We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drop dead central”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #130 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drop dead central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The "hop-on/off" bus stops right in front because the Danube is across the street. The hotel caters to the European trade so you have to ask for a hairdryer and the liquid soap is both shampoo and cleaner. The rooms are just fine although the foyer and reception area are a bit quirky. A perfect place to stay if you want to spend your money on museum entrances and not a doorman. I think it was a "find".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krumkakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    314
    194
    65
    28
See reviews for
75
327
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very central location. Rooms big and clean , very good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard facing as no view however these are often the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Far better than we expected for the price. Spotless room, air conditioning, plenty of piping hot water. Beds very comfortable. TV had English, German and French programs as well as Hungarian. Room regularly serviced. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free safety deposit box at reception.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abufatila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest "Abufatila",

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Matyas and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services. We hope to have the opportunity welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, after the price we payed, we weren't expecting a great deal, but we were wrong. The rooms were fully loaded with air con, at no extra cost! Which wasn't great but it helped slightly. A fridge and television. We also asked about a safety deposit box which we used, at no extra cost!! Wi-Fi and use of the lobby computer was free too! The hotel is great value for money, and the staff are very helpful! I would recommend this hotel to anyway planning a trip to the beautiful city of Budapest!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest "dyjh47",

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Matyas and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our services. We hope to have the opportunity welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

the only advantage of this hotel is the location. the night porter is very friendly.
rooms are not really great but clean. breakfast is nothing to write home about

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest "swisstraveller2010",

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at City Hotel Matyas.
We are glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel. It would be useful, if you could specify the problems (room, breakfast) emerged during your stay. You can contact me directly at: salesdirector@cityhotel.hu. We set a high value on our guests' comments and suggestions since they help improving our service and performance.

Look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,
Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We only spent two nights and wished we booked more. This is not a luxurious hotel, but a nice clean place with everything a traveller needs. Just be aware, they only have a few rooms with the view of the river and those cost more. So, not expecting a fabulous view will save you some disappointment. The receptionist spoke good English and gave us a good deal on sightseeing tours. We had a few issues upon check in (internet and fridge in our room not working) but they worked it out quickly and moved us to another room. We did not try the breakfast, seem quite expensive, instead, we found a great little pastry shop we really enjoyed for much less.

Room Tip: Show up early so issues can be worked out. Be ready to pay for a view if you really want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest "Vera L",

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at City Hotel Matyas.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences (lack of fridge and internet) you had during your stay. Unfortunately internet is not available in every room. However, WIFI can be reached in 30 rooms of the hotel. Therefore we suggest to mention the request of internet in advance. Nevertheless, free internet terminal is always available in the lobby. We have eight rooms with panoramic view to the Castle Hill and Danube. As it is a restricted number, therefore there is a surcharge of €10/night for those guests, who prefer this view his stay.
We are happy that you generally enjoyed your stay and look forward welcoming you another time.

Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Most centrally located hotel we’ve ever stayed at. A minute walk to the Danube. Easy access to public transportation and train stations. Pedestrian only streets with lots of stores and restaurants nearby. The bed was hard, but the pillow and blanket were comfy. The shower was nice, but the sink had issues. Free internet in lobby was good. No air conditioning though. My husband speaks fluent Hungarian, so not sure how well the staff communicates in English. Room was probably cheaper than usual due to the building construction. We would defiantly stay there again though just because of the location and the room was clean and livable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinamf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest "inamf79",

We would like to thank you for your visit to City Hotel Matyas and your positive feedback about our hotel.
You mentioned that there was no air conditioning in your. Unfortunately not all rooms have air conditioning (only 40 per cent of the rooms), therefore is suggested to book it in advance. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#120 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#122 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#67 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#92 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#118 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Property: City Hotel Matyas
Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing