We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Centrum
Ranked #80 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good base.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just back from our first city break to Budapest. The hotel was perfect for what we needed. Somewhere to sleep after days of exploring this fascinating city.
The breakfasts were excellent and really set us up for the day. Rooms are fine and although I've stayed in more exclusive resorts this was ideal for the 4 of us.
Budapest is a safe, clean and exciting city to look around with stunning views around every corner. We used the Hop on Hop off buses (red) and for 2 days we roamed the city jumping off at places that took our fancy.
Food was brilliant and plentiful. Street food to nice restaurants. We used Trip Advisor as our guide.
Check out The Trap for something a bit different!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear JohnNorthamptonshire,

First and foremost let me thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay.

Your kind words regarding the wide selection of the buffet breakfast and the location of ours are highly appreciated.
I am happy to read that you had overall a pleasant stay with us and you were satisfied with our services.
I would like to thank you again for having chosen our hotel and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in Budapest.

Kind Regards,

The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    796
    249
    55
    16
See reviews for
471
548
83
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel itself is nice and clean and the staff are helpful, even the rooms are really nice.

The bad:

Dodgy area, next to square full of drunks and homeless people, with queues for the soup kitchens.

Last week it was really warm in Budapest, the Air con is not switched on until the summer, so you think you have the cooler on when you are just blowing warm air, they do net tell you this until I asked reception. So you open the doors - If you can sleep through the wail of sirens all night and excessive car noise you will be ok.

Also they have these huge square pillows which have no firmness, they offer soft medium and hard and they are all soft.

I have never slept so bad in a hotel, lucky I was not paying for it as I was on business.

Overall avoid and head further down to the tourist area, I wouldn't want to take my family due to the rough area this hotel is located in.

Room Tip: Sorry no good tips for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that our services and the location were not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and let me ensure you that we take all guest remarks very seriously and we are doing every effort to improve our services.

Concerning the surrondings I would like to kindly inform you that together with the other hotels within this area we join to find the solution for this matter.

We really hope that despite of your disappointment, we have the opportunity to welcoming you again at our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Don't understand those who complain about Novotel Centrum. Excellent location (only 30 meters from metro station), nice and clean rooms, good breakfast. Booked executive room with free minibar and free access to executive lounge. Really enjoyed sauna, Jacuzzi and massage. If you want to spend nice week end in Budapest, Novotel Centrum would be an excellent choice. Just go ahead and book it!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive room. It give an opportunity to check out late (till 16:00) for free, plus oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaNar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear JaNar,

We are delighted to read you review concerning your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Your compliments regarding the cleanliness and the room have been forwarded to the staff. Receiving positive comments from satisfied clients is the greatest reward for us.

Thank you very much for highlighting the executive rooms of ours and the central location of the hotel; it is easy to reach the main sights in Budapest from the hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Novotel Budapest Centrum again!

Yours Sincerely,

Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is it's location. The room was clean but the bed was hard and I woke up with back pain every day. Though they switched out the pillows at our request it was still uncomfortable. The worst part is the lack of air conditioning. The first night we brought it up no one even addressed our concerns at all. The 2nd time we brought it up they said the unit was not on. For some reason I thought they said they would turn it on but what they said was they would unlock the window, which they did not. The third time we asked about it someone finally came up to open the windows, but on a main street with ambulances and noises going all times of the night it was not easy to sleep. The majority of the front staff was helpful but there was also a rude employee but my biggest complaint was the lack of reliability on the wake up call. Two out of three times they missed our wake up call even after we were assured twice by two different people we would get a wake up call for the airport. I rarely write reviews for hotels but I felt I had to share my disappointment in this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loan724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Ioan724,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in all aspects; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Our team stay at your disposal to discuss this unpleasant situation on H3560-FO@accor.com.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences and it is our hope that despite your mixed feelings, we will have the opportunity to accomodate you again in our hotel in the not so distant future.


Kind Regards,
The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely large room in the older part of the hotel. Large immaculate bathroom spoilt by a poorly positioned shower. Staff very pleasant and helpful Excellent breakfast with good choice and always well stocked. Small criticism coffee nowhere near hot enough even when asked to replace it. Good location about 10minutes walk from the Danube and surprisingly quiet considering how busy the road is. Good location for public transport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Jan D,

We are delighted that you wrote this very kind review regarding your stay at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Your compliments have been forwarded to the staff. We are very proud of our customer-oriented team and it is a pleasure to read that you were also satisifed with the quality of the service.

Besides that, we are very sorry that the coffee has not met your expectations because we lay a great stress on offering extraordinary service for our guests. If you had any inconveniences during your stay than please accept our sincerest apologies.

Thank you very much for mentioning the good location of the hotel. It is our hope that you not only had a memorable stay here but also will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the hotel again soon!

Best Regards,

Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

the hotel is well located next to the centre of budapest . the standard rooms we felt were smaller compared to the other accor group hotel room we booked on the same trip .rooms were otherwise nice and clean . the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and polite . the accor group members reservation desk is very helpful providing you with all the deals and details you require

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahulkapur030987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Rahulkapur030987,

First of all, let me thank you for sharing your experiences with the traveller community on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you have a great first impression and its an honour that you were satisfied with cleanliness of the room and with the staff. We are happy that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel as well.
Thank you very much for staying with us and I do hope that we may have the pleasure to host you again at Novotel Budapest Centrum on your next stay here in Budapest.

Best Regards,
Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#58 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Property: Novotel Budapest Centrum
Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Budapest
#53 Family Hotel in Budapest
#57 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#61 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing