We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Perfect Location, Large room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #35 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Terrace, CA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Price, Perfect Location, Large room!”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My Husband I went to Hungary as the second half of our honeymoon. (it was his first time in Europe, let alone in Hungary) The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but once we got into our room we were pleasantly surprised! We got a great deal through Expedia when we booked a flight and hotel!!
The hotel is in a quiet street very close to the Duna (Danube) and the Chain Bridge. The metro staion (Deak Ferenc ter =square) is in walking distance as is the beautiful Bazilika( literally a couple blocks away.) Our room had a "living room" with a bar, big windows facing the street, and a t.v.. The bedroom aso had a T.V, big windows facing the street,decent closet space for our luggages, and honestly a nice bathroom with a shower/tub. The hair drier was great-very powerful!! It was very clean. Good AC/ heater. I am Hungarian American, so the language was no problem for me (I was my Hubby's tour guide) but the receptionists spoke English and were VERY friendy, courteous, and professional!!
We had continental breakfast- wasn't much, but all I really needed was the coffee anyway. There is a restaurant at the end of the block "Hild etterem" with traditional homestyle Hungarian food- Good prices -my husband loved it so much, we ate there 3 times during our stay.
I definately reccommend this place to anyone and everyone! It isn't luxurious, but for the price, size and location compared to other places, it is perfect!!

  • Liked — convenient location. nice size rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnK4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    394
    56
    15
    7
See reviews for
172
544
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Large suite and bathroom. Hotel built in modern "Communist" style in that it is very functional. Breakfast a bit of a joke in that "included" meant coffee, a bread roll and jam! Anything more was extra. Bed fairly comfortable but pillow was dreadful. Extra pillows were not available - one per bed!! Spoylessly clean. Recommended but like most things in Budapest expensive.

  • Liked — Size of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of pillows
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

fantastic location for female travelling alone. felt very safe the staff were conversant in english and the breakfast set me up for the day and included in tarrif. It was close to many sights including the hop on hop off bus stop,Chain bridge etc. its fun towalk over Chain on weekends when its a fair and closed to traffic. The suit is clean and has a fridge good for diabetics and hot water jug etc for coffee, all in all highly recommended. A good walk to tourist shopping strip and close to main church. The yellow tourist stalls are dotted all over Budapest and a font of information and for buying tickets to everything and just getting information from the young people running them. a nice place to visit.

  • Liked — space, facilities, clean condition fridge
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ozwarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Spent 3 days there in July 2008 following a river cruise. I chose it because of excellent reviews in Tripadvisor. Those reviews were right on. Good size, modern, one-bedroom suite in perfect location in Budapest. Staff was friendly and helpful.
In addition, we arrived at 9:30 a.m. (after leaving the boat), and they gave us a room immediately.
The only drawback was the price of an internet connection (about $6 for one-half hour, going up for longer times). However, if you just want to check e-mail, etc., there is a little book store around the corner that charges one-sixth of that.

  • Liked — Plenty of room, location
  • Disliked — High price for internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sef2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My family and I just returned from a three night stay at the Starlight Suiten in Budapest, Hungary. We stayed at the Starlight on our way through Eastern Europe, and were very pleased with the location, accomodation, and service.

The location is probably the best feature of the hotel. It is located right next door to the Four Seasons, and only a block away from the Sofitel and the Intercontinental. It is within a block or so of Chain Bridge and the Danube, and only a few blocks away from attractions such as Saint Stephen's the main shopping street, Vaci Street. My Mom and I walked across the chain bridge one afternoon to the Buda funicular, and I think it only took us around 15 minutes at the most. The other nice thing about the location is that, being right by the river, there are numerous restaurants situated nearby with lovely views of the Danube and Pest. The hotel is also very close to the boat docking are on the Danube (and I must suggest taking the Legenda one hour cruise of the Danube at night - it was spectacular and within a 15 minute walk to the hotel).

The rooms, as others have noted, are very large. I shared a room with two family members (all adults) and there was more than enough room in the triple room. The bathroom, like the rest of the room, is also very large. The beds were comfortable, and the room was very clean. As others have mentioned, the stay comes with a small breakfast with fresh fruit, breads, and coffee. While simple, the food was very good and you could have as much as you liked.

The service at the hotel was excellent. I found the staff to be incredibly helpful. We used them to rent a van to go to a Hungarian village, for booking tours (including the Legenda boat tour), and for booking a taxi to the Keleti station. The staff also speak very good English.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Tiny t.v.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tresura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We were not disappointed with the hotel or with Budapest. Buda and Pest (which I never knew there was a Buda and a Pest) have a wealth of history and sites. We walked everywhere and saw every site in one day - compact and easy. Budapest is a 'must-see' city but not for a long stay. The hungarian people are friendly and the prices are decent (as with every european country, it is getting costly).

We arrived by Taxi (make-sure you go to the 'signed' taxi spot outside the airport) - do not accept an offer from a make-shift salesperson. Cost is about $35 cdn to the Hotel, cheaper return. Don't arrange to have the airport-hotel taxi driver pick you up to return as it is more expensive.

When other reviewers say the hotel is on the same street as the Four Seasons - they mean right behind, they are almost touching. The Four Seasons is worth going into and perhaps for using their washrooms while you are there. 3 flags fly outside - the Canadian (as four seasons is canadian), the Hungarian and the Irish. Apparently, partners (stakeholders) from these 3 countries own and run all worldwide Four Seasons Hotels.

The rooms are very large - I think they must have been for the elite in their hay-day. They have 2 TVs - one in th bedroom and one in the living room. There is a bar and stocked fridge (pricey, as usual) and a very nice, large bathroom with shower.

Downstairs there is a steamroom, sauna and showers. Don't be surprized that the showers are open and patrons use all the facilities in the nude - we did.

Breakfast was the only unfortunate thing for the hotel. They have a continental breakfast (bread, juice, coffee - nothing more). For an exhorborant 13 euros you can get a warm (eggs, meat, cheese - usual european fare). There is a smoking and non-smoking area (but the smoking is much brighter from the windows.

Food generally in hungary is good - not cheap. Goulash, cabbage and other food from the area is worth trying.

i would not recommend you going to Budapest on Saturday or Sunday - shops close early on Saturday and are not open on Sunday. It is very hard there to judge when stores including grocery will be open.

I highly recommend the Starlight Suitan for both the friendly staff and size of the rooms and especially for the location.

  • Liked — Location and Safety
  • Disliked — Breakfast - hot was too pricey
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

The Starlight Suiten Hotel is a great hotel in a great location. It is close to the major sites and has public transportation near by also. The staff at the hotel were wonderful. We were delayed in arriving in Budapest because of cancellations by our airline. They worked with us and were great. They all spoke good English so communication was no problem.

The room was nicely decorated, spacious, and clean. The air conditioning was working so we were comfortable since it was warm and humid during our stay. Our room came with the continental breakfast which was adequate.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — shower/rub had a small amount of mold in corner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saroyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,452 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,268 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Property: Starlight Suiten Hotel
Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing