We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Ranked #130 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights. It was very affordable and we got we expected. A comfortable, clean room and bathroom.The beds were very comfortable and it wasn't too far from the centre. The staff in the hotel were very helpful arranging excursions and providing us maps and generally giving useful advice. The hotel has several restaurants and bars surrounding, but we didn't get time to check any of them out. The restaurant in the hotel; just wow! The Goulash Soup was amazing! This was also very good value for money. They have smoking rooms in this hotel which I unfortunately reserved. Being from the UK, we cannot smoke in any of our hotels so I jumped at the opportunity. The room smelt disgusting and I didn't even end up smoking in it. Even if you are a smoker, request a non smoking room. Jump in the elevator and there is an ashtray right outside the main door. Definitely book the dinner cruise, it was cheap and beautiful. Free glass of wine and champagne. Buffet Hungarian food and a beautiful band playing violins. Towards the end of the cruise they even go to each table asking you to request a song. Absolutely perfect trip. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Even if you are a smoker, do not request a smoking room. I instantly regretted it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Gemma G,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 859 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Leonardo Budapest is in a pleasant neighborhood, clean, good location and equipped with wonderful and helpful staff. The communication with the reservation department and management was superb - Janos Ivan was prompt, helpful and supportive in every way. My only criticism is the poor WiFi connection in some of the rooms (my VIP guests could not connect to the internet from the Jr Suites) and the poorer standard of the suites compared to other Leonardo hotels across Europe. Overall a great hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayesTravel-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Hayes Travel,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it on behalf of all our colleges! I will forward your compliment to my college, Janos Ivan.

We are trying to get the best solution from our WiFi provider, in case there is any difficulty or weakness, as soon as we get information, we contact the support to help on it. The comfortable usage is one of the reasons why the bandwidth beed rised up, and we are seeking further upgrades as well.

We hope we can welcome you and your organised groups again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Leonardo Budapest is a pleasant well run hotel whose greatest quality is good value for money. The room I was in was slightly on the small side, but served its purpose completely. I would guess that there are larger rooms in the hotel if needed. Everything worked properly and was well kept and clean. The breakfast included in the reasonable price was very good with a nice variety of morning offerings, as well as a made to order omelet,
The staff was friendly and helpful and service comes with a smile.
Although the hotel is a bit outside the central core of Pest, this is of no great significance. It is within short walking distance of tram lines and the metro and in about 15-20 minutes leisurely walking one can get to the Vaci utca pedestrian street. Various restaurants, bars and a very nice mall (Corvin) are even closer.
Taxis are easy to get, but beware of rip-off artists who prey on tourists. Your best and safest bet is to phone for one of the major taxi companies, such as City Taxi. Their drivers are polite, knowledgeable, speak a modicum of English and will always use their non-ripoff meter.
Bottom line - this is a very worthwhile hotel for a business or vacation stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wolfman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Wolfman50,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Your descriptions of your experiences are precise and helpful for all future trip planners.

We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is home like cosy and warm. The service is perfect the guys at the reception are helpful and kind and even book and order attractions for you. The breakfast is rich and includes a salad areal salad :;)) a rare thing in other places. All in all wonderful ;)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nissim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Nissim M,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Well, I will start out by saying that I was traveling with a group of 4 Americans that don't speak Hungarian hardly at all. The language barrier was not that bad, though. The hotel is in a nice location, within walking distance to bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is small, the rooms are small, the bar is small, etc. The elevators were comically small. The room was fine- clean and tiny, but that's all we needed. The breakfast was great and the bartenders and host were excellent. The Banquet Manager came to talk to us for awhile and was very friendly.
The Front Desk staff was almost rude, though. Every time we walked past the Front Desk, we were literally glared at. Mind you, we are American but we were not being loud, rude or drunk. And, maybe it's part of my culture that dictates when you make eye contact with an employee they normally smile, or nod, or in some way indicate that they see you and are glad you are there. I work in a hotel and I was shocked by the outright stares of contempt- especially from the night auditor- as we entered or left the building. I would rather have just been ignored. There was one female employee at the Front Desk that was working during the day that was very pleasant.
Beside that, we had a great time in Budapest and would love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cantogypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear cantogypsy,

Thank you for your valued feedback and sharing your experinces with us; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.

I was happy to read that the hotel met with your expectations at the breakfast, the room and location.
Your other mentioned experience: I will continue training the Front Offive Team's Guest Relations Training and the subject you rised up will be part of it.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel soon after it was opened and it was a great experience. It was very clean, large rooms, two fully equipped bathrooms, large bed, large windows.

I even liked the street, very quaint, with a couple of cafes, if you want to skip breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeeny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Zeeny79,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be inproved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
Your opininion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it! We are more than happy to see, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The service and the location of the Leonardo hotel were excellent. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is located in a nice and quiet street. It's not far from the city center and in walkable distance to some museums and places of interest. Other places of interest are within easy reach through public transportation. Several supermarkets are also not too far away from the hotel. On the other side of the street - opposite the main entrance of the hotel - is a small café with delicious cakes and also the Hummus Bar directly at the hotel offers excellent food. The breakfast buffet of the hotel was ok, nothing special though. And the room was not very clean and didn't smell very nice, especially the bathroom had an unpleasant smell. The Leonardo hotel doesn’t have a swimming pool but a small exercise room with new and clean equipment. Moreover it has a really nice small sauna. It’s very clean and perfect for couples or for a single person to relax (more than two people won’t fit in). We had a voucher, so I can't say if usually the value-for-money ratio is ok. For us it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nikkki536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your informative review which can be very helpful for the next guests.
We keep working on the development of the hotel's services, also the quality of our rooms.
We recommend to try also other Leonardo Hotels across Europe.
Best wishes
Andras Kiss
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#129 of 332 in Budapest
1,677 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#134 of 332 in Budapest
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Inn
#89 of 332 in Budapest
491 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#115 of 332 in Budapest
1,353 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 332 in Budapest
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Budapest

Address: Tompa utca 30-34., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Budapest)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $53 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Budapest offers 182 comfortable and modern rooms to make a perfect holiday experience. Connecting rooms are perfect for families. The hotel provides 4 rooms to physically challenged guests. The Comfort Room with 20 sqm features cozy interior facilities such as air conditioning, free W-LAN, flat-TV, safe, fridge, desk, telephone, and in-room heating. The bathroom is equipped with shower or bathtub, toilet and hairdryer. Superior Room Additionally to the amenities of the Comfort Room, the elegant Superior Room with 28 sqm provides a comfortable sitting area with sofa bed and arm chair to ensure a comfortable stay. The bathroom is equipped in addition to shower, toilet and hairdryer as well with a bidet. Junior Suite The spacious Junior Suite with 40 sqm is the perfect place to settle back. In addition to all amenities of the Comfort Room the living area invites to relax with sofa bed and cozy armchairs. The generous bathroom offers shower, toilet, hairdryer and bidet. Deluxe Suite In addition to the amenities of the Junior Suite, the luxurious Deluxe Suite offers a separate living area. Spacious rooms and modern interior maximize the feel-at-home atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing