We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mediterran
Nearby Hotels
$175
$126
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$152
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$251
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Castle Garden(Budapest)
$505
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$149
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$115
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
184
267
102
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
267
102
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebus stopmom parkbusy roadrecommend this hoteljacuzzi and saunapublic transportnice hotelmain roadcity taxjust round the cornershort breakair conclean roomsmini barbuda sidebeautiful city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 605 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although this hotel is out of the city centre, it is within easy reach of bus and tram stops.
It is air conditioned, important when the outside temp is in the high 30s.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large and airy.
We had a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in Aug, although the Hotel was clean, and good breakfast, it is on a busy main road and can be quite noisy at night, Staff were very helpful. Hotel is within walking distance into Town (20 min walk) or there is a bus no 8 or 112 that goes into town which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel. we booked a hotel shuttle bus on line to take us to our Hotel, well worth the £20 return journey, there desk is just outside the arrivals hall in the terminal we didnt have to wait, and they picked us up on time for our return flight. next door to the Hotel there is a nice bar for a night cap, also good food it is called Aranyhid and offers ( FREE WIFI.) the ...hotel charges 8 euros for 24 hours. shopping centre called MOM Park is 15 minute walk, also has a nice restaurant where you can sit outside. Thermal Baths well worth a visit, the hop on hop off city bus tour we did the green and pink, with that you receive 2 free beers, 2 goulash soups and 2 free 1 hour boat trips on the Danube..excellent value..one word of warning if getting a taxi, from town have the restaurant call City Cars, we got ripped off first night it was £11, then it was £5 which is acceptable, although the no 8 bus comes back from town 4 stops then get off. the area of Bata Utci is more reasonable prices to eat, a street full of bars and restaurants.....good wine and priced around £7 - £11 per bottle......HAVE FUN

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank custard1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was looking for a hotel close to Budapest Congress & World Trade Center to stay overnight after a concert. Hotel Mediterran is whithing very short walknig distance.

I was pleasantly surprised to see such good reviews on a relatively low proced hotel, so I booked the night at Hotel Mediterran. The hotel, the room and service did not disapoint.

Very pleasant and cosy hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Calin G,

I am happy that we could provide you convenient accommodation for your night of concert in Budapest Congress & World Trade Center, that is really nearby out hotel, 5 minutes of walking. Nice to hear that good comments on tripadvisor made you book us, and you had such good experience about Hotel Mediterran! I am sure that your feedback will help other visitors to choose us, too! Thank you so much and wishing you all the best!

Attila
Hotel Mediterran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we checked in to Hotel Mediterran we thought all was well. The staff seemed to be friendly and helpful and when we got in to our room it was quite nice although we did have two singles pushed together instead of a double bed, although this seems to be the norm in eastern europe. It was also rather annoying having a room overlooking a very busy main road. The hotel apparently has "sound proofed" windows, the sound proofing leaves a lot to be desired. On our first morning we decided to have breakfast, assuming that it would be included in our room rate. Sadly this was not the case, we were not informed upon check in that breakfast was actually charged at €10 per person per day! I only discovered this when i overheard the guy on reception telling another guest while they were checking in! Another charge that we were not told about at check in is the Budapest tourist tax (400 HUF per person per night). This is not a large amount of money but it would have been nice to have been informed. The final annoyance was the wifi which was advertised as being free in every room. This was not the case. When I asked at reception I was told i had to purchase a card to use the wifi. There was a communal computer in the lobby but quite often this computer was occupied by a man that I assumed worked at the hotel because at one stage he seemed to be helping himself to drinks behind the bar and also talking to other staff. This same man was on one occasion hovering in the tv area, alternating between the tv and the computer, this made for a very awkward atmosphere forcing us to return to our room to watch the olympic opening ceremony. I was unsure at times if the staff actually did any work. Every time we returned to the hotel the person on reception seemed to be either on facebook or watching a film on the TV by the bar. They were always very helpful but i found them to be rather unprofessional in this respect. A rather disappointing stay in what, at first, appeared to be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJKielty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear MJKielty,

Let me reflect on your comment here on Tripadvisor. As I could investigate you made your reservation through expedia/hotels.com website. I checked this site and all information is clearly written about breakfast, city tax and internet use.

You can read about breakfast at the"general info" and "fees" part: breakfast is available (surcharge), +2800 HUF /person (10 eur)

We dont advertise free wireless wifi in the room. It is clear on the website, too. Quote: Fee for in-room wireless Internet: HUF 2000 (for 2 hours, rates may vary),Fee for wireless Internet in all public areas: HUF 2000 (for 2 hours, rates may vary). Complimentary wired internet terminal with printing possibility is available in the lobby.

About city tax: Next to the roomtype you can see "excl.city tax" I copy here the information that can be read in "Fees" information: "A tax is imposed by the city: HUF 400 per person, per night. This tax does not apply to children under 18 years of age."

We try our best to inform our clients about the conditions during the reservation process. Not all websites are flexible in this meaning, but Expedia/Hotels.com gives detailed information about included and excluded services and fees.

According to our price policy we provide mainly room only rates on booking websites, and we let our clients decide if they would pay extra amount for service that they wouldn't take necessarily. (breakfast, garage use, sauna/jacuzzi, wifi internet, minibar etc).

I ask for your pardon if my colleague didn't mention about breakfast and city tax when you checked in. They should do it each time when a guest checks in to us. I talked to them and told them to pay more attention on this topic.

The receptionists are not forced to stand behind the desk when there is no client around. They use the reception pc next to the desk (not the lobby guest pc) for working purpose. Sorry if you found them standing in front the tv, they were too much excited about some Olimpic Games events. I talked to them about this too.

But as you mention the staff was always at your service and very helpful . I am happy to hear that!

I do hope that besides the misunderstandings about fees you had a nice time in Budapest and will return to our beautiful capital!

Best regards,

Attila Pravicz
Manager - Hotel Mediterran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews