We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had more time”
Review of Rudas Baths

Rudas Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$236.78*
and up
The Hungarian Soul Tour from Budapest
Ranked #4 of 112 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This thermal bath, built by the Turks in 1566, retains a strong Islamic style.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“I wish I had more time”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have gone to Budapest a few times over the years and my favorite spa is Rudas. Its authentic turkish style with modern touches. The sulfurous waters sooth and there are like five smaller pools of different temperatures and one main central pool with a very comfortable temperature. The steam room is intense and feels good and has a great scent. Adjacent you have suspended buckets with cold water to cool down and a few cool pool choices.
The place has alternating days of the week for men and women and weekends were co-ed. Lots of age ranges and a good looking crowd of people to make the experience eve better.
Definitely better than the Gellert and less pricey.
Only complaints are that you gotta bring a towel and or rent one I guess. The cleanliness was acceptable but not pristine. Waters are constantly exchanging with clean water from the thermal spring though. Last, there were hungarians there, not just tourists.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    658
    189
    62
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven after a lot of walking”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean, compact and nice way to unwind.

Once you get use to the wrist band set up you'll be flying.

Scan the band to find your cabin number.

The cabins are very secure

Helpful?
1 Thank royalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation after cold day of sightseeing”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Really hot waters (up to 42 Celsius), two saunas and a small place to swim in the middle. All in all it's quite a compact place, but for relaxing in a pool and swimming around a bit, it totally suits the purpose.
The prices are also cheaper than in the main baths Gellert and Széchenyi, and the cafe in the entrance hall is serving reasonably priced sandwiches and snacks. The entrance for one person to the baths was 3300 forinths, so about 11€.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mattila_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Turkish Bath Experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited Ruda Baths on my trip to Budapest. This is a must experience as there are not that many places in the world you can enjoy natural medicinal hot springs.

Ruda is located on the Buda side of the city, cross the Danube River, many buses that go from Pest side here. Wed, Thursday and Friday are men only, discount with Budapest Card.

Upon arrival, you purchase your ticket and you will be given a wristband type of electronic lock. You go scan your lock under a machine to find out your locker number. You need the wristband to open and lock the locker after changing.

On men only days, you will be given a small apron like clothing to wear (it covers the private area) but some locals go nude inside the bath. This is acceptable and I did not see anyone wear bathing suit (on a Wednesday night).

Inside the bath, there are dry sauna, steam room; one main pool and 3 other smaller pools with different temperatures. My favorite is the 42C one, it feels great to sweat! There are two drinking fountains inside, and you can consume the medicinal hot spring water (although it tastes kind of funny). Interior of the bath preserves the traditional Turkish bath look and feel, and it is certainly retain the historic beauty.

The lighting is faint and a bit dark, but its pretty relaxing. The place gets crowded after 5PM and it is also pretty noisy (as chatters filled the air, mostly in Hungarian of course). The steam room is so hot and wet, and I can barely see the room, and it is packed all the time.

After you are done with soaking up the hot springs, you can dip into the icy cold pool to cool off then take a shower. I also love the quiet rest areas with chaise lounger chairs. Many people nap after the bath. It is the best.

I highly recommend this place and especially on the day of your arrival as it will wash away all the fatigue of the travel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank boscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
472 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Extraordinary and wonderfull experience !”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

These baths are all indoors and are from ancient Roman times.
If you want to enjoy these baths as much as possible, you have to visit in the morning. Otherwise it will be too crowded.
The outside of the building and a bit inside was under construction when we visited in August 2012 but don't be put off by that.
We bought our tickets and someone gave us our personal changing room that is also a locker to leave your things in.
As the baths are historical, they have a special atmosphere of authenticity.
We stayed here for 3 hours and enjoyed it a lot.
Most of the visitors were Hungarians.
We also payed for and used the swimming pool because we wanted to have experienced everything of this facility.
You are not allowed into the pool without a swimming cap but they sell them at the entrance. As we forgot to buy a cap, a nice life guard went and bought them for us.
We are glad we went here for a swim but it is not as impressive as the baths are.
If we would go here again, we would only visit the baths.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudas Baths also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rudas Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing