We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not the best in Budapest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Arena
Ranked #113 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not the best in Budapest!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is very big and we had twin room on the 5th floor viewing chapel and busy road. The room was fine with all necessary things, hairdryer and small fridge including.
We stayed there 2 nights. The hotel is positioned as 4 Star hotel but it left mixed feelings. I liked pool there, rather small but there were not too many people there.
I had good breakfast in the morning. The dining room is big but there was room for everyone, waiters managed to clean the table very quickly and the overall atmosphere was pleasant.
There was food for everyone : you could chose heavy breakfast with sausages, fried potato and spicy snacks or light version with cottage cheese , yogurt and fruits. I liked fruit salad with sour cream.
The personnel is attentive and not obtrusive.
Nevertheless I 'm not satisfied with the hotel. I didn't like my bed, the pillow was not small, it was tiny and there was also oilcloth under the bed-sheet and I had feeling that I'm sleeping in the crib.
I understand that in such a way hotel management protects mattress from being spoiled but I can see such protection for the first time and rustling noise from the oilcloth was disgusting. In short I had terrible night especially taking into account noise from the street and yelling siren all night from ambulance passing by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your opinion about your stay at the Danubius Hotel Arena.
We are pleased that generally you had a good experience and we thank you for your valuable comments regarding the bedding.
We are going to revisit our standards in order to provide better and more comfortable accomodation.

We thank you once more for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

András Balogh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    486
    309
    85
    69
See reviews for
210
299
110
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location is not suitable for walking around. The metro is a must, and is laying close to the hotel. The reception people should take a course in handling customers. This is a big hotel, and there will always be customers who are scammers, but I do not like to be treated as a criminal guest, and that is near the truth. When they wake you in the morning asking how may people there are in the room....
The ceaning is terrible. Finger marks on windows and doors, and dust on the floor.
The breakfast is a hasty business. You have to hold on your plate and food. If you are coming half an hour after seven, there will be lots of things missing.
This is the 4. trip to Budapest, and there will be many more, but I will not be using hotel Arena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Århus Danmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel in July-August of this year. The personnel is very helpful. Check-in took under 5 minutes. I have, on several occasions, seen bus load of tourists arrive and everybody on their way to the elevators with their room keycards in a jiffy. That's admirable efficiency!

The location is not ideal i.e. not in the city's center, however, the Metro station (Puskás Ferenc Stadion) is just behind the hotel. It takes less than 15 minutes to get to known attractions located near say, Blaha Lujza tér or Astoria stations. Trains arrive in 2-5 minutes interval. The Arena plaza mall which houses restaurants and wide variety of shops, is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We stayed in a three person room (109) but I believe it is a stretch to call it that. If I am not mistaken it is similar to the two person room plus additional bed. There is nothing to complain about though, as we only paid around EUR465 in our 7 nights of stay.

Why hotels, like this one, insist on charging for WI-Fi internet access from guest rooms remains a conundrum to me. Nowadays, it is similar to charging for use of the television.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMT_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards


András Balogh
Front Office Manager & Quality Ambassador
Danubius Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte di Piave, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel Danubius Arena is very well located if you want to see the City centre, as long as the underground (just round the corner, 1 minute walking) is working...
Very kind personnel, good restaurant, unfortunately I did not try the fitness centre nor the swimming pool. I would suggest to extend the free wifi to the rooms.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards


András Balogh

Front Office Manager & Quality Ambassador
Danubius Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was near the dental clinic where I was undergoing treatment. Overall, the hotel was fine: room large, quiet and comfortable; staff pleasant and helpful; atmosphere easy-going; location ideal for access to the extensive city transport network. Though the area itself, it has to be said, is somewhat jaded and run-down. This I knew, however, from previous postings on Trip Advisor. I did not take a full breakfast, rather croissants, danish and coffee, provided as part of the deal. Nor did I get a chance to use the on-site spa facilities.The most annoying aspect for me was that there was no free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby area which was often full of groups of package tour coach guests. Yet, I cannot complain for what I paid. On the contrary, it represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards

Balogh András
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is a little way out from the centre of the city but still very easy to get to by using the Metro which is less than 100 yards away. The staff were very polite and helpful, the reception staff spoke good English. The rooms were a reasonable size and the bed was very comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was nice and powerful. It was a pity there were no chairs or a table on the balcony but it was so hot when we were there we couldn't have sat outside on it anyway! Having a swimming pool made all the difference for us. We experienced a heatwave when we stayed (3rd to 7th July 2012) with temperatures hitting over 40 degs so being able to cool off and have a relaxing swim after a busy day sightseeing was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Ms.Kim,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Danubius Hotel Arena .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our comfortable hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you in the future.

Best regards

András Balogh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was beside the arena. the first night i checked in i went to draw a bath and when i returned the tub was full of brown water. it was disgusting and disappointing as i had not had a hotel room with a bathtub in so long. The decor is very out of date in the rooms. Theshades dont completely draw shut so it gets quite light early this time of year. the street outside is quite noisy because it is next to the metro. That is a plus for this hotel. in about 10 minutes you can be downtown for the equivalant of 1 USD. the other plus was the arena mall is a 10 minute walk. there is a full size grocery, 2 cell phone shops, and a starbucks. i would reccommend Leroy's restaurant for dinner. The food at the hotel left me looking for other options and i was glad the mall was close by. The wine served at the bar also not the best. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive which was nice. I had my room cleaned only once because it wasnt done well and my dirty towels were taken away but no clean ones left. The room it's self was large which is rare, but it was so depressing i found myself always trying to be somewhere else. the wifi was expensive. Overall, it was just disappointing. i would not stay here again if i return to Budapest.

Room Tip: some rooms have balconies, which might be a nice breath of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expresso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrasBalogh, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Arena, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in the TripAdvisor website. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had to encounter.

Please be assured that we have already discussed all the points you raised with our releavant head of departments, and as a result, they have taken the necessary steps to make sure that unfortunate experiences will not be repeated in the future.
Concerning the brown water, there was a fatal technical failure in our surroundings, because a waterpipe broke and it caused that unsusual quality of the water.

Once again, we are sorry for the annoyance this has caused you and are most appreciative of your understanding in this matter.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our Danubius Hotel Arena in the near future.

Best regards

András Balogh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#132 of 334 in Budapest
1,748 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 334 in Budapest
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Budapest
#157 of 334 in Budapest
825 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 334 in Budapest
1,942 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#123 of 334 in Budapest
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Arena

Property: Danubius Hotel Arena
Address: Ifjusag utja 1-3, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On-site conferences, professional exhibitions and concerts just a stone’s throw from the city centre! Thanks to its facilities and location, the Danubius Hotel Arena – previously known as Hotel Stadion – is one of Budapest’s most popular conference and event venues. The conference hotel stands near the Papp László Budapest Sports Arena, the Puskás Ferenc Stadium and the SYMA Event Centre, and is just 3km from the HUNGEXPO international fair centre and 5km from the Tüskecsarnok ice hall. With its modern décor and flexible space, it is suitable for hosting even the most prestigious professional events. But life is not all work and no play! If you’d like to go for a walk in the city centre, the metro station is just a few steps away. Perhaps you’d prefer a massage? The Danubius Hotel Arena is not only a superb events venue but also a wellness hotel, and offers guests a range of sporting and wellness options to enjoy after work or sightseeing. And since the hotel is popular amongst Hungarian Olympic athletes, you might even bump into a famous sportsman or two… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadion Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing