We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #56 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Wow, What a hotel!!
A brand new development within a short walking distance to the Danube and tourist attractions. The hotel is very modern and well designed, the bedrooms are spacious, especially the bathrooms, they have a walk in shower as well as bath tub. Food was also fantastic. The hotel is connected to the largest shopping mall in Eastern Europe. All the staff were extremely helpful. I would definetely recommend this hotel for any stay in Budapest. Also for a little extra the view from the executive lounge are amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank philiplassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2007

A so so hotel with indifferent staff and incredibly expensive bar and restaurant which are dead and characterless, apart from suits on business. Rooms comfortable and large, location good, but I would recommend somewhere with more character and less cold efficiency.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ManchesterSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Essentially a stylish, reliable & efficient new hotel. Five stars? Absolutely not, but does the job fine. There are one or two disappointments but these are offset by the comparatively low room rates. Certainly I have stayed in far worse Hiltons for far more money.

Good: most of it, general facilities, exec lounge nice, gym OK. Nice comfy chair in your room. Bathrooms excellent, shower + bath on exec (4th) floor. Opening window, hurrah, fresh air.

Bad: 1. The restaurant, don't go. Food appalling. Lunchtime buffet was fine but in the evening, yack. Terrible service and though deserted 5 out of 7 wine choices were not available 2. The bar. Smoky, grotty, boring, brightly lit. So much stylish decor elsewhere, yet not where you need it most. A failure at the drawing board. I have noticed this in other locations, Hilton doesn't seem to care about their bars. 3. Strange bedding. Two meagre individual duvets, laid side by side on a double bed. No overlap and not wide enough to overhang the bed. Sleeping involves lining up nice and straight, like a mummy. Don't move, or your toes will peep out the side. By arranging both duvets at a radical angle one could gain satisfactory coverage. Heaven knows what you'd do if there were actually 2 of you staying.

All easily fixed. Buy some duvets, get a new chef and refurb the bar. Avoid Minibar, just pinch some drinks from exec lounge. Concierge recommends Rezkaka for dinner - trust him it's a real treat.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MrSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We - 6 friends - stayed here at 3 twin bed rooms for a very short city trip. As Hilton GoldVIP 4 of us stayed at 2 decent twin bed rooms at the Executive Level, with the Executive Lounge open till 11pm. Even tough we booked non-smoking rooms we were put in smoking rooms which wasn't too bad. The 3rd regular room had the same amenities as those on the Exec. Level, just no access to it. The hotel is located at the largest shopping mall in Europe with direct access, next to the West End train station. Hotel is 30mins. away from the airport, metro station at the train station. Breakfast was ok, warm and cold buffet. Room itself was ok for a people travelling without large suitcase. We had to look for the inroom safe, which was located underneath the desk. Bathroom has separate shower and bathtube, shower head was a bit broken, my bath tower had black stains. Service staff, starting from check in, concierge and breakfast room were helpful and nice. Helpful concierge.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Hilton West End. Hilton seems to have some great deals on this hotel so I opted out of going back to the K & K.

Check-in was nice and easy and they gave me an upgrade to the 4th (executive) floor on account of my Hilton gold card. It gives you access to the exec lounge all day (closes 2330) and for breakfast.

The lounge is spacious and offers all types of alcoholic/Non-alcoholic drinks. Breakfast was simple - sausages/eggs/bacon and the continental option.

I stayed here not long after it opened and had a great time although it was very expensive. Since then, they seem to have gone downhill recently - The joint efforts of the hotel staff and my company`s IT manager couldn`t get me connected to the internet in the room. My lap top seems to work everywhere else :)

The room itself was very nice and clean, with steam iron/ironing board, TV and desk - beware of the mini bar though - it must be the most expensive I`ve ever seen! Go into the Exec lounge and take some drinks back to your room - there`s a small space in the fridge for your own personal use.

The staff were really friendly, but major downside for me was the condition of the tiles in the shower - take a look a my pic......mould city!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

We made it to the hotel after waiting for some time at the airport to locate our luggage - unfotunately it didn't arrive until 24 hours later!

The hotel was clean and the room was a good size. The proximety to the shopping centre was handy - particularly as we needed to buy clothes & stuff due to the lack of luggage.

The location of the hotel with respect to the sights was not the best, but if you don't mind the walk it's not a problem.

Budapest was great - we would certainly go back to the city, but would aim to stay in a more central location.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airedale_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Nice, spacious rooms. Extremely friendly and helpful staff - they helped us locate and recover our lost luggage, gave us dinner recommendations, and allowed us to use the internet for free.

Excellent location next to the train station (Nyugati) and metro hubs. The back door of the lobby leads to WestEnd City Center, Central Europe's largest shopping mall.

One draw back - breakfast was not included in the room price. But here's a tip: the hotel is about a block from an underground metro hub with several very inexpensive cafe and pastry bars.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travelpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 335 in Budapest
3,122 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $105 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing