We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Ranked #135 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was there for 3 nights. The room is very small. The TV commander doesn't works and they didn't fix it in my stay. I stay all the nights with the same TV channel. The bathroom was small too. Moreover, for a double bed they have two blankets, one for each person. it was strange... The advantage is that hotel has free wifi and it's clean.

The breakfast was not spectacular. One night, I have dinner in the restaurant and it was goo, maybe, a bit expensive.

Finally, the hotel is located not near of the center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sergi_Cat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 878 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel while in Prague, with a group of 42 other friends and returned some days later for another night. We were told by the tour agency that it was a Ramada hotel, but when we arrived I found out that it has joined the Leonardo group of Hotels a couple of weeks ago, so I guess my comments might be the first as a Leonardo Hotel from now on.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink. (A small glass of orange juice.)

We had our room upgraded the first two nights and we were given a nice suite on the 6th floor. (# 602) It was very comfortable and cozy. One con here though was our bed which was extremely soft. So soft, that I had to check if it was a water bed. The slightest move of the hand can wake up the person sleeping next to you.
I have to admit that some people in our group had however extremely small rooms the first two nights, and I thought they were exaggerating. They were talking about rooms like dungeons and I asked to see one. They were right, the rooms were extremely small, but they were given better rooms the last night when we returned from Prague. It seems that the really cheaper rooms are the smallest. Four nights later when we returned here, we were given room # 443. This new room did not have of course the dimensions of the suite we previously had, neither was it the smallest room. It was a normal size room, nice and comfortable for that one night. Actually the whole group had the same size of room this time. I believe the size depends on what you pay.
The towels in the bathroom were bright white, as well as the cover bedspread. Air conditioning and the mini bar in our room were working fine. No bad comments here. I asked my friends for any bad comments and nobody had to say anything negative.

Breakfast was more than adequate with omelets, sausages with nice mustard, yoghurt, fruit salad, variety of cakes, cheese and ham and oatmeal porridge. There was an incident during dinner the second night, but after I talked with Mr. Mustafa Osman the Restaurant Manager who was very polite, he did his very best to please us all. So, here I suggest that if you are not satisfied with anything, the thing you should do is to kindly talk about the problem with the person in charge and not just ignore it. In this way the hotel people will be informed and if you really talk and convince them, believe me, they will do whatever they can to make things up for you. Only ask politely. If we guests don’t comment on the cons we find with the right people, then the hotel cannot be improved, and I believe this is what the hotel people are after here.

We were on H/B basis, so we had our dinners here. One negative here and comment from all 42 people of our group was the high cost of wine and beer. The small glass of beer costs 4 euro, and a bottle of wine is approximately 15 euro. This was the impression of all 42 people in the group.

There is internet access for free on the ground floor but I could not connect my laptop while there even if I was given a code. Only once I had access from my suite but just once. There is only one computer by the entrance door but you cannot use it for long unless there is nobody else who wishes to use it. Otherwise you have to be brief, just check e mails. I usually worked early in the morning or late at night when there was nobody else waiting.

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood not far from the city centre. There are shops in the round area, -a small square with one or two coffee shops and a pub just opposite the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel, and I would gladly return here if I ever visit Prague again.

Room Tip: Suite #602 was comfortable and cozy, Room #443 was not big but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveLHB, Executive of General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.com regarding your stay at Leonardo Hotel Budapest.
We appreciate your valuable and detailed comment.
Your remarks are important to us and will enable us to improve the quality of our services and performance in a metter to satisfy our guest's needs and expectations.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future for a very pleasant stay!

With warm regards,

Szilvia Udvarhelyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IrinaFurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hadden een kamer aan de achterzijde. Daarbij uitzicht op de tuin wat ook betekende heerlijk rust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corriesoeteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoBUD, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Tiphanieyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoBUD, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoBUD, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: lo mejor es no venir
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariarosah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoBUD, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#130 of 334 in Budapest
1,708 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 334 in Budapest
2,112 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#37 of 334 in Budapest
316 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#116 of 334 in Budapest
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Budapest

Address: Tompa utca 30-34., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Budapest)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $52 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Budapest offers 182 comfortable and modern rooms to make a perfect holiday experience. Connecting rooms are perfect for families. The hotel provides 4 rooms to physically challenged guests. The Comfort Room with 20 sqm features cozy interior facilities such as air conditioning, free W-LAN, flat-TV, safe, fridge, desk, telephone, and in-room heating. The bathroom is equipped with shower or bathtub, toilet and hairdryer. Superior Room Additionally to the amenities of the Comfort Room, the elegant Superior Room with 28 sqm provides a comfortable sitting area with sofa bed and arm chair to ensure a comfortable stay. The bathroom is equipped in addition to shower, toilet and hairdryer as well with a bidet. Junior Suite The spacious Junior Suite with 40 sqm is the perfect place to settle back. In addition to all amenities of the Comfort Room the living area invites to relax with sofa bed and cozy armchairs. The generous bathroom offers shower, toilet, hairdryer and bidet. Deluxe Suite In addition to the amenities of the Junior Suite, the luxurious Deluxe Suite offers a separate living area. Spacious rooms and modern interior maximize the feel-at-home atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing