We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #49 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We chose this hotel based on their location, price and what seemed to be a good package for a yearly team meeting in Budapest. I was extremely surprised by the attention received from the hotel staff, specially the conference/meetings floor manager who was always very polite, attentive and thoughtful to meet all our needs. The meeting rooms have all the facilities you would need and if you require more they'll get it for you (at a cost). The food was also really good, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and not a single complaint from any of the 50 people that gathered here from all over the world. The guest rooms are also comfortable, firm but welcoming bed, very clean and in good conditions all the facilities around the room and bathroom. Highly recommended for family, couples, friend and specially business trips!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifigenia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your generous feedback. I was thrilled to read that you have found your stay first class and appreciate your kind words about the excellent service experienced. We were glad to host your team meeting and looking forward to have the chance to welcome you and your colleagues again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    709
    176
    37
    22
See reviews for
206
678
107
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a regular guest room which has nothing to write home about. I'd say the room is more 4 stars than 5.

The service, however, was impeccable and personal, something I only expect from FS, Mandarin or PH.

For example, on day 3, I inquired about a one day trip to Vienna. The guy at the concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. What blew me away was the next day I bumped into him on the corridor of my floor, he addressed me by name and asked about my short trip to Vienna. I was addressed by name by other staff about 70% of the time.

Another very cheerful staff was the bloke at the lobby lounge/ bar, he was extremely friendly, cheerful and constantly has a smile on his face. His upbeat cheerfulness reminded me of CX/SQ cabin crews, which really lightened the mood.

It's this level of personal but not over the top service that sets this hotel apart from the rest, and makes this hotel my preferred one in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobarnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you were very satisfied with the high level of personal services you experienced during your stay. It is always pleasant to hear praising comments about our team members, I shared with the entire Front Desk and Lobby Bar team, adding my own thanks. We are thrilled that you consider to stay with us anytime you travel to Budapest, we are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a Junior suite during a weekend trip to Budapest and I have to say that the location is very good. The service level was very attentive with daily calls to check that everything was to satisfaction.

Would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Budapest, either in business or leisure.

Room Tip: Since we didn't visit the gym I don't know on what side of the hotel it was located but we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haba_tsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your nice recommendations, I am thrilled that you felt your stay was spotless emphasizing the nice and friendly attitude of my team. We would be glad to welcome you at our hotel whenever you plan to visit Budapest again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Arriving in the evening I had to take a taxi from the airport, which was exactly 5800 HUF (pre defined price) and 30 minutes later (and a challenging conversation with taxi driver, who assured Hilton was top class after trying to hook me up with local hospitality)

The Hilton is on the outside of a large new shopping mall Westend. It has many familiar shops and also a few catering chains if you don't feel like venturing too far from the hotel, e.g. Starbucks, McDonald's, TGi Friday etc.

The rooms were quite spacious with a modern and comfortable decor. They also provided a few chocolates and complimentary water. The was a large flat screen in the room with also some English language channels and free Internet both wired and wireless.

We ventured out that night to an Indian restaurant near the parliament building (10 minute walk) but even though the area is not exactly downtown there were quite a few restaurants from local cuisine to pizzerias, Indian and others.

For me breakfast is usually the best measure of a good hotel and in this metric Hilton did not let me down. Breakfast was very good and for those not keen on hotel breakfast for money or other reasons, Starbucks was 25 meters away and it was open from 7:30 onwards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous comments on your recent stay at Hilton Budapest WestEnd.

I was glad to see that you liked our location next to the shopping mall with great catering and entertainment facilities as well as the good breakfast fully met your expectations. Thank you for mentioning the large flat screen TV in the room which we introduced last year, along with the brand new luxurious Serenity beds and mattresses. We hope you enjoyed and had a good night sleep at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you another time at our hotel!

Kind regards ,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for an over weekend conference. Nice rooms - clean and comfortable, with all needed appliance. Very good breakfast - good variety of fresh vegetables and cooked dishes plus good coffee. Short distance to transportation - train, bus and underground train. Huge mall next door where you can find all you want in one place for decent price! Try the "Bite" coffee shop not far for excellent pretzel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giora_I_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and have found our breakfast tasty and fresh as well your room clean and comfortable. We hope that you will return to us on leisure perhaps having a bit more time to explore the famous sights of Budapest if you have not done already.


Sincerely yours,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Though I was thousands of miles away from home for approximately 1 week, the friendly and helpful staff, clean facility, convenience of location and necessary services, all contributed to a wonderful homey experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrhemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review, I highly appreciate your feedback. It makes me so happy to read your compliments about my team and the hotel facilities, which made you feel just like at home.
We look forward to welcome you back whenever you plan to return to Budapest.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had booked an Exec room and was upgraded to suite on check in as I am a HH gold Member. suite was fine and functional. Th onlycomplaint I had is it was so hot. I turned the heating off, this made little difference and then turned on the A/c.. This didn't appear to work!

The breakfast in the main restaurant was very good, I did not try it in the Exec Lounge.

The evening drinks and snacks were OK except on the first night although it was empty the Gin had run out and one of the staff had to go to the bar to replenish the stock.

Tht hotel is conveniently situated for the West End Shopping Centre, which has some super shops!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write about your recent stay at Tripadvisor. I appreciate your pointing out the good breakfast and our location next to many shopping facilities, nevertheless I was regret to read that you have found the temperature too hot, we are sorry for the inconvenience experienced. Please rest assured that we are going to follow-up on that as we usually do in order to reinforce the quality of our product in this respect.

I do hope to welcome you in the near future again at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd, we will do our best to regain your confidence.

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,912 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#48 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#37 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing