We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too far from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lido Hotel Budapest
Ranked #261 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Too far from the city”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night only as we needed a place to stay before our flight back to Helsinki. When we arrived we were told the restaurant in the hotel was closed but the staff told us there were restaurants by the river Danube just a short walk away. None of these restaurants accept credit cards and there is no cashpoint nearby. In fact we had to take a taxi to get to the cashpoint.
The room was large however very outdated decor, the hotel needs a major refurbishment. Also the soundproofing was very poor and we could hear all the noises coming in from the corridor or other rooms.
The staff in the hotel reception were friendly and helpful. I found the breakfast very poor. I do not eat pork at all so there was only dry toast for me to eat, not even a piece of cheese. I guess we arrived too late and all the breakfast had been eaten by then.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
6
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
halifax england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

got there and had to wait ages for staff.Hotel empty apart from us. room poor and shower had mould in it and shower doors fell off when trying to close.Breakfast was stewed kidneys and semolina which smelled awful .Not handy for the city and we had to pay 16 euros each way to get there.Hotel was in poor condition and we thought it was derelict when arriving.Bar was closed and there was no other facilities .tv did not work in room.We were only ones in restaurant and were given a dried up piece of chicken and tasteless rice only for evening meal which we left and had to go out for decent food.locally everywhere closed at 9pm and hotel staff were seen to be kissing and cuddling on the settee in the hotel lobby. Not what we expect.
Would we go again NEVER. Awful Dont even think of going

Room Tip: hotel falling in bits worst best western hotel ever dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffb2146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have stayed there at the end of september 2011 and were disappointed by the quality of the hotel. On the website we saw nice pictures and had a great price on ebookers.com. After arrival we found that the hotel is only 3 star, they only have wifi in the lobby (it is free though), there are only 2 TV channels and that the hotel has not been renovated at all for ages, and is in a very poor condition!
However the reception staff was making every effort to please us, as we did not like our room we were shown more other rooms and we picked a nicer one on the3rd floor. The location of the hotel was suitable for us, close to Romaipart where the food stalls were still open and offered lovely fried fish, langos, pencakes, and there is also a bus stop closeby to get into the city centre.
We had breakfast included and have to stay that it was pretty good, more than we expected, had a wide range of bread, pastries, cold cuts, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc. Also found 'lecso' on the buffet which is a typical Hungarian dish made from paprika, tomatoes and onion. The breakfast staff were also nice and helpful.
So overall our stay was ok, but would stay somewhere else next time, seems like the hotel's management does not really care or have the opportunity to renovate the building, but the staff was very nice and the food was good as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judit115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozsony
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I visited this hotel with my friends during the Sziget Festival. It's very close to the island and we decide not to sleep in tents so we choosed Lido Hotel to take a nap after the concerts. We come to see Prince and Dizzie Rascal. Anyway, the hotel was cheap and clean and that was all we need after when we come back from there, in the morning. Next year if we visit hungary again for that occasion we definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stay away from the Lido Hotel. This is not a good hotel at all. The room was smelly due to an exposed sewage pipeline beneeth a drain in the bathroom (we had to cover the drain eith a towel to be able to sleep at night). The handle in the bathroom door came off for no reason. You couldn't open the windows properly. The beds were just too short. The room was dark with insufficiant lighting. The breakfast buffet was sickening with flies walking all over the food (which was dry bread with cheap jam). The neighbourhood was ok at best, not very attractive scenery. All in all not worth spending a lot of time here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norway85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faaborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

There are no internet, no swimmingpool, no spa, no resturant, no kabelTv, no bar, np wellness at all... DONT stay there

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaaborgPskPsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

DIrty,with a lot of material everywhere. They have not done anything with this place in years. It is like a home for ghosts. They promised internetaccess in the room but there was none. They promised swimmingpool but there was none. They promised bowling but there was none.
The staff could not speak english. The place is really terrible - I would not even let my dogs sleep there.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bujum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#187 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Hotel Budapest

Property: Lido Hotel Budapest
Address: Nanasi ut 67, Budapest 1031, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Hotel Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from Danube's riverbank Lido Hotel Budapest is situated in Buda the green part of the city. The hotel offers you an intimate atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, FREE public Wi-Fi and car parking and all non-smoking rooms at reasonable prices. The restaurant at the Lido serves light international cuisine and traditional Hungarian dishes. During the warmer months you are welcome to dine and relax with your favourite drink on the cosy terrace. The neighbouring bowling club and tennis court are great places to unwind. Downtown Budapest can easily be reached by public transportation from Hotel Lido. There are two bus stops (bus No. 34 and 106) nearby. Scheduled boat service between Hotel Lido and downtown Budapest is available from Spring to Autumn. M0 highway is just 5 minute drive away from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lido Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Wellness Center
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing