We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully hidden in the hills”
Review of Uhu Villa Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uhu Villa Budapest
Ranked #202 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully hidden in the hills”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I recently visited the Uhu Villa on a quick city break to Budapest and thought it was fantastic. Yes, the hotel is not in the City centre so if you want that then stay elsewhere, we found the romantic seclusion of being up in the hills perfect and exactly what we were looking for. It's about 20 minutes in a taxi or two minute walk and 15 minutes tram ride into town so not exactly arduous adn well worth the little bit of extra effort. Non the less , the accomodation is superb, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and the staff very, very welcoming - we will defiinitely be going back and potentially buying one of the rooms here as part of their investment program.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Scenery
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2008

A rip-off. Located at the farthest edge of the city, they tell you that breakfast is included in the tariff when you check in, then say, "That was a mistake" when you check out; and proceed to charge you the earth for your breakfasts. The 3500 HUF they charge for breakfast will buy you an excellent dinner in a high-class restaurant. The nearest place for any food is 30 minutes away, whether you walk or tram it.
The rooms are weirdly over-heated. I had to keep the windows open to let 6-degree C open-air in, just to keep the temperatures bearable.
Forget it. If you look around, you can find great (and honest) places in the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DaftBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertMayer, Managing Director at Uhu Villa Budapest, responded to this review, October 24, 2008
Dear Daft Bangalore,

Thank you for your review!
As a hotelier, exceeding the customers expectations is highly crucial for me. However I learned over the years that a complaining customer does the biggest favour for us, by pointing out areas that need improvement, therefore I must thank you for your opinion again.

Emotions and perceptions are very subjective, I do not doubt your feelings of stress and anxiety and this is why I look past your insult.

I will stick to facts when answering you post:

Uhu Villa does not sell rooms with breakfast on the website you have booked through.

A menu indicating the price of the breakfast can be found on every table.

The price of the breakfast is in par with the hotels of Budapest, not to mention the fact, that as an enviromentaly conscious hotel, we make every effort to buy organic local produce.

As we have no restaurant, I hope you undertsand that we can not do more than offering reputable restaurants in the city center or nearby, offer you the possibility to order take-away from a vast array of restaurants( Indian, Italian, Hungarian, Sushi, Greek), or to offer you the chance to prepare you a sandwich - which my colleagues all did. I honestly do not know how we could do more.

You are right, old reviews mentioned our restaurant, sadly we no longer have one. This is why we do not advertise to have one on any website - including our own.

As our heating and cooling is done through the air-conditioning system (individually controlled in each room) there is a small period of time - usually a week twice a year, when we need our guests cooperation in the transition. That means cooling the room through opening the windows, which is an environmently friendly method that no other guest complained about - but certainly something I will investigate.

I can only express my regret not having the chance to discuss things with you in person, even though I was present at your check out. Perhaps if you had turned to me, I could have shown how your confirmation does not say breakfast is included in the room price. It really is a shame as the day before - when I offered to take you in my car, because I understood your husband has a difficulty with walking - you seemed very happy about your stay, and now your whole perception of reality has changed.

Sincerely yours,

Robert Mayer
Managing Director
Uhu Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

It sounds like a wonderful haven tucked away in a picturesque locale but once you cut through this and the tastefully decorated lounges, there's not much else Uhu Villa offers. For one it is far from the city centre and altho' a 10-15 minute walk to the tram stop, it's not a climb recommended with luggage or without (particularly the last few metres)!
There seemed to be a problem with the rooms located on the first floor - one felt a gush of warm air as one walked up the stairs and our room was very warm in October even without the heater (felt like a furnace with the heater on). We were informed that the central heating was in force so we could not use air conditioning and were forced to keep the windows open all day and night - this was not enough to cool the rooms down at night and in addition, brought in insects in the evening. We discussed this with the front office lady on the first day and all she had to say was a "welcome to Budapest!"
Despite the website we booked thro' mentioning a restaurant and sauna, apparently the restaurant had closed down a year ago which made it very inconvenient as there was no eating place close by and the mini bar stocked just chocolates and drinks! The sauna was not working either - no reasons given.
When we checked in, we queried the reception as to whether breakfast was part of the deal and she confirmed it was. Yet when we checked out, we were charged 14000 ft for breakfast for two people for two days which was a total rip off given the spartan spread provided (and which could have provided us four geat lunches or dinners at city central restaurants). When we tried to argue this with the front desk, they were non commital - one saying the lady had made a mistake and the other saying she had worked with them for six years and could never have made such a mistake. We decided there was no point arguing it out with them, paid up and left. All in all an unfortunate experience given the wonderful hospitality provided by the apartments we had stayed at in Pest before checking into Uhu Villa. Seems like once they have you captive in their place, you don't have much of a choice to argue with anything provided. I could add that the manager was sweet enough to turn around and give us a lift the last few metres one evening but his good deed was obliterated by the overall experience. Never again!

  • Liked — The tastefully done up lounge rooms
  • Disliked — Almost everything else - the room, lack of restaurants, service orientation, hospitality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

First of all, the walk up the hill is not that bad. There were tourist attractions on our trip which were far worse. Second, despite a few shortcomings, Uhu and the staff were a reassuring and welcome first stop on our European vacation. Overall, If time is not a critical issue, then you will likely adore this charming home-away-from-home.

Due to post-flight crankiness, we hailed a taxi from the airport - although we had originally planned to hoof it via public transit. Anyone with suitcases - do not attempt the hill! At first we were concerned about the location: when we told our driver where we were staying, he sighed VERY heavily and proceeded to drive like an impatient madman through the streets, like he couldn't wait to toss us out of the car.

Despite that, we arrived safe and sound. The villa, like everyone else has stated, is clean, cozy, and tastefully decorated. Our standard room was more than adequate, in terms of closet space, temperature, and bathroom facilities. Wireless internet is available for free, but only in the lounge areas. Otherwise you'll have to use their computer, which was always available when we walked past it.

The restaurant is still closed, although they do serve breakfast for a fee. The sauna was also closed but the swimming pool remained open.

In addition, they charged us quite a bit for a fourth night (we had originally booked 3 nights w/Expedia for a great price).

However, we had great, quiet sleeps each night. After a long day of sightseeing, it was actually stimulating to do that walk up the hill, knowing you were going to climb into a comfy bed.

The public transit via the Tram and the Metro wasn't that bad at all. You're in the heart of the action in about 20 minutes. Just remember to ALWAYS have a ticket! We made the mistake of skipping out on paying (because we couldn't figure out the fares) and were slapped with a fine for 60 euros. Ouch. That being said, if you're short on time, you might want to invest a few more dollars and stay in the centre.

But back to Uhu - we will be back if we ever return to Budapest for a few days.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Decor
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WhippetGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Our taxi drive out there took ages and we became worried that we were miles and miles out - but the next day, it turned out to be less than 15 mins into the city centre by tram and was a really simple and very cheap journey.
The taxi driver never found it in the end and we walked the last bit after ages in his car as Uhu is in a suburb and not that easy to find (print a google map off!).
If you do take a taxi when you arrive - make sure you ask Uhu what it should cost approximately before you come and make sure you set a taxi fare before you get in as they are known for overcharging! The trams are dead easy after that
Although it's not city centre based, it's definitely worth it and very relaxing, with beautiful interiors and a lovely garden surrounding it. The staff too were extremely nice.
It feels like a lovely oasis away from the city (fabulous as Budapest was!) - stay here.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Some distance away from the city centre
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We had a fleeting 48 hours in Budapest with a Ryanair budget flight . I found Uhu Villa through their website and got a discounted online and out of season rate - the whole trip costing us no more than 100 UK pounds.

We adored the hotel - staff were attentive and really helpful with a fabulous command of English. We were welcomed on a cold rainy late November night with a free drink in the bar and escorted to a comfortable, roomy bedroom that had beautiful views over the forests of the Buda Hills. Uhu Villa was totally charming and cosy - as well described in other reviews. It's small enough to feel intimate and peaceful yet has all the usual facilities we have come to expect. Yes it does have a steep climb towards it but it's not as bad as I thought it would be based on the reviews. We didn't bother with public transport during so brief a visit and found that the taxi's booked through the hotel were obliging and charged exactly what the hotel said they would.

The only down side was the location - yes it is a bit of a way from the centre - during peak times the ride downtown took us half an hour so it wasn't so great for our limited timescale. Also, the restaurant was still not open for dinner in the evenings at the time of our visit and this had clearly been the case for some time. This wasn't an inconvenience for us as we planned to eat in traditional city restaurants with the gypsy bands anyway, but this issue was constantly raised in the hotel guest review book that was otherwise full of outstanding comments.

For anyone looking to book a romantic getaway with time on their hands to explore, Uhu Villa is the perfect magical retreat. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Charming and quaint. Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exminster Exeter devon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

This is a nice quite hotel with good size rooms with a swimming pool and internet available for use. The breakfast was extra but good, I have had a better choice in budapest though.
As the tram lines are being re laid the journey from Moskver Ter
meant catching a bus no 56 to Akedemia and then the 56 tram to Vadaskerti and then a downhill walk before a very steep up hill walk to the hotel. it is well sign posted but not suitable to carry luggage and it was slippery with the snow .
This is a great warm friendly and cheap hotel to stay at but a seat and oxygen would be helpful at the half way mark.

  • Liked — Helpfull staff comfort
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nigel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Panda
#250 of 333 in Budapest
34 reviews
Vadvirag Panzio
#168 of 333 in Budapest
8 reviews
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#151 of 333 in Budapest
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,142 reviews
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
479 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uhu Villa Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uhu Villa Budapest

Property: Uhu Villa Budapest
Address: Keselyu ut 1/A, Budapest 1025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Hotel Class:4 star — Uhu Villa Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Uhu Villa Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uhu Hotel Budapest
Budapest Uhu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing