We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and warm”
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #46 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Arad, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice and warm”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Close to all visiting place. People there are very friendly, knowing more than 1-2 languages ( that helps in eastern europe ) , parking is cheap and secure.
The rooms are very clean and very big. It will be nice if on queen beds they will put one big covert and not two, but it was ok.
I definitely recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan_Branc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    236
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
94
270
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My favorite hotel in Budapest for more than ten years. Personal service, huge rooms, best breakfast and great restaurant. Perfect for holiday or business. if you visit once, you will to come back... this place is like a family!

My favorite hotel in Budapest for more than ten years. Personal service, huge rooms, best breakfast and great restaurant. Perfect for holiday or business. if you visit once, you will to come back... this place is like a family!

Room Tip: ask for the quite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff is very helpfull and there are no problems with communication in English (especially in comparison with staff in spa), the hotel is located not far from center (bus 8, 112 and 178). Hotel Charles offers deluxe studio if the standard is full for standard studio price.
We hate winter and cold. So we very appreciated warm room in hotel Charles (heating was pre-turned-on, bathroom was always dry, warm and very clean), and also thermal spa Rudas and Széchenyi. Anytime we wanted to visit some place, there was good public transport connection from the Hotel (for example climbing wall Spider - we recommend). Nice prices for pleasant accommodation not far from city center and sight-seeing. Good choice. We booked this hotel via http://www.budapesthotelstart.com/.

Room Tip: We had room II/30, it was quiet (windows located in the inner yard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinacteho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

During our two week trip thru Europe, the Hotel Charles was one of the highlights. The staff bent over backwards for us. They were helpful and friendly, no matter which person helped us. The location is great; the bus stop is right outside the door and easily takes out to the main part of town. The breakfast was good, but we had dinner at the adjoining restaurant and it was awesome. Amazing deserts. Great service and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a friend & we only booked it for 3 days at first, but we returned 3 times, after trying other Hotels and TWO 2 day trips elsewhere in HUNGARY. My first impression of our room #12 was not the best as we entered. Although it was big, it looked dated, especially the TV and beds, which is very important to me as I have a bad back. To my surprise, after I've slept in them, the beds were small but actually comfortable.The service was truly exceptional. They greet you with cheerful voices every time the staff sees you & jump at the chance to help in any way they can. The attached restaurant "Janos's" serves some of the best meals in town. Prices are mid-range. The breakfast buffets are extensive and you can go from 7-10 AM to load up, no limits. But it is extra, as is parking in the backyard. The area is safe. Ask for a room facing the yard. If you want to feel like you're at home or have a worry free place to stay at, than this is it. They're helpful and will definitely make you feel like you are on a great vacation.

  • Liked — The friendliness, price & attention. The restaurant (Goose Liver) is out of this world.
  • Disliked — Room #11 only has a shower.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The owners and staff are very friendly and informative and nicely tourist protective. My room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was very good. Don't underestimate the restaurant. Very good food. The lication was good with short mass transit to downtown.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent location, bus route at doorstep, walking distance to Castle and Elizabeth Bridge. Very helpful and attentive staff, excellent breakfast. Rooms we're clean, spacious but outdated decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#66 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#132 of 334 in Budapest
670 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 334 in Budapest
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#23 of 334 in Budapest
1,301 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 334 in Budapest
950 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#38 of 334 in Budapest
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Property: Hotel Charles
Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing