We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern 5-star hotel next door to the shopping center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #54 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modern 5-star hotel next door to the shopping center”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location: Maybe a little bit far from the center of the city, but it has the separate exit to the middle of the huge shopping center, through which you can reach the metro station.
Room: The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We had an extra bed for the child and it was still plenty of room.
Breakfast: Absolutely perfect. Even for the 5-stars hotel.
Internet: Not free in a room, but free at the lobby, where drinks are surprisingly cheap.
Parking: The hotel offers underground parking for 4000HUF/night.
Check-in/out: Fast and friendly. But have in mind, that they block a notable amount on your credit card even if you stay for 1-2 nights.
Overall: No claims. Can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your ample review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased that in general you have been very satisfied with the accommodation and our services. I am sorry if the credit authorization caused your difficulties, it’s a common use in five star hotels, blocking the room charge and an estimated amount for extra expenses which we cancel upon your check out.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of being your home away from home again. Thank you again for your recommendations.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    752
    193
    47
    26
See reviews for
226
733
113
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built into a large modern shopping mall, close to Nyuagati metro station. Easy flat walk. You can get to it from the airport easily via public transport if you want to avoid high taxi fares. Take the bus 200E from the airport to the start of the metro line and then the metro to Nyuagati. The whole journey takes about forty minutes. The hotel is very modern with all the usual Hilton touches. Nothing is too much trouble. But beware, there are no views to speak of and it is on a very busy road. Lovely walk (less than ten minutes) to the Danube and then on to Parliament buildings (beautifully lit at night). Take the Big Bus hop on hop off tour, which includes a boat trip in the price (7000 HF for an adult) and is good for two days. It is a great way to see the city in around two hours (both Buda and Pest) and decide where you want to go back to. Public transport is cheap and reliable. This is a wonderful city and the Hilton is a perfect base from which to explore, although if you are here for a few nights then you might consider a night at the Hilton in Buda, in the middle of the World Heritage site. Expensive but special!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PYT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your recent stay with us and sharing useful information about Budapest sightseeing. I am glad that you were impressed by our good location in walking distance to many sights. Though we are not at the River Side, you can enjoy lovely views from our rooftop Executive Lounge Terrace to the Buda Castle, a good tip for next time to stay on our Executive floor.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton WestEnd and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the property. The staff went our of their way to make us feel welcome and accomodate all of our needs. The executive lounge and staff were particularly nice. The Hilton on the Buda side has a better view but it's very difficult to walk to dinner, sightseeing, etc. I would highly recommend this property especially if you are a Hilton Gold or Diamond member.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkhbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

I very much appreciate your generous review, I am glad that my team made you feel welcome and you have been treated well during your stay. Thank you for your recommendations and praising words.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. The room was large as was the bathroom, the beds very comfy and the air con worked really well especially as we experienced temps of 35-38c while we were there. The breakfast was excellent as was the meal we enjoyed one evening, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The internet is not free in your room but is in the lobby or bar areas, quite nice having a cool drink while you check out your messages! A large shopping centre is accessible from the lobby, Starbucks is close by as is the railway station and the river is a 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

We truly appreciate your balanced review about your recent stay with us. It makes me glad that our comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive service and excellent breakfast spread impressed you and you were very satisfied with your stay. Thank you very much once more for your time to express your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If using the Hilton West End ensure you receive a business rate on the room with access to the business/executive suite. You can relax there in the evening with a drink (alchol included) and some nimbles either in the air conditioned room or on the small roof garden, which has a nice (nice - not perfect) view of the Castle district. In the morning you can also have your breakfast in this area all of the facilities are included in your room rate.

There is usually one member of the hotel staff stationed in this area in case you need assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1jack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank your for taking your time to place a generous review on Tripadvisor. Its my pleasure to hear that you were pleased with the Executive floor and Lounge on the top of the hotel, and enjoyed very much the open bar and friendly service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd for a week and really enjoyed it. The friendly service, the spacious rooms and the quality of the buffet made it the perfect place to attend the business event I was invited to. The style is definitely Hilton's, clean and functional.

While not really in the heart of the city, it is conveniently located with train, tram and metro stations close by. There is a mall next to the hotel, which can come in handy when looking for last-minute gifts or a quick bite.

Overall, a very good hotel in Budapest for those who look for comfort over charm and do not mind walking 20 minutes to get to the city's main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_aji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time for your generous review on Tripadvisor, especially for emphasizing our convenient location, quality breakfast and comfortable rooms. I am glad that you could discover the sights easily and enjoyed the time in Budapest! Let me also recommend you to visit next time the sights on the Andrassy Street, the Hungarian Champs Elysee's only a short 5-10 minutes walk away from the hotel with lots of high end shops, cafés and the Opera House.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are furnished in light tones and are very spacious and comfortable. You will sleep well here. Bathrooms are airy and have separate shower and bath. The dining room on the mezzanine serves breakfast (and other meals) with excellent choice and variety. Our only niggle was that there was no free wifi in the guest rooms. You had to pay extra which is a disappointment. It is free if you sit in the lobby and play with you laptop or tablet but not as convenient as having it free in your rooms. We would like to return for another stay and hope that the hotel makes wifi free and available in the rooms for the next visit.

The hotel is connected to the WestEnd shopping mall which offers a great choice of shopping experiences. It is a little way from some of the places of tourist interest however it's flat and easy to walk around Budapest so it's not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your excellent review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and liked our comfortable rooms and the breakfast spread. Thank you for your comments on the Inroom Wi-Fi, we are still working on how to make it more beneficial for our guests. For the time being we are offering free internet access in all our cafés and restaurants and lobby 24 hrs a day. We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,129 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing