We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Budapest
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience St. Gellert Thermal Bath and Swimming Pool
from $23.76
More Info
from $37.57
More Info
from $331.49
More Info
from $79.34
More Info
Reviews (10,641)
Filter reviews
10,641 results
Traveler rating
3,250
3,539
2,067
966
819
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,250
3,539
2,067
966
819
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gellert spa wave machine flip flops swimming hat men and women changing area rent towels great spa relaxing experience private cabin art nouveau hot water beautiful architecture visiting budapest buda side cap sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 10,641 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Went yesterday (a monday). Two mins walk from a metro station on line 4. We bought tickets in advance from our hotel which help avoid the queue, but in Jan there wasn't one. To just go in the pools wasn't as expensive as i thought it would be. We took our own towels. Realise why flip flops are essential, as it is really slippery around the pool sides. Lovely buildings. For some reason you cannot go into the main pool without a swimming hat, but can go into all of the others without one

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank NickofSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I scheduled a massage and pay before we got there.
The two receptionists were unwelcoming, and said there are only male massage therapists, and if we refuse, no refund.
So no massage and minus 120 euro for a waste of time.
Beware of this eatablishment. Dont pay before you see the spa and their service. Besides that , we got into the place and the pools, the place in my eyes, isn’t maintained enough. It is not worth spending vacation time at that place

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank shiradeporto42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Went mid afternoon on boxing day, just turned up and hardly any queue. Timing was good because after the downstairs thermals, I spent an hour in the top pool outdoors enjoying twilight and watching the big statue on the hill light up. Very nice to be warm when the air is cold. It would be totally different in summer, when it's actually hot outside.
Two bits of advice. Don't forget to make note of your locker number! And once you lock up and try to find where everything is, dont follow the crowds. No one knows where they are going as they leave the lockers, it's actually rather comical.
For the indoor pools head down the short internal stairs that lead to the cabins floor, and then keep walking in direction away from the lockers. You'll come to the main central bit and staff to ask. There are more hot pools past both the far ends of both sides of the swimming pool. Just navigate your way through treatment areas and then they are revealed.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank AndiDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Great architecture, very clean and helpful staff. Visited on a Monday in winter so the pools were not busy, I imagine this would be a slightly different experience in summer and at weekends.

Study the map if you want to find a particular pool or sauna as it is easy to lose your bearings, there are plenty of helpful staff to point you in the right direction if you do get lost.

The towel and robe hire is a bit expensive but presumably this helps keep the entrance fee down for locals and those with enough luggage space to bring their own, a swimming cap is only required in the main swimming pool. Great way to spend a few hours (or most of the day) before catching a flight.

Thing to remember, if you leave a wet bathrobe outside at -4c it will not be very comfortable to wear afterwards!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank w0rkinghard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We spent our last day in Budapest at Gellert' bath and it was amazing! There's many bath with hot waters sauna hammam spa so relaxing! There's also an outdoors pool it feels so good to be in a warm water while the weather it's so cold, I recommend +++

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 58edouardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews