We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, good location”
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #136 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is located next to Elisabeth Bridge and close to major shoppingspots and metrostation is next to the hotel. Good location
The rooms are ok, but it is very thin walls, which means that you can hear all your neighbours. At this moment there is also a lot of constructionswork just oustide the hotel, and they start working at 07:00, even on saturdays making it almost impossible to sleep.

The breakefastroom is beautiful and classy, the breakfast is simple, but good enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest 'DSK4',

Thank you for your choosing City Hotel Mátyás for your stay in Budapest and also for highlighting your positive opinion about the location of the hotel as well as the speciality of the breakfast room in Mátyás Cellar Restaurant.

We would like to ask all our guests to inform the front desk if they consider that the neighbours are too noisy - especially at night - in order to take the necessary steps to ensure our guest’s peace.

Hotel Management – however has no influence on the working process – does everything for the uninterrupted run of the hotel. Thanks to the unique formation of the hotel, according to our possibilities, we provide a room from which the periodic noise from our guests’ side cannot, or can be apprehended on the slightest way.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in City Hotel Mátyás.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Matyas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 738 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a package deal for the weekend with Easyjet and so expected it to be very cheap. The hotel location is excellent, most central attractions in walkable distance and not at all far from the metro line. The room we had was on the third floor and was spacious and clean, couldn't ask for more, staff very friendly and helpful, communal dining area for breakfast quite dated but the breakfast made up for it. All in all a very good value hotel in a great location, would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeLee883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear LeeLee883,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at the City Hotel Mátyás!
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with all of our services and with the staff!
Thank you for the recommendation as well.

Sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is ok, it takes a bit to figure out how to get there if you are traveling with public transportation ( a lot of construction works arround - streets blocked ). The room ok, well insulated - no problem with the exterior noise. Very good position, in walking distance from almost all the interesting sites.
Strange restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyneacsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The prices were reasonable, the view from the window was very nice, the porter was very helpful. But i did not find an air conditioner at all, very strange. And I do not like to write more than I have already said but as far as I can see I have to count up to 200 character minimum bla bla bla (smile)

Room Tip: With the view to the river!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was really nice, breakfast was fantastic, as well as the view from the window overlooking the river. The price was low for a room with such a view. The only thing was the noise outside because of the reconstruction works on the roads. The hotel is really worth visiting.

Agata

Room Tip: Rooms with a view onto a river are really worth booking
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear ’Agata B’,

Thank you for choosing City Hotel Mátyás and also for sharing your positive opinion.
Reconstruction workings are still in process mainly on the opposite side of the road, the wider sidewalk around the hotel has been already finished. Bigger and modern car park awaits our guest under the Elizabeth Bridge soon.

Hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A well-maintained property with an excellent restaurant on premises in an unbeatable location in the heart of Budapest. The room was clean and excellent value. As is true almost everywhere in the city there were street repairs and work on a new tram line beside the hotel, but since we were away during the day, we did not mind it. Good public transportation nearby. We hope to stay here again when next in Budapest.

Donald

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location. We were on an inner courtyard so heard no city noises.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were on a trip to Croatia and Budapest was the place to take a rest in the middle of distance from Warsaw. Right now (August 2013), many streets in Budapest are closed (second line of metro is being built) and it is extremely hard to park nearby. I spent 30 minutes looking for the space (should have been some info on the website where guests can park). The hotel is old and first impression is not good (dark hallway, very small and old lift, cigaretts on the stairs). I booked room 503 - with a view on the river (the view on the river is very nice, but in front of hotel new road is being built - so I had mixed impression - noise, trucks, workers). Generally, location is perfect, should be a litlle bit cleaner, the furnishings should be repaired or replaced - I know everything costs, but afterwards three stars would have been more deserved. The computer from lobby remembers good times of "Wolfenstein" if you know what I mean. Breakfasts were good and tasty - waiter saying "hello" in different languages - great idea! Air condition works good, wifi also - no problem with connection. As I said, first impression is not good, but the more time we spent there the better impression we had. Hotel has a great potential - only needs some money to be invested in. The price in comparison to the standard should be lower (maybe until the work near hotel is done?). For those who are staying for a short time in Budapest I can recommend that hotel - the location could not be better.

Room Tip: 503 - great view on the river, but also on the bridge (could be noisy, especially in the morning wit...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grzegorz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#131 of 332 in Budapest
528 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 332 in Budapest
2,153 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#121 of 332 in Budapest
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#75 of 332 in Budapest
868 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#120 of 332 in Budapest
200 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 332 in Budapest
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $43 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing