We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #34 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I booked the hotel on the recommendations of the earlier reviews and was not disappointed. All the receptionists were extremely helpful, recommending restaurants, directions to places and when we were leaving we were even able to settle the account part in Forints and part card, so we didn't have to change currency when we arrived back in the UK. The rooms were great - spacious, clean and comfortable. It was very useful having the fridge and I was given a kettle straight away when I asked for one, although you could boil water in a cup in the microwave. The bathrooms were a good size and modern and very clean. The lack of locks on the door did not worry us unduly. We were so busy seeing all of Budapest we didn't have time to use the inhouse sauna so can't comment on that, but a visit to the thermal baths are a must whilst you are in Budapest - we went to the Szechenyi baths. The hotel's position is one of its main plus points - so close to the Chain Bridge, the Basilica and the Christmas market and main shopping street. Brilliant. Only one small point - the pillows are very soft. Should have asked for another and no doubt I would have been given one. We didn't pay the extra for a full breakfast but the continental breakfast which was included in the price was perfectly adequate - rolls, croissants, yoghurt, actimel, jams and tea and coffee.

Room Tip: We had two rooms - 308 which was above and to the side of the entrance on a side street but with ve...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Starlight Suiten Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel is in superb location. Near the Lanchid Bridge and near the metro and hop on hop off as well. There was a decent fitness center as well with Sauna and Steam 24 hours. The room was huge and comfortable.

My only complained there were no free wife. Even at the lobby. You have to pay to use internet in the hotel which for me is a kind of surprise. That's why I only give average rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salomogaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stopped at the hotel in September 2012 it was in a superb location ,well appointed,friendly staff and extremely reasonable it could not be faulted and we will be going again . We have visited many cities and Budapest is one of the best to go to.If you do go, you have to visit the Celeritas shooting club what an experience it tops off the visit nicely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is very nice and confortable, as well as excellently located, but there were a couple of things that made me feel cheated. The hotel charges an hourly fee to use the internet. I find this unbelievable on this day and age, specially in an important European capital city like Budapest. I have been all over the world and even in small hotels in tiny towns in third world countries I have gotten free wifi. The rate was quite steep as well, almost 5 dollars per hour. I imagine it was the idea of one of the hotels executives for a way to squeeze money from the guests. Bad idea.
I also felt robbed when I had to pay about 20 Euro for two phone calls I had made. One was a 6 minute call to a local mobile in Budapest and another was a 5 minute call to a landline phone at a Hungarian city about two hours away. Insane!
I will never go back to any Starlight Hotel because I do not like to do business with companies that do not respect my intelligence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patrickce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the hotel through hotels.com and got an excellent rate for $83/day (4 week nights) for the end of Oct 2012. The rooms at the hotel were advertised for double the cost we paid.
We were pleasantly surprised with the comfort, service and the hotel in general. They arranged a taxi to pick us up at the train station – very efficient and reasonable cost. We arrived early in the morning and we got to be in the room before 10AM. Nice buffet breakfast in the morning and they are also willing to bring the breakfast to your room at no extra cost, if you wish. We left early in the morning for the airport and when we asked, they prepared a nice breakfast to take with us (no extra cost).
They agreed to be paid with our last HUF (small change) and the rest with credit card. They were very accommodating.
They also have a spa and sauna, but we did not use it.
The suite was spacious (2 rooms) with a microven and some dishes, and we feel better than in a hotel room. However this is no luxury hotel, but is way above average.
Access to wifi is with pay and you can buy in increments of hours.

Location could not be better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location can't be beat, and neither can the rates here. But it was like a Comfort Inn in the US - cookie-cutter linens, ok breakfast, you could have been in any city in the world. I will comment that the front desk was very nice, particularly when we had a problem (of our own doing) in the room. If you're looking for a good value and don't intend to spend much time in the hotel, this is safe and clean and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SherylK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed there for a long weekend - an apartment each. The apartments felt as though we both had our own private flats !! Amazing comfort - large lounge, double bedroom, super bathroom, all with modern facilities. One overlooked the front entrance and had a balcony, the other overlooked the courtyard, both so comfortable and well fitted out. .
A great welcome from all the staff, the receptionists were extra helpful, nothing was too much trouble and their advice was welcomed.
Coffee and croissants were served in our suites each morning as part of the deal.
Only two minutes walk to the River Danube with magnificent views of the Royal Palace directly opposite.
Less than five minutes walk to the main shopping areas and dozens of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 333 in Budapest
1,497 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $97 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing