We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$50
View deal
Priceline$50
Agoda.com$50
eDreams$50
Tripadvisor$50
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
34
91
106
57
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
91
106
57
43
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 331 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed one night at the Tulip Inn and were grateful it was only one night. Although overall the hotel is quite nice and looks more like a 4 star hotel, the beds and pillows were horrible! Pillows were hard as a rock and trying to make that comfortable under your head was impossible. The beds were also not only incredibly hard and uncomfortable but one of the beds would tip up like a see-saw if you happened to sit on the end and also sounded like it was breaking when you got in and out of it. After all, sleeping in a comfortable bed is why people stay at a hotel and this was awful with a capital A! The other problem was the air conditioner in the room: the rooms have very high ceilings (about 10 feet high) and the air conditioner is at ceiling level over the door but could not keep up with the heat in the room although it was a typically warm summer day and night. We had the unit on all night but still could barely feel the air conditioner. Most of the staff was good but one of the waiters from the bar was incredibly rude and we let him know it! We would never stay here again. We would rather pay a bit more and have more comfort, i.e., normal, comfortable beds and pillows and a real air conditioner. What good is a nice looking hotel if the beds are so uncomfortable you can't sleep in them?

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

we stayed at the Tulip Inn in Budapest and they where charging 139 euros but we got the Expedia rate that was cool but they had horrible customer service. When we checked in no iron or ironing board no ice no key for the extra roll away bed really slow inter-net that wasn't available to us. since there was no food or snack around the hotel we ask for some hot water for our instant soup and he suggested to use our fosit. the next day they tried to charge us for a friend that never stayed and told us that this is an award winning 3 star hotel and we should be happy to get that rate. we give them 1 out of 5 and had a better time in the hostel. Thankyou Titipong Tongbua

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttongbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I had to stay in Budapest for work just one night. My arrival was very late in the evening and I needed hotel near the airport. This hotel is 10 minutes taxi from Ferihegy airport. Certainly, the location is absolutely not romantic and nice, if you are in leisure trip I would not recommend it, but for business it is ok. The rate is really low, and in ten minutes with metro (the stop is at 200 metres from hotel) you will arrive to city center. I had booked single room, but they had upgraded me to suite, that was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very polite and welcoming, they answered always to all my request by e-mail as well.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fadinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend, bit disappointed as at first i thought we were staying in a nicer hotel but had just researched it wrong. The hotel itself is quite big and the rooms are large too. The location is pretty bad, you'd never be walking from the hotel to the city or local restaurants as its all just too far however as others have mentioned there is a metro a few hundred meters down the road and its cheap at €8 for a weekend metro pass. Theres very few places the metro in budapest doesnt stop so its well worth learning how it works. I didnt use it at night though as the hotel isnt exactly in what feels like a safe area so we just got taxis instead. The staff were very helpful and would book tours/restaurants if you asked. Breakfast is ok too. This to me felt more like a business conference hotel than a spot for a couple for romantic getaway, its all pretty old looking and in need of modernising however its very clean even if the beds arent very comfortable. If you're getting the hotel for a good price or a business meeting then i can recommend it, fore couples and tourists though there are a lot nice hotels in budapest than this for only a few euro more.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We were transferred to this hotel after the hotel we were booked into was fully booked and it was part of the same group, we were glad we were.

Situated a 5 minute walk from 2 metro stops and minutes away from the international bus station this hotel is 5-6 stops to central Budapest which takes about 10 minutes. All the hotel staff are friendly and the reception is clean and spacious with a bar area to one side.

They were unable to allocate us a double room as requested as they were full but we did stay in a twin non smoking room, The room itself was of normal size by European standards, the bathroom contained towels, complimentary soap and shampoo and the room also came with a mini bar although we only found out about this upon departure when we were asked if we had taken any drinks from it!

It is true that the mattress was slightly hard, this presented no problems though and it was not uncomfortable to sleep on, the room itself backed onto the rear of the hotel and overlooked the local church, very quite as we heard little traffic from the road.

We only had breakfast in the hotel as it came with the price, it was served between 7-10, and throughout the day the hotel also provides a limited lunch and dinner menu. The restaurant was clean and the waitresses attentive, a range of cold meats, bread cereal and hot food was available along with hot coffee a variety of teas and cold drinks, again this was similar to other European hotels that i have stayed in.

The location of the hotel was excellent for the price, as mentioned it is a 5 minute walk to the metro which connects to central Budapest and the main train station in one direction or you can go to the end of the line in the other and catch the 200E bus outside that station to the airport, we did this on our departure and it took 30 minutes, very efficient and quick, The road the hotel was on was quite busy as it contained a hospital but it was safe and clean on the pavements.

This hotel is excellent value for money if you are on a budget and do not mind getting public transport into Budapest, we obtained a 3 day travel pass costing £10 per person this covered us for all metros, trains, trams and busses throughout our stay and covered our transfers to the airport on public transport.

We would not hesitate to and will be staying here again when we return to this amazing city.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davejy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews