We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the midst of it all”
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #136 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is an old building with recent renovations that are satisfactory, but without much style. I had a quiet, clean, spacious room on the second floor. The best thing about the hotel is its location near Budapest's main shopping streets, excellent Metro system, and the beautiful parks along the Danube. The breakfast buffet, served in the historic Matyas Pince restaurant, was quite adequate. The staff was friendly and everyone I spoke to spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: The plaza in front of the hotel can get very congested with cars and tour buses. If you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 775 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Looks impressive and grand on the outside but this impression gives way to one of decay and abandonment once one negotiates ones way through the scruffy little entrance and up the crumbling stairwell to the desk. Checked in only to find that they had no record of our four night reservation. So I had to give them a credit card swipe for the first night so they could have some form of payment if they could not sort it the next day. I had been up and travelling for a while by this time so was some what tense! The room was ok, bathroom fine. Only problem was the heat and the traffic noise on a night. A fan can be borrowed from reception. Breakfast is hardly worth bothering with. Scrambled eggs and chopped up hot dog sausage. Cold meats and bread. They only had earl grey tea. I don't know why The British have this reputation of drinking that. I don't know anyone who does. Give me a cup of Yorkshire any day.
Ten percent discount at attached restaurant which is well worth a visit. Opposite stop for the green route 'hop on hop off' sightseeing bus which I thoroughly recommend. Also at the back of the main tourist trap of vaci utca. A stones throw from the Danube and associated boat trips, waking distance of numerous good restaurants and bars. Do NOT go to the cafe Pertu nearby ( see separate review.) Excellent coffee shop and Thai massage place just round the corner. Location is perfect. Rooms ok and it's just the communal areas that tend to be scruffy. I would stay here again but I would come in a cooler month and bring my own tea bags.

2  Thank woolfat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hotel in a good location. Nothing too far away. Stairs to lobby and stairs to the lift. We were on the 5th floor and had to walk outside onto a covered verandah get to our room. Room was clean, single beds although I had booked a double. Paid 7 euro each for breakfast, not worth that much. staff friendly and spoke good English. Wifi only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your observations.

Allow us to amend, in relation to the Wifi. At this time Wifi is available in 24 of our rooms, as well as the lobby, where a terminal is available for our guests, free of charge. Because more complaints have arisen from our guests, in relation to the strength and speed of our Wifi- sadly the weak connection is due to the situation of the building- we are strengthening the Wifi this year, gradually expanding it. Hopefully by the end of the summer, the internet connection will be accessible to all rooms.

We thank you for your opinion, and hope that there will be further opportunities to count you among our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Chosen for its location and reviews from Trip Advisor, we arrived from a river cruise docked luckily on the Pest side just a couple of blocks from the hotel. The building access is old and up steps to the front desk area, but the lobby is quite spacious. A small elevator serves the upper floors.
Though it was about 10AM they gave us one of the two rooms we'd reserved so we could leave all bags right away there. We had room 502 with a spectacular view of the river and across to the Buda castle hill. (No wi-fi on the 5th floor but free in the lobby as well as a free computer to use). A large room with table and chair and both double and single bed. Nice bathroom with shower (liquid soap only). Breakfast which we had included in our reservations was good and delightfully served in the basement restaurant (inside access) which adjoins the hotel (The Matyas Prinz). It is beautifully painted with frescos on walls and ceilings
Across a main avenue that leads to the Elizabeth bridge is the main shopping and pedestrian area, on our side was the shopping/souvenir pedestrian street leading to the huge market building housing foodstuffs downstairs and souvenir stalls upstairs. So location is perfect for walking everywhere. A bus runs on that main avenue to the Keleti-pu rail staion. Bus tickets must be bought before boarding the bus (at the metro station by the bus stop). We took bus 173 but I believe others also go there as well from the same stop.
Euros are accepted quite readily except at the funicular which goes up to Buda castle so be prepared with cash Florint (900 per person). Even if a place says credit cards accepted better ask if their validator is "working". It is a common ploy to say it isn't so as to accept cash only although they will convert the price to Euros if you want that currency instead.
Rooms 501 and 502 have great views at night of the lighted Buda hill with castle.

Room Tip: Rooms 501 and 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We especially appreciate, that you shared your positive opinion with us and all those, who search for their accomodation on this platform. Since early June, however, Wifi has also been available in our rooms on the 5th floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Located just perfect, close to the river and not to far from the main shopping area. Hotel is a bit old, but rooms are clean and beds are good. Ask for room facing the river.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Kenneth_Pedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the hotel with friends in April 12. Great value, clean rooms, friendly staff and a good selection for breakfast. Don't be put off by the arrival entrance, it is shared by residents of the adjoining appartments and does not look very appealing. Once inside it is fine. Plus points, the location, the Matyas Pince restaurant in the cellar for meals, free use of the internet on the hotel computer although there is only one terminal and you may have to wait. Top tips: buy a two day ticket for the hop on hop off bus in the hotel for 5000 HFL, a saving of 1000 HUF. Unlimited travel on two routes, Pink goes around the river danube area ( shocking pink bus that you can't miss ) Green goes around the city sights ( Lime green bus ditto ). There is a bus stop for both routes right outside the hotel. Bonus items with the tickets are 2 boat trips on the Danube, a free bowl of goulash in the citadel panorama restaurant and a free beer in a cafe near the centre. The hotel staff offer the tickets but it is not a con, you really can get double the value by buying in the hotel. A qick point for EU over 65s - you can travel free on all public transport by showing your passport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riponrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were more than happy with the hotel as it provided a good base with warm clean rooms and a great hot power shower- all we really require for 30 euros a night!
Our biggest (easily rectified) niggle was no kettle in the room, when we asked at reception for a kettle and a hair dryer we got the drier but a curt "no kettles". Come on guys, a cuppa makes a stay a whole lot better!
The restaurant downstairs is recommended for the gypsy music, but not for the drinks prices. a fiver for a JD is proper hotel prices.

Room Tip: We had 156 which was convenient to the foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fentiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we are glad that, judging from your letter, you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, there are no water boiling capabilities in our rooms, as of now. Since mid-April, however, two vending machines have stood in the lobby at our guests’ disposal, with wide selections of good quality hot-cold beverages, sweets, and snacks.

Thank you for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#137 of 336 in Budapest
544 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 336 in Budapest
2,377 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#108 of 336 in Budapest
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Hotel Ring
#117 of 336 in Budapest
424 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#112 of 336 in Budapest
407 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 336 in Budapest
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $38 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing