We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging beauty has seen better times” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Aging beauty has seen better times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I really was underwhelmed by this hotel. The carpets were soooo dirty, the bed was for a tiny person, and everything looked on the shabby side. But the money they didn't spend fixing up the place must be going to the food, because we had an amazing breakfast buffet, excellent pastry in the coffee shop, and an excellent dinner with gypsy music. The lunch place was so-so, however. If it weren't for the breakfast and dinner, I would have given this place a 2. It is very expensive for the experience that you get. The view was nice, out the front, with the Danube and the bridge.

Room Tip: If you are taller than 5'3" make sure to ask about the bed size, or your feet will hang off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryQU88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your recent stay in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.I am pleased that generally you had a good experience and a pleasant sty with us. We do appreciate your remarks like "we had an amazing breakfast buffet,excellent pastry in th cofee shop,and an excellent dinner with gipsy music...the view was nice,out the front,with the Danube and the bridge " I was sorry to read your comments on the room. Yes we are an old hotel with old rooms, opened in 1918 and rebuilt in 1960. The owners and the management has already prepared the refurbishment plans of the hotel,however due to the global crisis on the Real Estate market at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...Despite of this we do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our GELLÉRT hotel,in a refurbished room-we do have some...

Sincerely yours,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    2,212
    996
    397
    205
See reviews for
800
1,831
770
719
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked the hotel for a weekend after reading the reviews in tripadvisor. It is a spectacular old building comprising not only the hotel but also the bathing house. The rooms and furnture are far from brand new, and the hotell is somewhat worn down, as stated in many of the reviews. We did however enjoy our stay thanks to the bath, the breakfast buffet and helpful staff. All in all, the hotel lived up to our expectations, and i can see us returning for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Danubius GELLÉRT hotel on TRipAdvisor web page. We are pleased,that you have chosen our property.We are glad to learn from your review, that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your following comments "We did however enjoy our stay,thanks to the bath,the breakfast and the helpful staff " You are absolutely right,when you mention in you feedback "the rooms and furniture are far from brand new "yes the hotel is getting older and older since it's reopening in 1960. BUT: the owners and the management has already prepared plans for the refurbishment of the hotel, - however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...
We do appreciate your last sentence "All in all,the hotel lived up to our expectations,and I can see us returning for another visit " yes you will be more than welcome at the GELLÉRT

Sincerely Yours

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I will not disagree with some of the other reviews that this hotel is from a by-gone era. The good news is that according to many in Budapest, the renovations will be happening in 2013 to refresh the splendor of this magnificent place.
In saying that, the old fashion style of the hotel (build over 100 years ago) in its current state has also some charm and the facilities in themselves are truly amazing and a wonderful example of a the 19th century craftmanship.
We stayed on the top floor in one of the main suite (named after a famous actor) which was simply enormous and offered magnificient views over the Danube and Budapest in general. It would be unfair to attempt to describe the Spa and Pools attached to the building so much the details and uniqueness of this place is like no other things that can be encountered in modern facilities.
The breakfast was truly amazing if not the best I have ever seen in my travels as it caters for tastes and customs of visitors from around the World.
Trams are passing just at the bottom of the building and will take you everywhere, quickly in Budapest.
The Gellert is one of those places you have to stay at some stage in your life just be able to say it; but more than that to treat yourself and enjoy an unique experience and true indulgence.

Room Tip: Danube view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well, I stayed there mostly because of free entrance to spa in same building. Spa itself was best of it. Breakfast (included in price) was ok, but nothing impressive - just like in other hotels. I booked single room with shower but got with bath (kinda upgrade), but for me it wasn't renovated for about 15-20 years; Looked like in 90s. NO AIR-CON!. Inside there were TV, mini-bar (paid), safe an something to press trousers. Bed was very soft - to soft for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and review on Tripadvisor.We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen to stay in the Danubius Hotel Gellért.Your opinion on our hotel is of utmost importance.
We were happy to read ,that you have booked "mostly because of free entrance to spa " and-"Spa itself was good "
We thank you for your remark "breakfast was OK" and that you have appreciated the "kind upgrade" - to a single room with bath. May we reflect to your remarks about the room: the owners and the management has already prepared the plans for the refurbishment of the Gellért, however due to the global crisis at present we do not have the information when the renovation necessary will take place...

yours truly,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is situated 100 metres from the chain bridge on the Buda side. It is right next to the tram line (47 & 49) which will take you right into the center of Pest. The frontage is very grand ans is the entrance and lobby with MARBLE columns (not plastic covered) the reception staff we very helpful and polite. The is a Bar, Brasserie and Coffee Lounge off the Main entrance. There is also a Therapy Suite where you can get different treatments, I had a 1 hour full body massage for £24 which is extremely good value.

On the first floor is the Restaurant and Breakfast dining room. Unfortunately the Restaurant was closed for 2 nights to the guest as it was booked for parties which I do not think was acceptable. We did get to eat in the Restaurant eventually and we had an excellent meal (5 course including a different glass of wine with every course for £34 each. There was a string quartet that played in the Restaurant and in the Brasserie, they were very good and gave the place atmosphere, I did not appreciate them touting their CD during the meal though.

The Breakfast dining room was chaotic in the morning as there were not enough staff clearing the tables after people had left, the staff that were there were not very helpful, the breakfast itself was excellent which include a cooked selection as well as cold meats and pastries.

ROOMS: The room we had was in need of an upgrade and not what I would call 4 star. It was clean and after a couple of days we got used to it. The bathrooms were the worst part as the sink was cracked and the bath was very rough through years of use, the water was very brown. As we had only paid £80 per room an a special deal I was not too worried but if I had paid the advertised rate of £170 I would have been hopping! There is no WIFI only a cable Internet which you have to pay £18 per day for including a TV film package, not happy about that! There was no AirCon so would not recommend staying in the summer.

All in all for the price it was not bad but definitely not 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrw34260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Tripadvisor,and we are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT.Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance and will help us to improve our services.We do appreciate your very very detailed description of the inner parts of the hotel,this definitely will help future customers to get orientated. We fully agree vith your feedback "the breakfast room was chaotic in the morning " it is not easy to avoid that over a hundred of our dear guests decide to take their breakfast at the very same time between 9.30-to 10.a.m....
It was a pleasure for us to read "in the Restaurant we had an excellent meal 5 course,- including different glass of wine with every course" and further- "the breakfast itself was excellent "-thank you!
We have understood from your kind comments that you had an overall positive impression of our hotel, and the reduced roomrate also helped you to get this positive feeling.
We hope to welcome you back again in our Hotel Gellért soon.

with my very best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel looks rather impressive overlooking The Danube. We were greeted by friendly staff, who quickly got us a room despite us arriving early.
The rooms are dated, but charming and very clean. We had the most fantastic view of The Danube from the small balcony. The spa connected w the hotel is a gem. There is a special entrance for hotel guests and you can have treatments charged to your room bill. Good idea to bring bath slippers since there are a lot of stairs to cross before getting there. Not recommended for people w walking difficulties. The food in the brasserie where we had a 3 course dinner included was heavy and not very good, had expected something healthy and light, nice service though. The small bar where they serve cocktails and beer is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMalmoSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you ,and we are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Gellért Hotel,and thanks for taking the time to post a short comment on our hotel on TripAdvisor website.
It was a pleasure to learn from your comments,that you had an overall positive impression of our hotel, its location and the friendliness provided by our staff.
We thank you for your review : "We had the most fantastic view of the Danube from the small balcony"-the spa connected to the hotel is a gem "I was sorry to read "the food in the brasserie was heavy "
yes we have international and hungarian kitchen -the latter is really not very light...
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Gellért hotel,and I definitely promise to help you to find a very delicious and light hungarian meal in our brasserie.

with my best regards,


Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

First impressions of this hotel are that it is rather grand, especially when arriving at night when the facade is illuminated. The grandness continues through to the foyer/reception area which is a huge space with marble floors and columns which lead to a grand staircase with beautifully illuminated stain glass panels. On entering our room the grandeur ceased. The room was in desperate need of a revamp as it was rather tired and shabby, though it did contain all the facilities that I expect from higher end hotel and as I am not overly fussy this was acceptable to me. Though not at the front of the building we had a fine view of Gellert hill, the Danube and Liberty Bridge. During my stay I had the opportunity to see inside one of my friends rooms to the front of the building and although we had paid the same amount for accommodation there was a stark contract in the décor.This room had obviously been refurbished fairly recently. It is a large hotel so maybe they are refurbishing in stages, but if you are not happy with your room I would ask reception if they have a better one. Overall I enjoyed my stay as the food (especially the breakfast), spa and beauty salon, were all excellent. When I return to Budapest, which I will as there is still much to see, I would prefer a more modern hotel, which was a little more central, but would not feel too put out if I found myself here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,096 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the foot of Gellert Hill. Impressive Art-Nouveau building with large, light corridors and lots of character.The hotel shares its building with the famous Gellert Spa, one of the city's most beautiful thermal bath. It is located 10 minutes' walk from Great Market Hall and the downtown shopping area. The new Metro 4 station is just a few steps away from the hotel. It offers excellent business facilities, superb food in the brasserie and a charming coffee shop serving traditional pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing