We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, meh design.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #35 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value, great location, meh design.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Location can't be beat, and neither can the rates here. But it was like a Comfort Inn in the US - cookie-cutter linens, ok breakfast, you could have been in any city in the world. I will comment that the front desk was very nice, particularly when we had a problem (of our own doing) in the room. If you're looking for a good value and don't intend to spend much time in the hotel, this is safe and clean and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SherylK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    394
    56
    15
    7
See reviews for
172
544
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed there for a long weekend - an apartment each. The apartments felt as though we both had our own private flats !! Amazing comfort - large lounge, double bedroom, super bathroom, all with modern facilities. One overlooked the front entrance and had a balcony, the other overlooked the courtyard, both so comfortable and well fitted out. .
A great welcome from all the staff, the receptionists were extra helpful, nothing was too much trouble and their advice was welcomed.
Coffee and croissants were served in our suites each morning as part of the deal.
Only two minutes walk to the River Danube with magnificent views of the Royal Palace directly opposite.
Less than five minutes walk to the main shopping areas and dozens of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Starlight Suiten is in a great location, right next door to the Four Seasons and the Chain Bridge and a short walk into town. The staff was efficient and courteous and the room was clean and spacious. The room decor is very dated, but the beds are comfortable and there is a fridge and microwave if you want to make your own food. Overall a great find for the amount of money we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a superb hotel. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Suite spacious with microwave and kettle (available from reception) + bar and tv in bedroom and in lounge. Excellent in every way, plus less than 5 mins walk to Chain Bridge and 5 mins to centre with lots of shops, bars, restaurants. Could not have been better and not expensive.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor above reception, nice and quiet and no noisy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Starlight for 4 nights in September. We were very impressed with how spacious the suite was, literally two separate rooms - practically unheard of in Europe.

The front desk staff were helpful and very nice to us, no issues getting extra pillows and sightseeing info. There was free coffee and fresh croissants in the morning that were delicious (we did not opt for the full breakfast).

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right behind the Four Seasons, just a block off of the Danube waterfront and the beautiful Chain Bridge. It was also just a short walk (~5 min) to Vorosmarty Square and Vaci Utca which have literally hundreds of cafes and restaurants and also great shopping.

Overall, this hotel has great value and I very highly recommend it to anyone visiting Budapest.

Only drawback was that wifi was not free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My experience with the hotel was very good at the point of checking-in. We had requested for an early check-in at 10am, and it was arranged. I didn't have to wait for long.

Room quality and size were good except the beds were very small - compared to international standard.

We had to pay for Internet access (via WiFi) however; single login was sharable across multiple devices and time-count was only for the duration of use. One 24-hour voucher was adequate for the entire stay of 5 days. That was very good.

Breakfast was good but items were same everyday - not many combination to make. Okay for few days of stay. No hotel restaurants (except breakfast cafe) however; there are many food choices available within 5 minutes of walking. It is a great location.

Experience at checking-out was not very good. Although we stayed for 5 nights, hotel didn't agree to extend the check-out time at least by one hour (without paying extra), which was disappointing. After we checked out, I noticed that they had billed for some minibar items, which we didn't use. Unfortunately, it was too late to go back to complain.

I would recommend the hotel for a short stay - especially for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bandu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel location was great, the staff was very helpful and friendly,and the room was OK. My room was HUGE, and the bathroom was nice. The bed was just OK comfort. The only downside was a slight lingering smell like somebody had smoked in the room. I probably should have asked for another room, but did not bother.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,452 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,268 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Suiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Property: Starlight Suiten Hotel
Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing