We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High praises! ”
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #46 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High praises! ”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Great room with superb hospitality. Easy access to the city. Staff went out of its way to guide us. Good English. Felt really welcomed. Wi-fi throughout hotel. Dined in restaurant for breakfast and one evening meal. Very nice!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TAS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    233
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
90
268
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel and would highly recommend to any of my friends and family. Situated on the Buda side of the city which is the quieter side but only a 5 min bus ride away from the livelier Pest side.
Hotel is clean with large studio style bedrooms with cooking facilities and a fridge which is a must from spring until autumn.
The staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful, we changed rooms on request with no hesitation from the reception staff who went well beyond the call of duty to help make our stay in their city an exciting one.The staff also made my wifes birthday a special one with a champagne breakfast and wine delivered to our room, without any prompting from myself.
If you're thinking of a visit to Budapest book this hotel now!

Ps. Great breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited Budapest in April, 2014.

The hotel is located 10 min away from main tourist section by bus. Extremely friendly, helpful staff, and clean big bedrooms are its main strengths. Furthermore, its really a bargain compared to other hotels, even hostels in central eastern europe.

Take into account: you need to take a bus to get into pest, though its just a 10 min ride. Buda castle and citadell are at walking distance.

I would recomend this hotel to everyone without hesitation, except for those looking forward to luxurious resort type hotels. I will definitely come back if I return to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in Charles for 5 days. The rooms are not fancy however are big and clean. Price- excellent deal. Ten minutes walk from the river. Great public transportation near by.
Staff was eager to help.
Highly recommended!
Micky

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threekids4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed for two days in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was a decent size with a good shower and bath. The hotel is quiet and is situated in a lovely area of Budapest with good public transport.
The staff at reception was very helpful and could answer any questions I had.
If I have another holiday in Budapest I will stay here.

Kind regards,

Ildiko Cnejevici

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tittelandrea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nice hotel, near city center - 20 min by feet. They have very nice personal that speak a lot of languages. Hotel is not new, but it is clean and nice. A hotel restaurant can offer beside tasty breakfast also very nice dinner from traditional to rose steaks and very nice spicy fish files ( i like it). I was in many cities in Europe and I can say that for money you spend here you get more!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Positives: The location on the Buda side of the Danube is a 15-20 minute walk from the Citadel, Buda Castle, and the walking area just over the bridge in Pest. But if you don't feel like walking the bus stops right in front of the hotel.
The en suite rooms are spotless, spacious, warm even in January, and include a teeny kitchenette. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Negatives: Trying to think of something... the bed was a bit too soft for us.

Personal Note: We were in Budapest for my birthday. For my birthday the hotel gifted me with a bottle of wine. They were also in cahoots with my husband for my birthday surprise- having my father join us on the trip! (I'd been trying to get him to travel with us for ages. The last time he was in Europe it was the '70s...)
For New Year a bottle of champagne was provided to each room.
Finally, we had difficulties with our bags and the staff were invaluable in helping us sort things out.

Room Tip: The restaurant is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#59 of 333 in Budapest
579 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#127 of 333 in Budapest
666 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 333 in Budapest
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#108 of 333 in Budapest
335 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#66 of 333 in Budapest
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Property: Hotel Charles
Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing