We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sure bet in Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #48 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A sure bet in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I selected the WestEnd Hilton in Budapest (there are two Hiltons) since it was located next to a large shopping mall in a lively area which was what I wanted for this trip which was a mix of business and pleasure. I was traveling alone, so I also wanted to ensure I was in a safe area. I only stayed for 2 nights from the 15-17 November and it really was a perfect choice. The standard room was average size, but the bed was very comfortable with a duvet and the pillows a good quality. Bathroom was modern but the shower head did not offer any special functions, but was new and had enough pressure. Breakfast was definitely overpriced for Budapest, so I only treated myself on Sunday morning when I could take my time. It was nothing special though, your usual Hilton choices and nothing cooked to order. Overall I was satisfied with the Hilton Budapest WestEnd since it was modern, with a sleek urban design and centrally located. Based on my experience, I would recommend it to other travelers who want a sure bet in Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_2_MyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read your compliments and recommendations, highlighting many of the assets making our hotel special. I am glad that you had a goodnight sleep in our comfortable new Serenity beds and enjoyed the safe but lively area. Regarding the breakfast we would be glad to prepare a hot dish like pancakes or eggs of your choice, just please let our servers know, I am sorry if it has been not offered you on the spot.

Thank you again for your time to document your kind comments, our door is always open in the future should the opportunity arise you would travel to Budapest again.

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    709
    176
    37
    22
See reviews for
206
678
107
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
829 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This Hilton property is located at Nyugati station using the blue Metro Line.When you exit from the Metro and nobody can put you to the right direction just go up any of the stairways leading to the street level and you can easily see the West End Mall where Hilton is located.

You can either go through the underground tunnel which is filled with a lot of shops leading to the basement of the West End Mall or walk out of the Metro and use the street level walk towards the hotel.

You will have no problem finding a dining restaurant in this hotel since the mall itself has a lot of restaurants. Go to the basement where almost all eating places is located. It is a huge mall with a cinema and all kinds of stores.

I was given a room on the 2nd floor which is the No Smoking level. The hotel only has 4 stories. My room was quite comfortable with all amenities for Platinum members of IHG.You can buy Metro tickets and even Hop On and Off Bus tickets from the reception desk.

Getting to the airport is also not a problem just take the Metro using the blue line to Kobanya Kispest station then take an airport bus from there. If you take the hotel taxi which will costs about 1000+++ it will only take 25 minutes to the airport.Taking the Metro and the bus will be about an hour.

Although its not near the tourist area which is in the Deak Ferenc Metro stop it is still nearby just two stops away from the area where you can see the Castle Bridge and several other attractions.

I would recommend this hotel since if you are tired of going around the tourist area, shopping is just a step away, you dont even have to go far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay and giving such helpful tips for travelers.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed shopping in Budapest's largest shopping mall just at the doorstep of the hotel lobby. It does sound like we have gained a happy customer! I hope you will visit again and we can continue to live up to your high expectations.

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just back from a short holiday here and found it excellent.
We took the advice of others who had written reviews and asked for an upgrade to the Executive Floor. Best thing we ever did. Large bedroom with an even larger bathroom with choice of bath or walk in shower. We ate breakfast in the lounge there and what a wonderful choice there was. After a day sightseeing it was a real treat to return for "afternoon tea", then a couple of drinks and snacks before heading out for the night or going to the hotel restaurant.
The staff were the friendliest and most polite we'd encountered in a long time. Nothing was too much trouble for either the staff at the check in or the two young members of staff at the executive lounge.
We bought tickets for the Hop on, Hop off bus which proved an excellent way to get your bearings but found the nearby metro station very useful and a speedy way to reach the centre of Budapest. Will return!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to executive floor. Cost £30 per night each but so worth it! Extremely quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marls162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a generous review about our hotel. We are really pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your stay and you were impressed in particular by our Executive floor and Lounge. We are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel once again!

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was our second stay at Hilton Budapest WestEnd, and we can only say good things about this hotel. This time we were upgraded to a Junior suite for being HHonors Diamond members, and the suite was nice, with a nice view. Rooms are bright and big, staff are very pleasant indeed and the service was a 5-star standard.

Executive lounge was very small, and the dinner cocktail choices were very limited. They did, however, compensate it with a great terrace and friendly service.

Breakfast was a classic Hilton choice.

This hotel is much newer than the other Hilton located in the Buda castle, hence we tend to choose it when we travel to Budapest. It does have it down sides, one of them being the absence of a swimming pool, something one would expect from Hilton.

Room Tip: If anyhow possible, ask for a corner room, gives you great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UV4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

I was pleased to read your review about your recent stay, we very much appreciate honest feedback from our returning guest of us. We appreciate your kind comments on our comfortable Junior Suite and excellent services you experienced. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd to be your home away from home again.

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really impressed with everything about the hotel from the rooms to the stafff. Great location too. Was also impressed that the hotel recoginised my birthday fell during my stay and organised some treats in my room for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent stay, we are glad to hear that you were impressed by the special treats on the occasion of your birthday. I am glad that we succeeded to create a memorable experience for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you once more at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd.

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great staff at check-in and business centre. Nice room, comfortable. Shower and bath tub. Very clean and nicely decoded. Very close to a large shopping complex with every sop/ service you can imagine - 3 minted away.
However, if you take a room at the back of the hotel, it looks right onto the railway station and its platform; this means passerbys / travellers pas right under your window, and that means noise all night long. As well, no matter how many stars a hotel may have, if you get that one nasty / loud guest in the room next to you, as I have, the stay becomes very uncomfortable.
But would recommend it because of staff and quality of property.

Room Tip: Choose room at front of hotel. In my opinion, the street is quieter than railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer G, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent stay at Hilton Budapest WestEnd. I am pleased that you have found our rooms comfortable and were exploring the shopping mall just some steps from the hotel lobby . However, I do feel sorry that you have been disturbed by a noise coming from the railways station. Though our windows are soundproof, I am sorry that it still was inconvenient for you on this occasion. Please be assured that we will assign you a room facing a courtyard or the street side next time, which I hope you would find more satisfactory. I am grateful to hear your praising words of my team, they are our great asset.

I truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you another time in the future, will do our best
to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here as a group, or rather we tried to stay here as a group but they bumped us for one night out of two. They told us there were "Technical difficulties" with the rooms.

The hotel is in a good location next to the shopping centre etc. However its greatest weakness is its staff. Disinterested everywhere but they were perfectly fluent with the pre prepared "How can we help" routine. Which to be honest is pretty off putting when you know its flim- flam.

Train your staff Hilton Budapest West.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmithyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for being unable to accommodate you for the first night of your stay. Please be assured the situation which precipitated your relocation is not a common one, and it is certainly not indicative of the level of guest service we wish to provide. Nevertheless, we hope that you were satisfied with the alternative hotel arranged.

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the attitude of the team, I have taken the necessary steps to improve in this area, with immediate effect. We do hope to welcome you another time at the Hilton Budapest Westend when your travel plans next bring you to Budapest, we will do our best to regain your confidence.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#49 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#36 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing