We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #46 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good location in Buda, walk away from Vaci street across the bridge.
Staff is very pleasant and helpfull.
Downside - pictures are from the renovated part of the hotel, my room looked like you've entered a time machine and went back to 1980s. And there was also a specific smell when you enter a room, like humidity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljubica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 647 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break, staying at Hotel Charles. Firstly I would like to say thank-you to the wonderful waiting staff and the fabulous restaurant. The food is sublime and of a high standard. The breakfast was sufficient and satisfying. The rooms are clean and presentable, and tended to daily. However there is a pungent smell to the room of tobacco. We did request a non-smoking room and was allocated a deluxe room but alas it was still an issue. The hotel is slightly dated and in need of some modernisation. The only negative experiences we had during our stay was being woken up by hammering at our door & extremely loud voices at 06.00 am by two ladies of the night, obviously looking for their customer. Sadly it was not my husband's lucky night! Should the concierge allow this service maybe they would like to escort them to the appropriate room rather than run the risk of disturbing other guests, considering some are elderly. Overall good value, enjoyable stay and would consider staying here again.

Top Tips - Do your research on the public transport, easy to use and reasonably priced.
Carry cash, many places do not accept card transactions
Visit the micro museum (main square) in Szentendre, amazing!
Ignore bad experiences about the Baths, easy to use, very enjoyable
Ensure you eat out, the restaurants in Hungary are fantastic

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room Request a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidecarracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs O, General Manager at Hotel Charles, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! Your admission feels really good! We try our best to achieve the compliments! I hope next time you'll have more luck with strayed guests! We've checked it out by inspecting the camera recording.

See you soon again,

Sincerely

Balazs Ovari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we been there 2 night, the room is big and clean Although the furniture are old. there is a kitchen and Refrigerator. the employees were greet- very helpful And patiently answered every question.
the location was good- we park the car and travel by buses/metro. we truly recommend at that hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netta824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved this hotel. Rooms are pretty big and clean. It's situated in Buda just in front of a bus stop that takes you in 5 to 7 minutes to Pest's center. I had dinner there once and the food was absolutely delicious. There's free wifi in the entire hotel also. But the best thing about the hotel was their employees, they're super nice and helpful the entire time, I was really impressed with the service they give. On my last day, I was wearing a football jersey and the guy at the lobby noticed it, so he recommended me to assist to the Ferenc Puskas stadium to watch the Hungary-Netherlands game. He gave me all the info needed (where to get tickets, directions, etc.) and I had a great time. If you're planning to go to Budapest, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

When making the reservation we requested a double room for two must be NON smoking as we have asthma . We were allocated a smoking room, which at first staff denied was a smoking room but later agreed it was smoking, saying someone had made a mistake with the allocation. Also we were unable to close the bedroom door as it could not go past the beds which could not be moved. The carpets were old and dirty. We asked for a change and were told the hotel was full. When checking the website it was showing available rooms but this was denied by staff.
It is the worst hotel room we have stayed in and it slightly marred our stay in this beautiful city. Photographs on website bookings,com were very misleading.
On checking, out the staff apologised profusely saying next time they would give us the best room, we will not however be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. There is a bus stop just infront of the Hotel. Bus # 112 and 8 can be taken from stop 'Avar Utca' infront of Hotel towards City Center. Gellert his is a small hike from Hotel Charles. The staff were very helpful.They helped us with city info, train info. Our room had a small kitchen with kitchenette. They were very clean. Fridge was preloaded with soft and hot drinks(charged)

Room we got was on the railway track side(guess it is west) Throughout the noon, sun is facing this side and in the eve you will feel the room like an oven. Initially we did not draw the sun screens, hence room was too hot in the evening. Also, at night if you let the window open, you might get disturbed with the vehicle sound.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've stayed twice at Charles and i really appreciate the kindness of the staff, the hotel services and the very good restaurant (even if not so cheap). There are spacious rooms and if you're travelling by car, you can park it for free on the streets behind the hotel. Good WIFI in the room, 20 minutes walk from downtown, but there is also a bus who helps you to mount the Buda hill to the hotel. The only bad matter is the noise from the street, this is really the only and big problem of this good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the windows to Hegyalja utca, they are very, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CristianBordei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs O, General Manager at Hotel Charles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! It feels good that you have chosen our Hotel already twice!

For our future guests who need a more silent room I advise to mention this need upon booking or latest at arrival. Since we do have many quiet rooms as well, we'll try to fulfill all the needs!

Hope to see you again soon, the third time!

Sincerelly,

Balazs Ovari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 335 in Budapest
612 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 335 in Budapest
1,009 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 335 in Budapest
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#60 of 335 in Budapest
1,580 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#133 of 335 in Budapest
695 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#48 of 335 in Budapest
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $41 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing