We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Andrassy Avenue

Andrassy Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Budapest Walking Tour and Basics of Hungarian Language Class
Ranked #41 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Constructed in the late 19th century, this wide, spacious avenue is lined with trees and bordered with magnificent villas and historic buildings.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I took the stroll to get to Heroes' square and was disappointed with this Avenue.
It has shops, cafes, some nice buildings but I confess I was hoping for more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    552
    241
    32
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great stroll”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was positively surprised with Andrassy Ut. It certainly has charm and many interesting sights along the way. Don't miss the Opera and Book Cafe. Also, there is a great pub there - Caledonia Scottish Pub - if you're a beer lover. And forget about the metro, just take a walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
126 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice street.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice walk to see modern yuppie Hungary. There are a number of sights along the avenue as well. Starts a city hall and continues to hero's square.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeamasterPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,313 reviews
770 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“I wish we had walked instead”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I saw Andrassy Avenue last August from the window seat of a Viking River Cruises tour bus en route to Heroes’ Square. While that was a memorable experience, I sure wish we could have walked instead. This boulevard is an amazing ensemble of beautiful old buildings, many of which are richly deserving of a lingering look. Alas, nearly all of my photos turned out lousy, thanks to glare and the vehicle’s speed. What a keen disappointment that was!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Really nice avenue.You can take a walk from Heroes square to the city center.Avenue is long but you'll enjoy that walk.There are some beautiful and important buildings along the avenue.Andrassy utca reminds me so much of some parisian boulevards and avenues.It's just nice...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrassy Avenue also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Andrassy Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing