. The equivalents on the women's side are much more mundane). And as well as lolling about in water of various degrees of heat you have steam rooms (viciously hot in the men's side) as well as dry heated rooms of different temperatures.

Sadly, since we came here last, two years ago, access to the baths is no longer absolutely free for guests of the Gellert, and we miss being able to soak ourselves and swim for an hour from 6 to 7 every morning, then head to the the restaurant for a well-deserved and absolutely delicious buffet breakfast. (Here's a tip: they'll do you a fresh omelette for free, whereas the eggs, bacon and so on hang around getting a bit on the cold side).

The system now is that your first visit to the Gellert spa is free, and you are given a voucher which allows you further free access to any of four specified spas in the city, including the Gellert. Beyond that hotel guests get a 50% discount for any subsequent visits to the spa.

But it's not just the spa which lures us back to the Gellert. At a time when so many hotels, however comfortable, can seem pretty bland and undistinguished, there is much about the Gellert which evokes the great days of the Austro-Hungarian empire. Sadly, the 19th century paintings which used to greet you at the top of each set of stairs have been replaced by more modern works. But you can still see the magnificent stained glass if you turn left and keep going right round to where you used to take the lift down to the spa. (See the photos I took of them).

You feel special when you are staying there at the Gellert, and we will be back. (Hoping that they will have had the sense to do something about the more than usually bland muzak which infests the public areas.The Emperor Franz Josef wouldn't have stood for it!).

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room overlooking the river, and as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eddiebrylcreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for your time and your very long detailed review on TripAdvisor ,and we do appreciate, that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT, during your Budapest visit.Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance and will hep us to improve it. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you had an overall positive impression of our hotel its location and the friendliness provided by our staff. Your very detailed information ,on how to get to the spa - "head along the first floor corridor to the spa reception where a nice woman speaking impeccable English will help you on your way..." ..and -beyond that hotel guests get a 50 % discount for any subsequent visits to the spa - will be agreat help for our future visitors-thank you!
We do appreciate your comments " You feel special when you are staying there at the GELLÉRT and we will be back "yes once again many thanks for your very kind,friendly and detailed feedback,ond we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. I do apologize to my beiing that late with my reflection to your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A charming hotel with a real sense of past granduer and history. Friendly staff and lovely spacious rooms. We had a stunning view from our balcony overlooking the Danube and the rock church, which was beautiful. Breakfast was vast and full of choice. The spa is glorious and the first trip is free for guests of the hotel. It's expensive for Budapest, but that should be expected for one of the city's most famous hotels. The interior of the hotel has seen better days but you can't help but feel a sense of luxury when you're there. Don't go expecting 5 Star luxury, but it's faded opulence is charming and the hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyday17Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT,and that you were impressed with our location,with the "friendly staff and lovely spacious rooms". Your opinion on our hotel is of utmost importance and we do appreciate your feedback "Breakfast was vast and full of choice...the spa is glorious and the first trip is free for guests of the hotel "
This we think is a very kind information for our guests in the future. Let me reflect for your following comments too "the interior of the hotel has seen better days " - yes the owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans for the hotel,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovations necessary will take place.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel GELLÉRT and would like to assure you of our best personal attention to your future stays .

Mihály Vásony
Duty Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Dear Hotell Gellert,
we used to love you.

But this time the attitude was to much back to Russian times. Dirty, filthy rooms, smokers, fat, avarege food, pathetic Christmas Tree, closed bar, lousy breakfast AND only one lousy free entrence to the Gellert bath.

We'll not spend our 8:th time in Budapest at The Gellert, bt we'll miss whar you used to be.

Bye, bye!

Room Tip: The De-luxe-rooms are not worth the price. And do remember that ypu want a non-smoking room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SirMilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT - on TripAdvisor website.We are more than pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel seven times.We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every departement and every service were up to your expectations.There is a continous effort on our side to improve our services,and we are grateful if you share with us your unfortunate experiences in details. To understand the present situation in the Gellért there is a feedback from one of our guests on Tripadvisor from 28 November "Don't knock it" this will explain a lot of things,-I am afraid we on the hotel side are not allowed to quote it.The so called "de luxe " rooms had been refurbished in 1999... The owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis, at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place.
We do very much hope you will find the time and opportunity to return to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence. If you contact me I will definitely assign the best room available for you!

Sincerely Yours

Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Gellert is wonderfully placed to visit Budapest.
The hotel has smaller rooms than some of the big new places but with its crisp white linens and historicl feel you get to see what the Budapest Danube is all about.
The views from some rooms are stunning, but even in a back single room I was very comfortable
and the breakfasts are superb.
Nearby are several quirky local eateries with some entertainment in the evenings and the food is superb. Try the local dishes rather than trying to find the sort of thing you would get at home. They do remarkable soups and goulash type dishes with beautiful fresh bread.

I have seen people talking about prostitutes openly working the hotel lobbies. Having stayed at Gellert several times I must say that is not the case. What there is is a safe environement where local women come in the evenings for a drink and to socialise. Many of the European business women stay there when in town because it is a good place for transport to the Showgrounds when there are conventions. Its true a lot of the Italian and Eastern European women dress more flashy than many of the western women like to see but they are often very attractive looking and show off their assetts whenever possible. Certainly the younger business women in many of the newly freed former Russian empire use their charms and physical looks to maximum effect, but thats just how they are.

Gellert is well worth a stay and the old baths and spa are amazing and a "must do" at least once although I chickened out at being manhandled in massage by a brutal looking hairy gorilla when the big metal door opened and he shouted "next".
As the canadian guy and myself legged it down the corridor dressed in only a towel each, back to the safety of our rooms, the little shivering Japanese guy who had taken off his glasses was less fortunate and was pulled inside by his arm for who knows what "treatment"
As the door clanged shut I threw my free session ticket into the bin at the other end of the corridor...!

The fishermans fortress is a must see and the cruise on the river at dusk.

Watch yourself on the tram system make sure you have a valid ticket.
We got on the trm at the door of the hotel and with us were two scruffy looking guys with duffel bags who were keen to stay near us as we spoke english. As soon as the tram set off they opened their bags put on caps and armbands and became Tram Ticket Inspectors.
As we had bought the tickets in the hotel nt at the machine they thought we had none, so pounced on us straight away. Their disappointment was obvious as they took them off us.

Room Tip: ASk for the view of the river it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiseoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Danubius hotel GELLÉRT for your Budapest stay,and for taking the time for a short feedback on TripAdvisor webpage.Your opinion on our services is of utmost importance,and will help us to imrove it. We are pleased to learn you were impressed with the location of the GELLÉRT, and thank you for your writing "the wiew from some rooms are stunning,but even in a back single room I was very comfortable "We do hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back soon in the GELLÉRT and last but not least we do appreciate your comments like "Gellért is well worth a srayand the old baths and spa are amazing and a "must do" "

kind regards

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful view and great location. But spa was not that good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawaineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The good- the baths, the bar, the resteraunt the breakfast, the character, the staff, the location the view and the price.

The bad- the hotel in and out is tired, dusty, slightly stinky, we had a broken shower,

Its so quintacentially hingarian, the saddest thing it could be so so so much more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaBoylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time for a short feedback on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.
We were happy to read that you liked "the bath,the bar,the restaurant the breakfast,the caracter,the staff,the location,the view,and the price"
As for your negative comments "the hotel in and out tired..."etc:the management and the owners have already prepared plans for the refurbishment,however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovations necessary will take place.
We do hope you will find the time and opportunity to return to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence.

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing