We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location in Buda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #98 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We've spent 3 days in this traditional style hotel. The staff was very helpful, the room was bigger than expected but had no air conditioning in it which wasn't great during extremely hot summer days (and nights). The Spa complex can be reached through the first floor of the hotel and the first visit to it is free of charge. Further visits are 50% cheaper than the normal price. The situation of the hotel is excellent, very close to the universities and to the departure point of several walking tours in the hills of Buda. In overall: a very good spa hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brihutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We are pleased,that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.
I am pleased,that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your comments regarding our staff "the staff was very helpful ..the room was bigger than expected " Your feedback like "the situation of the hotel is excellent, very close to the universities,-will be also helpful for future clients,-thank you. We do apreciate your further comments,like "very good spa hotel...the first visit is free of charge,further visits are 50 % cheaper than the normal price ".
We thank you once more for your kind review,and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Gellért on a future occasion.

Yours Sincerely,

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,315)
There are newer reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,290 - 3,296 of 6,315 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Superb building, the baths are wonderful, but the staff still stuck in the Soviet era regarding service, they need two solve problems, not just hug and say sorry over and over again. They ate in a global market for luxury hotels and let themselves down on our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Large traditional hotel near the Danube. Striking architecture both inside and out. Interesting spa complex naturally heated, but one had to pay after the first visit. Good value to English guests due to non-Euro Forint and relative strength of the pound. Air-conditioning was not throughout the rooms.Charming staff and good food. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BassethoundCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a short comment about your stay in our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT on TripAdvisor website.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.
We do appreciate your review "large traditional hotel,near the Danube...interesting spa complex naturally heated " We thank you for your kind remarks: "charming staff and good food -I would stay again "
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the GELLÉRT hotel in the near future.
best regards

Mihaly Vasony
Duty Manager
Danubius Hotel Gellert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we didn`t sleep or used the check-in services. But we used all the SPA & POOL facilities.

They have the following areas:
- a nice and big swimming area with pool and jacuzzi (common, for both women and men)
- a place only for men, that contains: 2 pools with hot water (36 and 38 degrees), hot sauna and massage
- a place with similar facilities just for women
- an outside pool, with hot water (we visited it in March 2009)
- an outside wave pool

There are also restaurants and sleeping facilities

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a lovely buidling in a great location overlooking the Danube. We had a large, clean, if a little old fashioned room with a small balcony overlooking the river - the views were wonderful. The room was nice, a little tired but clean and we had no problems with it. The corridor outside the room needed a spruce up though. We stayed B&B and breakfast was good but busy. The spas and baths inside the hotel were great - single sex on most days, really relaxing, informal - swimsuit/bikini is the norm for women. It is easy to get lost in the maze of underground passage ways leading ot the outside baths ( on rooftop) but worth the risk as they too are lovely. It does feel odd walking around a hotel, using the lift and walking in the large reception area ( open to none hotel guests) in a bathrobe but no one seems to care about it. So although the decor is dated and a bit worn I think this hotel offers a unique experience and is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Danube.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and though our room was large, the beds comfortable and the room well situated with a fantastic view of the river, it was not too clean (especially the bathroom) and it felt like we had been transported back to the 70's! Rooms are definitely overpriced and you need a separate backpack for the huge keys.
Breakfast was good but the dining room is too small for the number of guests.
Front desk staff are not too friendly and were quite rude on a few occasions, especially to our children.
Concierge and valet parking staff were very helpful.
The spa area and pool could do with a huge overhaul and clean, though we still enjoyed it.
The terrace restaurant was lovely and the musicians were good though it was terribly overpriced for mediocre food.
The retro feeling throughout the hotel is quite charming, but really, you can only rest on your laurels for so long guys. You obviously renovated in the 70's.....time to get the cheque book out again.
It is possible to retain the charm and give visitors a better standard at the same time.

Room Tip: great views from riverfront rooms but noisy because the windows are old. Cute balconies, but they ar...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in a Superior Double Room with river view and it was delightful - very spacious, with comfortable furniture, air-conditioning, in-room wi-fi that pops up on your tv screen, a nice large fridge so you could buy your own drinks and put them in there. The bathroom did look a bit dated but was perfectly clean and comfortable and very large. The balcony was gorgeous and we had a fabulous view across the Danube to Pest plus a view of the beautiful Elizabeth bridge. If all the horror stories about the rooms at the back are true then it's definitely worth paying a bit extra for a front one. When we asked at the front desk, the price of the room was 158,000 Forints (about £450) but when we booked it on LastMinute.com it was £154, which certainly was value for money. You're entitled to one free entry to the spa baths, and one half-price entry. The baths and pools (a total of 13 pools!) are not huge but they are too expensive to be crowded and very, very glamorous with beautifully planted gardens, statues, water-falls, excellent wooden sun-loungers if you can get to them before the Germans, etc. We found the staff to be very helpful - they allowed us a late check-out till 2 pm on the day we left for example without extra charge, and they retrieved the clothes I had forgotten to pack and put them with my bags while I was having lunch. We ate in both the ground floor restaurants and they were excellent, and had breakfast in the Panorama restaurant, also good. Altogether an experience worth having.

Room Tip: The corner rooms and the rooms in the centre of the main block are absolutely enormous but probably...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 332 in Budapest
4,373 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 332 in Budapest
2,447 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#72 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $86 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing