We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #34 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We checked in and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a suite, and it had three rooms. There were lots of space, and the room felt very roomy. The bed was very comfortable, and I had a good sleep.

The only thing that's not worth it is the buffet breakfast. It only takes up three super-small tables, and it is 15 euro per person. However, you can get crossiants and drinks for free, for it is included in the room price.

The Wifi is not free, but hotels with free Wifi are more expensive. It was very easy to log on to their Wifi, unlike the multiple steps you have to go through in other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you for your feedback; it is our standard to only use the best high quality ingredients for our breakfast, that is the reason why that there is an extra fee for that (this way you have the possibility to choose the most convenient option for you).
Internet access is not included if you book through a reservation platform - that is why it is always better to contact us directly or to use our own website to book a suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    391
    55
    15
    6
See reviews for
170
537
54
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Perfect location! All attractions and restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms very large and good value for money. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Good gym in basement with small sauna and steamroom. Wifi free for one hour in room, with username and password supplied by reception. If you log in and out as instructed, you will only use up your actual time online. You can buy extra time if needed. same procedure. About 1000 Huf per hour use. We didn't buy breakfast as you will get coffee and croissants free anyway. Downsides: twin beds very small and pillows not great. Decor a bit dated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you very much for getting back to us - regarding the beds, they are absolutely normal sized single beds (according to the points of the Hotelstars Union System) and if you need some extra pillows you can ask for them anytime at the reception :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We checked in to the hotel after arriving by train from Prague. We took the metro from the train station because the taxi’s were pretty expensive. A short walk from the Deak Ferenc Ter station by Erzsebet Ter Park and we were at the hotel. Wow, the location is perfect. Right behind the Four Seasons hotel and steps from the river. All the rooms are mini-suites and but our first room only had two single beds so we asked for a change which was done without any hassles. The small breakfast is a great start to the day with croissants and coffee. Skip the more expensive breakfast buffet. The staff was very helpful . We did have one day where we returned to our room in the afternoon for a nap and our room was not yet made up. The front desk apologized and promised to have it done by the time we returned from our night exploration of Budapest. However, when we returned, our room was still not made up. The front desk again apologized, we received extra towels. The next day our room was made up when we were having breakfast and that night a delicious fruit basket with fresh fruit and candies was in our room with a written heartfelt apology. So, this little mishap was forgiven by us. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: If you are going to visit the baths, book your tickets at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Starlight Suiten gets 5-stars on location alone. Close to the chain bridge, it's a mere 10 minute walk to the palace complex and only 5 minutes from the tourist attractions on the East IDE of the city (eg Parliament, St. Stephen's). Exceedingly friendly reception as well. Only downside was the small, thin pillows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We needed a hotel to stay an extra day in Budapest awaiting a river cruise and had this hotel recommended to us by friends. It didn't dissappoint. The price was right, the location great and the room spacious and clean. We even ended up with a large roof top balcony.

Just a block up from the river and a block or two from a major open walking, shopping and restaurant area this was a perfect location. Not a fancy hotel but more than adequate - think Holiday Inn not Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms with the roof top balcony if the weather is warmer. Big patio area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in December.

Location very good - nice and central, mostly everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.

Booked a suite which was very spacious, and compared to other places I have stayed in Hungary relatively up to date.

The bathroom, bedroom and lounge areas were large and comfortable, and made a warm and welcome place to stay after being out in the freezing temperatures around the Christmas market etc. (although a few glasses of hot wine also helped with that!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superfletchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel's locations is great! We only had two days in Budapest so that was crucial for us. Is is very close to the chain brigde and the cathedral. There are many good restaurants and bars close by. We also enjoyed Sofitels Casino which was like 3 min walk. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette, great bed and very good bathroom with heated towel hanger. The staff is very friendly. Our room rate included coffe and croissant and the buffet breakfast is 15 Euro. On the first day we tried the buffet wich was good. On the second day we went to a grocery shop - there is a 24 hours one right in front of the Sofitel Hotel- and bought what we liked and they sent us fresh coffe, orange juice and 2 small croissants each (one simple and the other with chocolate). For us it was better because, besides being much cheaper, we saved som time having breakfast in our room.
We had free WiFi and it worked well. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farodivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,250 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 333 in Budapest
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 333 in Budapest
1,431 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Property: Starlight Suiten Hotel
Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing