We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking Stag weekend in Budapest!”
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A cracking Stag weekend in Budapest!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is situated in the centre of Budapest so in terms of location it is excellent. Just across the river is the Rudas baths, which are literally a 10-15 minute walk. There some decent local restaurants nearby as well as an English pub and MacDonalds if you are desperate (or very hungover). The manager of the hotel was excellent, very friendly and polite, quite a few of us printed out our boarding cards at reception. The room was okay but unfortunately mine was at the bottom of the stairs and right next to the front door so I was woken by lots of suitcases being banged down the stairs and then the cleaners as the cleaning cupboards were next door. So if you want a peaceful night's sleep make sure you do not get room 45! Oh, and do not hand over any money to the night porter if you arrive late!

Room Tip: Not room 45!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    321
    195
    66
    29
See reviews for
78
329
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The best thing about City Hotel Matyas is its great location. Easy access to almost everything...all with in easy walking distance.

That being said...the hotel is old and dated, some ares are run down. According to their own literature, only 40% of rooms have WiFi and air conditioning. Luckily I had WiFi in my room and didn't need the air conditioning.

I stayed in Room 157. The first impression I had when I walked in the room was the stale moldy smell. The room is spacious, but the furniture is cheap and dated. The work desk is very small and the desk chair is uncomfortable. The carpet is cheap but clean. The bathroom is in need of a rehab. Plus there is mold growing on the walls, ceiling and on the shower doors. The shower is very small. I am 6'2, 250 lbs, and if someone bigger than me was to use it they would be hitting the doors or the wall all the time. The bed is well used and you can feel the indentation in the center of the bed.

The front desk staff was not overly friendly. More direct and to the point. I asked for the location of the closest Pharmacy and Post office and was just given a hand gesture pointing somewhere out side and he said "Up the Street". But which street? There are streets all over the place. I figured I'd go and find it on my own since he didn't seem concerned about giving me exact details. After walking around for a while I found both.

My room was not made up and no fresh towels were left on my third day of my stay. Not sure why. I was out of my room 90% of the time except when I came back for 10 minutes to drop of some purchases and write two postcards. I will have to go to the front desk later on if housekeeping doesn't come, it is already 15:00.

There is construction currently going on around the hotel. On 3 sides they are digging up the street and it looks like they are laying new water pipe. This is causing a lot of loud noise from 7:30am to about 17:00pm. They are using large jackhammers to break up the street and side walks around the hotel. I know there is nothing the hotel can do about it...but if you spend anytime in the hotel during this time the noise will drive you crazy. It was so bad yesterday I had to leave the hotel to save my sanity. I went to a local pub and have a few cold Soproni (local beers) and relaxed until abut 18:00 when I knew they would be done. Also, if you stay out late and want to sleep in...good luck. I am not sure how long the construction is going to go on here...but I would suggest if you like some peace and quiet in your hotel room then stay away from here for a few more weeks.

The decor of the hotel rooms and hallways to the rooms is reminiscent of the American "Hotel 6" or an old "Days Inn" chain of Hotels. The main entry way is un-kepped and getting to reception for the first time may be confusing, as the main doors do not lead straight to the lobby. The in house Restaurant Matyas Pince is nice, great old decor, good food and fun live gypsy music most nights...but it is rather expensive...but worth it for the ambiance and experience.

On a safety perspective...from my 30+ years as a professional firefighter...on my floor there is only one means of exit and that is through the main entry to the rooms (2 floors) lead to a single door. If there is a fire near this door or a room fire that extends into one of the hall ways, there is no way out other than to break the windows in your room and wait for firefighters to rescue you with ladders or jump 15-25 feet. I am not sure what the local fire code is...I am sure they meet the code..but this design of hotel is not safe. You should always have two means or emergency egress, not using windows. Just a thought to keep in your mind if you book this hotel or any hotel. Always stay safe and know your exit routes, locations of fire extinguishers and/or fire hoses, as well as local emergency numbers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

First of all we would like to respond to comments about the hotel services. In 2011 our hotel has successfully passed the European Union Certified 'HotelStars' process. From then it has the right to use the 3 stars classification with the corresponding services.
The linen change occurs after the third night, and you have stayed 3 nights. The bathroom textiles will be replaced when you show it to us in a specific manner because of environmental reasons.

The hotel suits the local fire service rules, the external controlling is regular. At the same time we agree with that it is important for all of our guests to be informed what to do in case of fire. Information about this can be found in the Guest Directory, placed in every rooms.

The reconstruction of the square is being done by the local-government of Budapest to create better traffic conditions and nicer environment. Our hotel’s management – however has only a few influence on the working process – does everything for the uninterrupted run of the hotel. Thanks to the unique formation of the hotel, according to our possibilities, we provide a room from which the periodic noise from our guests’ side cannot, or can be apprehended on the slightest way and of course that intermits during the night hours.

We would like to underline that the hotel’s services are changeless. The famous Váci street can be reached as easy as before and the hotel is still a great starting point to reach all the city’s sights.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel next year again with a renewed environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel at lunch time and the entrance could definately do with some doing up.
However our room was very clean, spacious and had every thing we needed. This hotel is in an excellent location. Just a short walk to Vatica Utca (main shopping street) and there is a hop on hop off bus that we used for each of our 7 days. The meals we had at the restaurant were very nice and substantial and we ate at lots of outdoor eateries throughout the city. This restaurant is great value for money and we will use it again when we return to Hungary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived 13th October 2012. When we pushed open heavy door to the entrance, the aura of the place was very dark depressing. At this point didnt look at all promising for our four night planned stay. We arrived late morning and wasnt expecting the hotel to allow us to check in at this point, but we were pleasantly surprised, that the male receptionist who was very helpful and gave us our room pass. Check in overall was smooth. The reception area was very lack lustre dated decor and very basic furnishings and obviously there used to be a bar area which is now dissused. We were escorted by receptionist out into the unwelcoming entrance hall once again up some more dark and dingy steps and we were then given a code to get through another iron gate. Here was a a real run down area with a old staircase which badly needed decoration could be a stunning place if only attention was paid to the public areas. Here was a lift of sorts again unkempt with graffitt all over the boxed in area felt like a coffin as i would imagine. Two persons and that was a tight fit with luggage. On arrival at second floor we exited the lift area, into the old unloved stairwell. Out of here into an outside balconette landing outdoors with two higher floors. Through another door into the building and down corridor to our room, and to be honest i was dreading opening the door after what I had already seen of the hotel. But we were pleasantly surprised not the ritz and not luxurious, but clean and everything you could wish for apart from tea and coffee making facility. Bathroom tired but adequate. Breakfast was adquate, only advice is that waiting staff keep a closer eye on topping up items. Would have been nice a bit more choice in hot buffet. Hotel sell hop on hop off bus tour 5000 HUF for two days with two diffent routes two boat trips and free hugarian goulash soup at one stop and free beer at another. the best thing about the hotel was its location has other reviewers have identified. 5 mins to River, tour bus stop outside, lots of restaurants on the doorstep. Vaci utca main shopping street on the doorstep too. The public areas are really letting this place down please management give this place some TLC its badly needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyKHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Several reviews have mentioned the difficult entrance gate and the dark old internal staircase. Previously we have already tried to explain them. Unfortunately, we are not really able to change these circumstances as the hotel exists as a part of a 100 years old downtown house.
It may also be interesting an old downtown house from the inside.
We will try to compensate the inconvenience may caused by the first impression with the helpfulness of our receptionists. We are delighted that most of our guests are satisfied with the hotel rooms and equipments.
Thank you for your advice regarding the lobby. Next year we plan to make it more friendly.

Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location and nice view of the Danube and Buda Hills from the balcony. Nice, although a bit crowded, breakfast buffet, and very helpful staff. Free wifi in rooms and lobby.

Overall, nothing too fancy, but great location and great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krokodilletaare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The in-room wireless internet access has been extended for all rooms this summer. The wifi access will be still free, we hope this feature will be used by more and more guests.
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Basic but good breakfast, great location as good as on the pedestrianstreet, close to sightseeing boat-piers and hop-on-hop-off busstop. Alot of steps in the hotel, mind your steps. Van warmly recommend this hotel, nothing too fancy, but great anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

With early booking we payed 50€ / night without BFST. The location is great and the rooms are quite modern espacious. The entry hall is dissapointing and the rooms dont seem to have air conditioned but in middle september it was not necessary.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#127 of 333 in Budapest
518 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#126 of 333 in Budapest
194 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#77 of 333 in Budapest
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#69 of 333 in Budapest
1,948 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#125 of 333 in Budapest
393 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Property: City Hotel Matyas
Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing