We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to visit”
Review of Rudas Baths

Rudas Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.24*
and up
The Hungarian Soul Tour from Budapest
More Info
$28.76*
and up
Budapest Bike Tour
More Info
$22.77*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #5 of 118 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This thermal bath, built by the Turks in 1566, retains a strong Islamic style.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Six bathes with water temperature from 16 •C to 42 •C

Family days (men and women can be together inside bathes) Saturday and Sundays nights only, what is not very convenient.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sergiy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    689
    197
    67
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited here on a mens only day, so we wandered round in a loin cloth. The main area is a large vaulted ceiling with a large pool and 4 other smaller pools at various temperatures. There is also sauna facilities and you can get massages. Very relaxing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon on my last day”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

having walked myself to a standstill over five glorious days in Budapest, this was the ideal way to revive myself and reflect in the many wonderful experiences of this holiday. I went on a ladies only day which provides the option to go as nature intended or in a swimming costume. Very well run operation (despite ongoing restoration/expansion work) and I was impressed with the use of electronic tagging system to provide access to very good personal change room locker and treatments. The place was very clean, Treatments are very popular so be sure to book in advance. I will return to Budapest and to Rudas baths.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smokeysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation in old style Turkish bath”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Rudas was most interesting to me, out of all famous Budapest baths, because it works during the night on fridays and saturdays, from 10pm til 4 am. That was great because during the day we wanted to explore the city, and bathing after that is perfect. If you have a problem with crowded baths you better don't go at night, but after 1 am people start leaving so it feels much better than when you arrive. I was only disappointed because it looks much better on the photos than alive. Still it isn't bad at all and you can have your zen time if you wish. For me it was interesting to try out the hot water and than the colder, it is hard to do at first but it really makes you feel great afterwards. Great relaxation!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dea_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and invigorating Turkish bath”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rudas is a simple Turkish-style bath. In the thermal pool area there is a large central pool surrounded by four smaller pools, each at different temperatures, as well as both dry and steam saunas and an ice-cold plunge pool. Very invigorating! The facility itself is very old, and the actual thermal bath area is not a pretty well-tiled area like some other nearby spas, but rather is largely bare stone (originally built in 1550!). We went on a Sunday (the spa is only co-ed on Saturday and Sunday) and spent almost 3 hours there. The spa was quite full, but not overcrowded and we could always find space in our sauna or pool of choice. I would go back in a second, I wish I could have stayed in Budapest long enough for another visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudas Baths also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rudas Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing