We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lido Hotel Budapest
Ranked #257 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stay away from the Lido Hotel. This is not a good hotel at all. The room was smelly due to an exposed sewage pipeline beneeth a drain in the bathroom (we had to cover the drain eith a towel to be able to sleep at night). The handle in the bathroom door came off for no reason. You couldn't open the windows properly. The beds were just too short. The room was dark with insufficiant lighting. The breakfast buffet was sickening with flies walking all over the food (which was dry bread with cheap jam). The neighbourhood was ok at best, not very attractive scenery. All in all not worth spending a lot of time here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norway85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

There are no internet, no swimmingpool, no spa, no resturant, no kabelTv, no bar, np wellness at all... DONT stay there

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaaborgPskPsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

DIrty,with a lot of material everywhere. They have not done anything with this place in years. It is like a home for ghosts. They promised internetaccess in the room but there was none. They promised swimmingpool but there was none. They promised bowling but there was none.
The staff could not speak english. The place is really terrible - I would not even let my dogs sleep there.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bujum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I choose this hotel, because it has free car parking. Rooms are clean and breakfast OK. Helpfull staff on reception. Finally my needs were satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubostaradost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This hotel was an absolute dive! Our room was old, dirty, stained carpet and bed sheets, ants crawling on the bed, shower head and shower door fell off, mold in the shower. They kept telling us they would move us to another room but everytime we checked with the front desk nothing was available or they didn't understand english. We were with a group of people so changing hotels was not optional. The hotel is also next to a park of some sort with music blasting all night, every night; on top of that we had to listen to all the drunks trying to find their way to their cars parked in front of the hotel. More often then not the party goers stopped to chit chat (aka yell) with other drunks. We only had breakfast at the hotel, a buffett that included all you can eat rolls & 2 small slices of meat and cheese that was on our plates when we arrived. We travelled around Europe for 17 days and I was not ready to come home to the USA until we stayed here. The only positive I found about this hotel was an archeology dig behind the hotel that I found to be fascinating. This hotel is NOT for the faint of heart!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank m5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My daughter and i stayed at the Best Western Lido March 08. Dont be fooled by the 4 star rating. If you are looking for a clean warm cheap 2 star then this one is for you, but beware of the SCRAMBLED EGGS!!!!!
The Hotel does operate a shuttle service to and from the centre although we were not made aware of this until the second day of our stay, if another guest had'nt told us about it i doubt if we would have ever been told although once found it was an excellent service just a shame the last trip back from the centre was 1800 would have been better if it was 2200 as the taxi's can be quite expensive. (This service was to me the Hotel's saving grace).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tallyho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

we stayed at the best western lido for one night. we had originally booked for 4 nights, travelling with another couple.we booked this hotel because it was cheap, and the other couple were on a tight budget. in the event, the other couple couldn't travel and so we changed our booking to one night, with the other 3 nights in a better hotel in the city. thank goodness we did . this hotel is awful. they had lost our booking upon arrival, but found us a room anyway. the room was dismal, old fashioned and scruffy, badly in need of renovation. at least it was warm and clean though. the poky bathroom had a shower which flooded all over the bathroom floor since the shower door didn't close properly. we chose to grab a quick meal in the restaurant as it was late when we arrived. the evening meal was lovely, and very cheap, but breakfast next morning was another story. the hot food was inedible, so i just had a bit of bread and jam. it was supposed to be a buffet, but there was little choice, and it all looked pretty unappetising. we left the hotel after breakfast to move to our new hotel. we used the minibus srevice provided by the hotel. it was a long way into the city, but as we were the only passengers, the driver took us right to the hotel door, which he didn't have to do, and we appreciated that. hotel lido is not in a convenient position for sight seeing budapest as it is way out of the city. hotel lido is cheap, there is nothing else positive about it.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#163 of 334 in Budapest
136 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#177 of 334 in Budapest
35 reviews
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
#184 of 334 in Budapest
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Budapest Budget Hostel
#23 of 670 in Budapest
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Hotel Budapest

Address: Nanasi ut 67, Budapest 1031, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Hotel Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from Danube's riverbank Lido Hotel Budapest is situated in Buda the green part of the city. The hotel offers you an intimate atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, FREE public Wi-Fi and car parking and all non-smoking rooms at reasonable prices. The restaurant at the Lido serves light international cuisine and traditional Hungarian dishes. During the warmer months you are welcome to dine and relax with your favourite drink on the cosy terrace. The neighbouring bowling club and tennis court are great places to unwind. Downtown Budapest can easily be reached by public transportation from Hotel Lido. There are two bus stops (bus No. 34 and 106) nearby. Scheduled boat service between Hotel Lido and downtown Budapest is available from Spring to Autumn. M0 highway is just 5 minute drive away from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lido Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Wellness Center
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing