We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Arena
Ranked #127 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Sætre
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has a perfect locatino to the Papp Laszlo Arena. The Metro station is near bay. And the staff was verry helpfull at all times. The hotell was also very clean. They have a Spa, svimmingpool and a exersising room.

Room Tip: Good service but boring breakfast. Then staff was verry helpful. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anettemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank for choosing our hotel and we hope you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
We do appreciate your nice words about the good services, cleanlieness of the hotel and
helpful staff. We will revisit our standards to provide better choise for breakfast.

Once again, we thank you for kind comments and we hope to have opportunity to welcome you back at the Danubius Hotel Arena.

Best regards

Balogh András
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    377
    249
    69
    60
See reviews for
171
242
74
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is 15min away from the center of Budapest by car but close to an underground station. Internet connection is free only in public spaces, unless you have to pay. Service is good. The rooms were okay, but not the best. Anyway i loved Bupadest!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarieK_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards

András Balogh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We managed to get tickets for a gig at the Budapest Arena - this hotel couldn't be much closer! Its also a very quick trip into the city by the Metro which is just outside. It was very clean, and as usual the reception put us to shame by speaking good English. All the staff were very helpful. The hotel is very clean - including the lovely (but small) pool and the beds were really comfy.They provide free coffee and pastries about 10.00 free gratis which was a lovely touch- I wouldn't necessarily recommend the breakfast -its a bit dull.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards


András Balogh
Front Office Manager & Quality Ambassador
Danubius Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

So, let’s start with the most important: if you go to the concert or some other event in Laszlo Papp Arena don’t look further as this hotel is perfect option. Literally 5 minutes easy walk from the Arena, and afterward less than 10 minutes’ drive by taxi to the city centre, for example Vaci Utca (also, Metro station is near very near). Then, rooms are decent (a bit small and “used”, but this is not kind of hotel where you suppose to enjoy internal designing), staff is more than helpful, everything looks tide and clean.
Now, problems: even hotel stated that parking is available and free, this is not quite right. Parking in front of the hotel is very, very small in comparison with size of the hotel and there is quite big chance that it will be full and then you have to go in nearby garage that you must – of course – pay. So, keep this in mind if you come by car. Also, internet connection is free only in “public spaces”. So, if you want to work of “surf” from the room be prepared to pay for it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with our facelities and the politeness of our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future at our Danubius Hotel Arena.

Best regards

Balogh András
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is very big and we had twin room on the 5th floor viewing chapel and busy road. The room was fine with all necessary things, hairdryer and small fridge including.
We stayed there 2 nights. The hotel is positioned as 4 Star hotel but it left mixed feelings. I liked pool there, rather small but there were not too many people there.
I had good breakfast in the morning. The dining room is big but there was room for everyone, waiters managed to clean the table very quickly and the overall atmosphere was pleasant.
There was food for everyone : you could chose heavy breakfast with sausages, fried potato and spicy snacks or light version with cottage cheese , yogurt and fruits. I liked fruit salad with sour cream.
The personnel is attentive and not obtrusive.
Nevertheless I 'm not satisfied with the hotel. I didn't like my bed, the pillow was not small, it was tiny and there was also oilcloth under the bed-sheet and I had feeling that I'm sleeping in the crib.
I understand that in such a way hotel management protects mattress from being spoiled but I can see such protection for the first time and rustling noise from the oilcloth was disgusting. In short I had terrible night especially taking into account noise from the street and yelling siren all night from ambulance passing by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your opinion about your stay at the Danubius Hotel Arena.
We are pleased that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your valuable comments regarding the bedding.
We are going to revisit our standards in order to provide better and more comfortable accomodation.

We thank you once more for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

András Balogh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location is not suitable for walking around. The metro is a must, and is laying close to the hotel. The reception people should take a course in handling customers. This is a big hotel, and there will always be customers who are scammers, but I do not like to be treated as a criminal guest, and that is near the truth. When they wake you in the morning asking how may people there are in the room....
The ceaning is terrible. Finger marks on windows and doors, and dust on the floor.
The breakfast is a hasty business. You have to hold on your plate and food. If you are coming half an hour after seven, there will be lots of things missing.
This is the 4. trip to Budapest, and there will be many more, but I will not be using hotel Arena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Århus Danmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel in July-August of this year. The personnel is very helpful. Check-in took under 5 minutes. I have, on several occasions, seen bus load of tourists arrive and everybody on their way to the elevators with their room keycards in a jiffy. That's admirable efficiency!

The location is not ideal i.e. not in the city's center, however, the Metro station (Puskás Ferenc Stadion) is just behind the hotel. It takes less than 15 minutes to get to known attractions located near say, Blaha Lujza tér or Astoria stations. Trains arrive in 2-5 minutes interval. The Arena plaza mall which houses restaurants and wide variety of shops, is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We stayed in a three person room (109) but I believe it is a stretch to call it that. If I am not mistaken it is similar to the two person room plus additional bed. There is nothing to complain about though, as we only paid around EUR465 in our 7 nights of stay.

Why hotels, like this one, insist on charging for WI-Fi internet access from guest rooms remains a conundrum to me. Nowadays, it is similar to charging for use of the television.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMT_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards


András Balogh
Front Office Manager & Quality Ambassador
Danubius Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Green Hotel
#238 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#145 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Arena

Property: Danubius Hotel Arena
Address: Ifjusag utja 1-3, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On-site conferences, professional exhibitions and concerts just a stone’s throw from the city centre! Thanks to its facilities and location, the Danubius Hotel Arena – previously known as Hotel Stadion – is one of Budapest’s most popular conference and event venues. The conference hotel stands near the Papp László Budapest Sports Arena, the Puskás Ferenc Stadium and the SYMA Event Centre, and is just 3km from the HUNGEXPO international fair centre and 5km from the Tüskecsarnok ice hall. With its modern décor and flexible space, it is suitable for hosting even the most prestigious professional events. But life is not all work and no play! If you’d like to go for a walk in the city centre, the metro station is just a few steps away. Perhaps you’d prefer a massage? The Danubius Hotel Arena is not only a superb events venue but also a wellness hotel, and offers guests a range of sporting and wellness options to enjoy after work or sightseeing. And since the hotel is popular amongst Hungarian Olympic athletes, you might even bump into a famous sportsman or two… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing