We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise lets it down”
Review of Baross City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baross City Hotel
Ranked #125 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Large room - good standard of furnishing, but the oddest pair of pillows. 1 cushion-sized and the other was incredibly lumpy.

Bathroom - spacious and a powerful in-bath shower - but he shower curtain needs replacing (brown with age at the bottom) and the tiles at the back of the shower are discolouring because they need de-limescaling.

Breakfast - nice and good hours (7am-11am).

Noise. You could hear EVERY noise in the adjacent room (and no doubt vice versa) so had the tv on to drown it out, but would have preferred not to have to. Walls are paper thin.

Take a travel kettle if you want hot drinks in your room - but don't ask the surly staff for milk.We did on arriving at 10.00pm but were told they had none. This member of staff would only have had to walk 10 feet into the kitchenette attached to the breakfast room and look in the fridge there. I'm guessing that this member of staff wouldn't be working through the night with no coffee and that milk was already in situ ready for breakfast.

For all that - had a pleasant stay.

Would't return owing to the noise issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear 441SharonC,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding the shower curtains and pillows have been noted and passed on to the Houskeeping Manager. We much regret any inconvenience caused by the receptionist and appreciate your candid feedback, as it helps us to improve the level of our guest service.
It is pleasing to know that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Thank very much for choosing to stay with us and we remain at your service.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Baross City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 546 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel was near Keleti train station, which has metro 2 station next to it. Buses outside the hotel also head into town, so although it may seem bit further out, once we got our bearings it wasn't too bad and prob could of walked into the main attractions in 30 mins. So if your happy to use public transport it is ok, if not you may want to be a bit nearer, although the distance was not a problem really, even when there was engineering works on the metro, the buses stopping outside the hotel got us into town just a quick.
The courtyard is pretty and overall I was pleased with the room, quite small, but this was the standard room. It was clean, warm and had a nice shower and cleaned everyday.
The breakfast was in my opinion good, a buffet style breakfast with selection of cheeses, croissants, cereal, scrambled egg and sausage (hot dog) or tomato dish, fruit juice machine and coffee and plain/flavoured yoghurt. As we also had an early flight the staff kindly made us some cheese / german sausage rolls and couple cartons of juice.
I think this is a good hotel, the area may look a little run down, but once the works are finished it will be ok, There is a tourist information in Keleti train station and overall I thought it was good value and better than I expected for the price.
Some of the staff could be a little friendlier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pow12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Pow12013,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Baross City Hotel. As you say the hotel has perfect location: cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, and major tourist attractions are reachable within walking distance or by public trasportation.
We are delighted that hotel services and amenities have been up to your expectation.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again sometime.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived late at night to meet the rudest night porter ever, who ranted at us in Hungarian for 5 minutes before letting us into the hotel..
The room was small but clean but the shower was the best I ever did have...
Breakfast was great, all you can eat buffet, I find it hard to see how you can complain about the food..

Upon leaving we met the night receptionist.. Another very rude bad tempered man.
He shouted at us, was abrupt, and unfortunately will be my lasting impression of what is generally a nice hotel..
The middle courtyard is real nice..
The views outside are not the fault of the hotel and when the metro is done it will be in prime location..
Although even now it is just two bus stops away from the main bar streets..
All in all I would return but hope they sacked the more moody members of staff..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paultheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Paultheboat,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your latest stay with us.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for any underperformance from our reception. The night receptionist in question already left the hotel, from now on a dedicated reception team provides exceptional and personalised service to our valuable guests.
Concerning the behaviour of the security guard, hotel management has already contacted the security company to let such incidents not happen again.
We do hope, that metro line M4 construction and surface reinstatement works will come to an end soon, and our hotel will have not only prime location, but also fantastic urban view from the rooms at the front.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Baross City Hotel*** in the future.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Although not really a 3* hotel, it is more than decent and the prices are very good. It is very close to the East (Keleti) Railway Station, in an old building in Baross Ter (Square). The hotel entrance is rather small, and the reception is on the fifth floor, which is not really common for a hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean and the only thing that interrupted a good sleep was some noise at 6:30 am, probably from cleaning another room. The buffet breakfast was good. Check-in time is 14, check-out time is 11 - not flexible unless you pay an extra charge. Overall, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Alex B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.
We are happy to read that you had a great stay, and you experienced the hotel nice, and prices fair. On the other part we are sorry to read your comments on check out, but we should say that this late check out policy is common among hotels. Nevertheless all guests are still welcome to use all of the facilities (lobby, internet corner) and luggage room until ready to depart.
We are glad that all of the hotel services and mainly the staff contributed to your overall positive experience and convinced you to return again soon.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tee Title of this review says it all. You could walk by it many times and not notice it as the entrance is a small doorway set into a row of shops and Bars. Go through the dooray and you find a dark corridor with a small wooden box in which sits a man who looked to me just like a Priest in a Confessional Box!! You are directed along the Corridor to a Lift and go to the Fifth Floor where you will find the Reception.

Allthough somewhat dated this somehow seems to add to the quirkinaess of the Hotel, which for a short break is adequate and reasonably comfortable. It certainly is very good value for money. Not in the best of locations as the area seemed to be fairly run down with a few rough sleepers in the streets surrounding it which may put off some of the more nervous travellers.

Not much in the way of good restaurants close by but plenty of fast food i.e McD's Burger King and KFC all very close. Takes about thirty mins to walk to the downtown area.

I booked a minibus pick up from the Airport through the Hotel for 5000 Huf but it failed to show up and I ended having to get a regular Taxi from the Airport Rank at a cost of 9000 Huf. Not good and there was no apology made by the Hotel for the no show.

My advice would e if your budget can take it to spend a bit more and get somewhere a bit more modern and closer to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Lots of major building works going on outside the railway Station which is right opposite the Hotel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Alan P,

Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback.
We would like to assure you we take a lot of care and attention for the safety and security of our guests, that is why the hotel has 24 hour available security service, and security guard at the front entrance to keep intruders away.
We would like to subsequently apologize for the minibus no-show at prearranged time owing to unexperienced mechanical problem.
We are sorry to hear that you found the hotel area fairly run down, but as you mention lots of major building works are going on under urban rehabilitation and development project, so we do hope, hotel surroundings will be renewed soon.
It is worth seeing the fascinating hotel location next spring, thus we hope you get a chance to come back to Budapest.

With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I arrived without a reservation having just got off the third world sleeper from Romania, it was the first hotel I saw on leaving Keleti station, though I had seen on the internet previously. I was therefore very happy to get in.
I had a 3 bedded room at the front of the hotel. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, ensuite, TV. Nice furnishings, table, reasonably priced mini bar. Free wifi that worked well.
The hotel is set above some ground floor shops/bars, so you go upstairs to the hotel reception and down again some stairs. I should say being at the front of the hotel was a bit noisey, so you may want to ask about room location if you stay here. The other problem was that my room was directly under the breakfast room so was woken at 6.30am with foot steps, chairs pulled out etc. I agree the walls must be quite thin here as I could here my neighbours watching TV and talking, annoyingly very late.
The breakfast is varied and quite nice. The reception staff, though not breathtakingly friendly, were professional - they organised an airport transfer for me with a company for a very resonable price. I got some laundry done through a company the hotel do business with - laundry back the next day - it was itemised and quite expensive however.
The price I was charged for the accommodation (including breakfast) was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Tzetchy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room amenities and furnishings and found our hotel very good value for money. We strive to ensure that each and every guest has the best possible stay, and we are sorry that hotel neighbours’ noise and preparation of breakfast kept you awake such early in the morning.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a holiday when travelling to Budapest. I picked this hotel mainly for a price and location - good value and literally right outside the international train station and metro. In terms of location it was perfect for us- it got bus stops and metro right outside so very easy to get to the main town- I'd estimate you could walk it as well it you wanted to. There is a Spar and little 24/7 shop on the same street for picking up little bits as well as a Macdonalds, Burger King and other restaurants. The hotel itself occupies floors five and six of an old apartment block and the building has character. (One word of caution- there is a lift to the reception on the fifth floor but then I think there is only stairs to get to the rooms). The room size was good with safe and tv and a very nice powerful shower in the bathroom- clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good- general continental and a couple of hot options (eggs and hot dog sausages). The staff were very friendly and helpful- they gave us advice, tickets for attractions and organised a airport transfer for us. To be honest the main thing that let this hotel down for us was the noise- a fourth metro line is being built currently and this means a lot of noise outside. Also we found we could hear a lot of noise from the guests next to us- we arrived very late on a Friday eve and were hoping for a bit of a lie in the next morning but got woken quite early by the noise in the hotel and had similar problems going to sleep in the evening- unfortunately it seems the walls are a bit thin. Having said that it didn't bother us too much as after a long day sightseeing we were tired enough to fall asleep without too much difficulty but wanted to mention it for the benefit of other travellers as it maybe more of an issue when it is busier. I would stay here again though due to the helpfulness of the staff and the good location and price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Jennifer I,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are glad to hear you were happy with our location and facilities. We are indeed very lucky to be in close proximity to the internatinonal train station and we receive a lot of compliments from guests who are travelling by train.
We always try, when availability allows us to book the rooms away from street noise and metro construction and we do apologise that we failed to provide a quiet stay on this occasion.
We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
350 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#243 of 333 in Budapest
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 333 in Budapest
492 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 333 in Budapest
1,974 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Elit
Hotel Elit
#143 of 333 in Budapest
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baross City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baross City Hotel

Address: Baross ter 15, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $50 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baross City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baross City Hotel is located next to the Keleti International Railway Station and offers comfortable, cosy rooms for tourists visiting Budapest. The hotel's 52 stylish rooms with delicate natural colours designed for both individual and business travellers. Due to its central location, major tourist attractions are easily reachable by high frequency public transport. The 3-star family friendly Baross City Hotel ensures peaceful relaxation in its spacious, bright rooms facing to the beautiful inner courtyard or the historic building of the Keleti Railway Station. Long stay travellers also can take advantage of fully furnished 2 bedroom apartments while enjoying various hotel services. If you are looking for an ideal place for city break, book our amazing deals, and make the most out of your Budapest trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baross City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baross Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing