We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop researching and book this hotel!! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #35 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent weeks researching many hotels in Budapest and I was thrilled that I picked this hotel in the end. Firstly the location is wonderful, only a few minutes walk from the city centre,and near the metro. It is near the spectacular chain bridge that separates Buda and Pest, and the fact that it is very close to the top four seasons hotels proves how great the location is.

The room is huge,with a living area and spacious bathroom.It is very clean and filled with necessary facilities such as toiletries,lots of towels that are changed daily,a kettle,with a variety of drinks which are also replaced daily. There is a hair-dryer,two tvs,a microwave and a mini bar fridge. The rooms were very warm, but can be easily adjusted, and during the winter its best to have them that way rather than freezing. I wasn't expecting much from the breakfast having read bad reviews on this ,but they were clearly misleading as breakfast was plentiful with a variety of cereals,fruits,yoghurt's,breads,cheeses,salads,eggs and meats,as well as delicious fresh pastries with many fillings. The breakfast was ideal and satisfying enough to keep any busy person energised enough to take on this beautiful city.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and gave us maps and brochures of the city and happily answered any questions we had.There is also a luggage storage room that you can avail of,if your flight is later in the day and you want your belongings kept safe while you treasure your last hours in the city. There is also a sauna and fitness area which we didn't get the opportunity to use as we were always out exploring the city,so I cant comment on this aspect.The only tip I would offer to improve the hotel is that for a four star hotel I think more work and creativity could be used to modernise the hallways and make them a bit more luxurious and fresh.

I really enjoyed everything about Budapest and it was delightful to wake up and come home to a pleasant refreshing hotel. I will definitely be returning to Budapest and I wont waste any time researching hotels as I would certainly book this hotel straight away. köszönöm :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 6serendipity6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

thank you very much! that is the review that made my day :) we are really happy that you were so satisfied and we could meet your expectations! You should come back and bring your friends in summertime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I find it hard to fault hotels like this. Staff make the effort to help and look like they are always there to do so. The room was spacious enough for our family of three and all the facilities were good and worked well. It is so well located not far from the chain bridge and nearly everything of significance for visitors seemed easy to reach on foot or by public transport. A nice hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

thanks a lot for your smart review - you have mentioned all the advantages of our hotel! we are really happy that we could make your holiday memorable - hopefully you will visit us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were delighted with our staying at Starlight Hotel. You walk out and you see the Castle and the Chain Bridge. Very close to the Parliament and the fashion street. The room is enormous. I've lived in small apartments than our room: suites with separated sitting room, bed and bathroom. It has microwave and a little table, excellent! The staff is great and very welcoming. The hotel is right by side of one of the most emblematic hotels in Budapest. So you figure how good located it is. Everything was perfect, the room was very clean and the breakfast was very rich. It only made our staying in Budapest more special! We loved and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor, but first of all for staying at the Starlight Suiten Hotel during your trip in Budapest. We appreciate your positive and detailed feedback very much. Your kind remark regarding the service in our Hotel is much appreciated and very motivating for the staff to continue delivering high quality service and a personalized guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were welcomed by a smiling receptionist which set the tone for our stay. Our suite was excellent, clean and spacious. Very helpful happy staff.
Near the Chain Bridge, ideal location for Sightseeing close to central Pest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

thank you very much for your nice words; this is the most important motivation for the staff and this makes us different from our competitors :) hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here on a recent break to Budapest, great location, good value for money. Rooms clean, comfortable and huge by our city hotel standards. Had continental breakfast option which was fine. Hotel is near the river, walking distance to main areas. Good restaurants, bars and coffee shops all nearby. Would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank shep24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

we are delighted to read your review about your recent stay in our hotel. we are really happy that you have enjoyed the "feelin' good" atmosphere in our spacious suites and looking forward to welcoming you in our property soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Superb location and friendly service but rest rather average.
Rooms are suites with seperate bathroom sitting room and bedroom. Bed, shower, tvs and bedroom rather old style and small.
Hotel offers basic lobby with bar which do not feel cosy (but ok for a quick beer) i wouldnt want to sit there for anything else than to shortly wait for colleagues.
Breakfast was ok with lots of Hungarian salami. The juice tasted like sirop. There is a sauna and gym but i didnt try it. The hotel offers no proper meeting room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

first of all thank you for your review, we feel terribly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome back in our property as a tourist once - as our central location is perfect if you wish to do some sightseeing in the Hungarian capital!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excellent location for walk and food. Near all the attractions . Amazing very spacious rooms . Very good price for such large rooms. Nice breakfast . Exactly right of very expensive hotels and just 10 meters from the river .Very helpful staff . Very large bathroom with all the necessary. Small fridge fully equipped. Very large living room with separate tv. Also was and secont tv in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sir, we much appreciate your positive feedback, that is one of our most important advantages: you get two separate rooms for the price of one! looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,492 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#46 of 334 in Budapest
752 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 334 in Budapest
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Address: Merleg utca 6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $93 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing