We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #55 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brief trip”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel was excellent. Rooms spacious and protected from traffic noise even on a street facing room. However surprised that even the water was chargable. Hotel is located in great location - doorway leading into the main shopping centre. Be warned though - it does not open until 10am and as on business trip was unable to spend time there. Set of water fountains upfront provide a relaxing area to read or just watch the world go by. Found a nice park a few blocks away to have breakfast at nearby cafe. Hotel located near main train/bus station so links are good with half hour drive to airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xmasjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. It makes me so happy to read your compliments about our great location adjacent to the shopping mall and sidewalks cafés, restaurants next door. I hope you will return to Budapest soon and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    761
    197
    47
    27
See reviews for
228
743
115
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is located right in the center of Budapest 5-minute walk from the western railway station - Nyugati pu.- (with bus, tramway, metro stations). Modern building, with impersonal hall and friendly receptions staff. Long corridors on the floors lead to comfortable furnished rooms with relaxing chair. Some parts of furniture are very worn. Upon arrival, we found that in the bathroom is used towel with brown spots. Its very surprising in five-star hotel, as well as the fact that it is not automatically done evening room service. Reception, however, immediately arranged the exchange and the next day suprise awaited us in the room as satisfaction, and this of course improved view of the incident with a towel. Breakfast was nice and rich, just staff was not very friendly and observant. Also interesting is the custom, that remains in the corridors everything used dishes for more than 24 hours, so the corridors look like a warehouse of dirty dishes. With that, I also still in decent hotels don´t met and it is clear that management does not matter - or does not check the corridor :(.

The hotel is very good, but the service standard for five stars is still far, but as good 4* hotel definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metropolisPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to post review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with regards to our services, I will make sure to make necessary steps to improve on these areas. I kindly inform you that we are continuously carrying out some exciting upgrades in order to strengthen our position as a 5 star hotel, for example we have just reopened this week our new state of the art Fitness Centre with a larger sauna and latest equipments. On the other hand I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and in general have been good taken care of my team.

We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future and to have the chance to prove the level of services your are expecting!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and really liked it; were given a Junior suite which was ok, hotel is very modern. It is a bit a way from all the sites but we walked everywhere and handled it ok (it was around 90F). As Diamonds received lounge access and free wifi; big money saver, didn't have to spend any money of food. We used the "hop on hop off" bus to get around, we were always able to get back on the bus when we wanted. The train station is near but not the one that is used to get to Prague, I think it mostly used by locals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Budapest WestEnd during your recent city break. It makes me glad that you have been satisfied with our Junior Suite and the services of our Club Lounge impressed you.

Looking forward to welcome you back when returning to explore Budapest!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our stay at the Hilton was pleasant. Good location, clean spacious rooms, good a/c. The only negative was that the internet cost 37 USD for 24 hours

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your time to write us a feedback. Regarding internet we do provide other alternatives as well, than just offering chargeable wifi in the room. We kindly inform you that we do currently give internet free of charge in the room for Gold and Diamond members of the HHonors program and free access in our lobby and Zita Cafe & Kando Bar 24/7 for all guests. We have also launched a new room type - guest room plus - where 2 hours internet usage per day is included.
I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the time in Budapest. I look forward to welcome you back again at the Hilton Budapest WestEnd!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Hilton Budapest West End is located just next to the shopping mole „WestEnd“ and few steps from the train station, which is really convenient since you can reach every part of the city easily. If you get Budapest by flight, it takes about 25-30 minutes to get the hotel by taxi: in this case take one of the taxis at the airport (we realized that they are cheaper than the one you can get in the city). Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and we were surprised to receive an upgrade to an executive room. The room had a good size and good furnished as well as the bathroom. Everything was perfectly clean. Since it was our anniversary they placed as well a welcome present in the room (champagne with some cakes). Really nice from them. The bed was really comfortable and no noise during in the night coming from the corridor or from outside (we had slept really well). We had a rate including breakfast and we enjoyed the buffet even if the service could be more attentive: the last day nobody asked us if we needed something to drink.
The check out was as well friendly and they booked a taxi for us: just make sure that they book the one coming from the airport since there is a difference of about 3000 HUF to pay if you get the one in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your time and effort to share your detailed feedback with other readers. It makes me happy that you enjoyed the upgrade to our Executive room and the welcome champagne, so we could create a special moment for you on your anniversary day! Taxi fares from the airport might vary as per taxi company, our hotel is providing a fix rate at HUF 11.000 for a private transfer with our Mercedes Limousines. Please let us know if we can assist you and welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is is located in the west end of town, right next to a train/tram/metro station. This is convenient for going to the city centre, if you prefer walking you can do it in a good 15-20 minutes.
The reception staff is friendly and although not all staff speaks English very fluently they are still very helpfull. The rooms are a good size with bath and shower, bathroom amenities (also a scale), minbar and coffee making facility. There is a writing desk but this isn't so big.
The breakfast buffet has a good variety of cold and hot choices and you can also sit on the outside terraces when the weather permits. In the lobby there is also a bar that has a street level terrace.
The conference rooms are of decent size and there is also a small business centre where you can use a pc and printer (extra charge)
The hotel is also right next to a shopping mall where you can find a lot of shops and also some restaurants.
If you are coming for sightseeing I believe you can find a hotel that is closer to the centre however you might pay more. So considered price and proximity of train station this makes it a good hotel to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving your comments about your recent stay, especially your praising words about our friendly service, good equipment of our rooms, as well as the quality meals in our restaurants. Yes, to walk to the Danube side takes around 15 minutes walk from us, but taking a metro its only two stops and the station is next door. We are hoping that in case you will return to Budapest, we will have the chance to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is typical Hilton, good and clean.
You do have to walk a little to get to many of the sights, but that's part of the thrill of a vacation.
I had an executive room and the service was almost perfect.
I had to ask twice, but it happened.
With the taxi it was a fast ride 6000 HUF, half an hour ride. By train and bus (nr. 200 E) to the airport was fun and about 500 HUF, for an hour ride and I didn't pay for the bus ride. It was too busy. :):)
I would recommend it ....the only thing. No free wifi in the room. And it isn't always working and you pay 5200 HUF for 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ercordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you were very satisfied with the Hilton Executive room, I hope you enjoyed the extra touch and care in our Executive Lounge. We are sorry that you had problems with the internet connection, and have found the rates a bit expensive. We kindly inform you that in order to make our guests stay more comfortable, we are providing free high speed internet access on the Executive floor in our Club Lounge, also we do currently give internet 24/7 hours a day complimentary in our Lobby, Zita Cafe & Kando Bar for all guests.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,168 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
2,950 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 334 in Budapest
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#41 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing