We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain, and ideally situated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #35 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

First, the situation was nigh on perfect. If you were to choose a no expense spared, premier quality and location hotel in Budapest, then the Four Seasons Gresham Palace would be in the top three. Looking across an open piazza with grass and trees towards the Castle in Buda, and directly aligned from the entrance with the Chain Bridge, it is the perfect spot, but you only get to appreciate the situation if you have a front of house room, or when you are leaving. Just a few steps down the street to the right of the Four Seasons is this gem of a hotel.
Not quite perfect, but so close as to mean that a five star rating for a hotel of this type and price is justified. My only niggles were concerned with maintenance issues, a curtain ring was unhooked from one of the curtains in our bedroom, and the hinge pin on the freezer door of the refrigerator was broken. Nether affected the utility of the room, and, quite honestly, that was it. The rooms were huge, each roughly 7 metres by 4 metres, with an en suite bathroom off the bedroom. Both had large windows onto the street with very effective double glazing. The lounge had a kitchen area, with sink built into a granite worktop, fridge and microwave, a comfortable 2 seater settee, a low coffee table, and multi channel TV set into a polished wood floor to ceiling built in unit. The reverse of this was in the bedroom, with a second, identical TV. The lounge also had a desk area, with comfortable computer chair, the desk was provided with a lamp, power socket, and international standard internet sockets. The bedroom had a superking sized double bed, with dedside tables, on had a raised area with tall mirror and make up light, and there was more than adequate wardrobe space. Modern, clean, comfortable, and welcoming.
Reception was quickly expedited, the staff all spoke excellent English, were friendly and helpful, and seemed pleased to see us. Chambermaid service was unobtrusive and first class, fresh towels as we requested, fresh bed linen every day, and what we used from the mini bar replaced promptly. We used the mini bar on a couple of accasions, as, unlike most mini bars, the prices were competetive with the local convenience shop. Breakfast was served between 6.30 am and 11.00 am, a far longer time than I have encountered elsewhere, and the quality and variety of breads, pasties, croissant and jams, plus savouries and spreads, was such that we never felt the need for a traditional 'Full English'.
All in all, for the price we paid after a trawl of the internet I doubt better value for money could have been found, although I understand other hotels in Budapest at various levels of luxury offer similar value deals, the Kempinski for one.

Room Tip: No need, all seem very good and all get first rate reports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

first of all thank you so much for getting back to us with a so positive and detailed review full of emotions; we are really happy that you have enjoyed your holiday here and were satisfied with the Starlight Suiten Hotel - it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you in our property soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were on a girly weekend trip at the beginning of October. We booked a triple room and we were pleasantly surprised with the space of the bedroom and the lounge area... enough mirrors for all us to get ready at the same time. The beds were very comfortable, with proper feathered pillows and duvet. The staff were always pleasant and very helpful. The location of this hotel is around the corner from the Four Season hotel, so therefore in a very good part of Budapest. I would definitely go back, but I think after all the good reviews this hotel is getting (deservedly so) its room prices wont be a good as what we orginially paid!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

we are delighted to read that your holiday in our hotel was perfect and you were totally satisfied with the Starlight product and our services - it is the best motivation for all members of the staff! Hopefully you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in September - the location was perfect just minutes from the Chain bridge and Vaci Ucta - for few days stay in Budapest this was great as we didn't have to waste time on unnecessary travel time and could pop back in in the middle of exploring the city sights. Rooms were spacious with plenty of closet space and bathroom had ample place to lay down all the things one needs. The continental breakfast was just that and after two morning of rolls and marmalade we ventured elsewhere for a nice breakfast. Would stay here again if ever back in Budapest

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberty1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

First of all let me thank you for the positive feedback about your recent stay with us - the location is one of the most important advantages of our property. Regarding breakfast: our goal is to meet all kind of guest-expectations, that is why there are several options available from which you can choose! Hope to see you again in the Starlight Suiten Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was simply fantastic and we so enjoyed our five night stay! The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The hotel was in a perfect location, right downtown close to the Danube, and surrounded by many restaurants and tourist sites. The hotel was very quiet, and our suite was super clean, and very spacious while offering amenities such as a microwave and small fridge. We choose the continental option for breakfast and enjoyed it thoroughly. The croissants melted in your mouth and the pot of coffee was delightful.

The only drawback is that one has to pay for Internet service. However, considering that this hotel is right next to some of the most expensive hotels in the city, the price was crazy affordable, even with paying a little extra for Internet.

We were so impressed with the service we received from the friendly staff, the nice quiet atmosphere and great location that we cannot say enough about this hotel and highly recommend it to others. We will definitely go back to this hotel when we visit Budapest again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika848588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

let me thank you for sharing your opinion about the Starlight Suiten Hotel - we are really happy to read that you were satisfied with your Suite and the services. Our staff is trying to do its Best in order to make your stay enjoyable - hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel really had it all, it was the perfect location, super clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and a great continental breakfast. Although, it was nothing like what we think of as 'continental breakfast' in America, it was much better than that. Eggs, bacon, cereal, croissants, fresh bread, danishes, cheeses, meats...really a great way to start the day. And I really can't say enough about the staff, we had them call and make us dinner reservations every night (since we didn't speak the language), they called us cabs, gave us directions, and were so nice through it all. We got a suite in the hotel since there was three of us (mom, sister and me), and the room was spacious and comfortable. The location was perfect too, walking distance to pretty much everything. And considering that it's right next to some of the most expensive hotels in the city, the price was crazy affordable. Really can't say enough good things about this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jada95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We highly appreciate your generous feedback regarding your stay in the Starlight Suiten Hotel.
Especially thank you for complimenting our staff - it is the most important motivation for all of us to get a positive feedback from you like this :)
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My sister, daughter, and myself stayed here for one night and were happy with our choice--the service was excellent, the suite was very roomy, parking was secure, and the location was perfect for exploring central Budapest. Staff had great recommendations on sightseeing, and went out of their way helping us with a wifi connection issue with our laptop. The room was clean and comfortable. If you are interested in more than a fairly generous continental breakfast, it costs extra. Food was good though! Public transportation, several tourist sights, and good restaurants are all within walking distance. Professionally run, good hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heididavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We were delighted to read your review about your positive experiences in our hotel - we highly appreciate it! Excellent customer care and high quality service is a really important part of our daily routine - your feedback helps us to provide always better and better service! We are happy that the hotel met your expectations and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a find this was! We wanted a central hotel, reasonably priced for a city break. This was perfect. Yards from the Chain bridge, a short walk to all the attractions of central Buda and Pest, lots of restaurants nearby. Lovely big rooms, attractively if not luxuriously furnished, with nice ensuites, a small kitchenette, desk, sitting area, two televisions! Really comfortable beds with nice quilts. Helpful, friendly staff. Continental breakfast included was perfectly acceptable. Bread, croissants, jams,pain au chocolat, yoghurt, fruit juice, coffee. A real find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Let me thank you for your time to leave this nice and positive comment - we really appreciate it! We are happy that you were so satisfied with all of our services and we could make your holiday memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,217 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#36 of 335 in Budapest
1,301 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 335 in Budapest
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Address: Merleg utca 6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $83 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing