We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, Great location”
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #137 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A well-maintained property with an excellent restaurant on premises in an unbeatable location in the heart of Budapest. The room was clean and excellent value. As is true almost everywhere in the city there were street repairs and work on a new tram line beside the hotel, but since we were away during the day, we did not mind it. Good public transportation nearby. We hope to stay here again when next in Budapest.

Donald

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location. We were on an inner courtyard so heard no city noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 798 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were on a trip to Croatia and Budapest was the place to take a rest in the middle of distance from Warsaw. Right now (August 2013), many streets in Budapest are closed (second line of metro is being built) and it is extremely hard to park nearby. I spent 30 minutes looking for the space (should have been some info on the website where guests can park). The hotel is old and first impression is not good (dark hallway, very small and old lift, cigaretts on the stairs). I booked room 503 - with a view on the river (the view on the river is very nice, but in front of hotel new road is being built - so I had mixed impression - noise, trucks, workers). Generally, location is perfect, should be a litlle bit cleaner, the furnishings should be repaired or replaced - I know everything costs, but afterwards three stars would have been more deserved. The computer from lobby remembers good times of "Wolfenstein" if you know what I mean. Breakfasts were good and tasty - waiter saying "hello" in different languages - great idea! Air condition works good, wifi also - no problem with connection. As I said, first impression is not good, but the more time we spent there the better impression we had. Hotel has a great potential - only needs some money to be invested in. The price in comparison to the standard should be lower (maybe until the work near hotel is done?). For those who are staying for a short time in Budapest I can recommend that hotel - the location could not be better.

Room Tip: 503 - great view on the river, but also on the bridge (could be noisy, especially in the morning wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grzegorz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The building shows its age (a century), and the non-renovated (yet) section, where I stayed, has awfully bad common areas (stinking elevator, ancient electric cables on view, poor installation of movement-sensitive electric lights, sullen interior patios and iron-gridded windows). The Matyas Cave where breakfast is served is not up to the task of warming us for a day of work or hollidaying; it speaks high of a past age when it was used for merry festivities, and is able to seat a couple hundreds people. If you keep in mind that it is a 3 star hotel, it is good value for money. Piers for the Danude cruises, departure stations for the (competitive) hop-on-hop-off bus tours, dozens of restaurants, thai massages and money exchange offices within a radius of about 200 meters... The great (positive) surprise is the quality of the beds, and the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathrooms, and their maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Location was wonderful, the tram-, busstops and metro were very near.
Street renovation project front of the hotel disturbed...
Our room was very dark and too much steps for person who has bad foot.
The staff were friendly.
But anyway we slept well and breakfasts was nice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Worst Hotel I've seen in my life!
Rooms were very dirty. We booked 2 rooms with Danube view and when we got here one had no AC and in the other one the AC was not working. After a scandal and thratenings with custom care and reclamationa we got a second room with AC even we were told that the Hotel was full and they couldn't do anything for us.
The carpets and the cortins were VERY dirty and the rooms were full of mosquitos. I couldn't sleep and had one of the worst days of all my vacations abroad...
Defenetly not an 3 stars Hotel. DON'T ACCOMODATE HERE!!! The city is awsome though!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raluca Petrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Raluca Petrus,

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel.

We are very proud of the room cleanliness thanks to the housekeeping department’s efforts which is proved by numerous positive guest comments below in high contrast with your statement. Approximately 60% of our rooms equipped with air-condition. Because of the record warm in early August, we tried to provide air-conditioned rooms to all of our guests, but some Danube-view rooms are not equipped with this feature. Maintenance department check the air-condition system in all of our hotels daily during summertime. In case of any malfunction we are strive to solve the problem as soon as possible.

We are pleased that one of our most highly rated service is the sleeping quality beside the location and the cleanliness.

In 2011 our hotel has successfully passed the European Union Certified 'HotelStars' process. From then it has the right to use the 3 stars classification with the corresponding services.

Hope to have the chance to welcome you again and will leave the City Hotel Mátyás with more positive experiences.
Best regards,

Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was very well located in the centre of the city and the price was very competitive. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and also very accommodating on the day we were flying home, as they kept our luggage safe in a locked room after we checked out. They were on hand with maps, directions and additional items if we needed them and the room was kept very clean.
It is very near a lot of the main attractions, within walking distance of the main bridges.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting to explore Budapest from the heart of the city and the efficient aircon was very welcome after a day of walking in the sun.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and only had one flight of stairs to go up with our suitcases so that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sq1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights 17 &18 Jul 13. Was a tad difficult to locate due to all the ongoing roadworks, but once I found it, (via friendly construction workers), was very happy with the location. It is an old building, but that is what I was after. I was on the 3rd floor facing the main road, and had a beautiful view of the Danube and BudaVar.
The room was a decent size, with excellent hanging space and shelving for clothes. the only negative I had about the room was no air cond, and at night i had to close the window due to traffic noise, which made the room hot. Apart from that, staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I arrived three hours early, but they were happy for me to leave my suitcase so that I could start exploring, likewise, on my departure I left my suitcase until I was ready to leave Budapest.
The location is excellent and close to public transport, the vibrant Vaci Utca, the Danube, and all major tourist attractions.
I travelled alone and felt safe at all times, even returning late after an evening boat cruise.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay again when I am lucky enough to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#138 of 336 in Budapest
555 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#105 of 336 in Budapest
495 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#71 of 336 in Budapest
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#73 of 336 in Budapest
921 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#113 of 336 in Budapest
443 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 336 in Budapest
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $46 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing