We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing despite many tourists”

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.15*
and up
Szechenyi Spa Visit with Hotel Pickup
More Info
$22.77*
and up
Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage
More Info
$80.28*
and up
Szechenyi Bath Entry with Gourmet Dinner at Gundel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 118 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Relaxing despite many tourists”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went there on a Sunday afternoon in October. And it was crowded by tourists from all over the world. You will hardly meet Hungarians there. They go there for therapies and probably early in the morning. Very intelligent system for lockers and keys. You do not have to worry about your belongings. Very clean, relaxing, different pools with different temperatures, sauna too. You can eat at Bagolyvar close by. Water will make you hungry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank idegenvezetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,443
    6,307
    2,474
    864
    618
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See...”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The baths are amazing. A very traditional experience and a nice way to spend an evening / afternoon. I recommend evening time as it gets dark if possible - the lighting adds to the experience. I also recommend getting a cabin rather than a locker for some privacy. If you can avail of a pre-booked voucher at your hotel you can skip the queue, which was quite long during my visit. What prevented me from granting 5 stars to the baths was the staff. The person on duty at the barrier to the changing room was very rude, unhelpful and had no English (not what you need when you are trying to figure out where to get your towel and find your cabin!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our decision to go to Szechenyi Baths was driven by a lot of positive review and advice of locals. I cannot say we were really satisfied with the visit.
Here is our experience and some pieces of advice.

We went through the entrance near metro station Széchenyi fürdő, in front of the Circus. The staff was advertising an extended ticket with bath tour, fruits and stuff like that, but we went with the normal ticket. For normal ticket there is a locker and a cabin option. We took the cabin (for 2 people 1 ticket is more expensive (includes cabin price), another is at the normal price like for the lockers).
Then you go to the place with lots of cabins, by reading your bracelet you can learn your cabin number (the staff can help here). After changing in the cabin you go to bath itself, which has 2 areas - outdoor with a swimming pool and warm pools, and indoor with lots of thermal pools and saunas. The place lacks some signs for newbies, so it was not easy to find all the facilities available (e.g. to go to indoor area we had to cross the outdoor area and go into the door inside).
The place itself looks old and historical, but it lacks maintenance in our point of view. As a result, not everything is looking clean and hygienic, however it is crucial for this kind of place.
Regarding the health effect: the skin was feeling good after visit. But for sure it is impossible to see the real effect after 1 visit. Probably it is good for locals who go there regularly (there are a lot of them there), but not for the tourists who just make 1 visit.

To go to the place it is necessary to have bath suite and bath slippers. Also it is recommended to take a towel, as the towel rent there costs money and the process seems to be quite complicated. Also swimming cap is a must if you plan to swim in the swimming pool.
Leaving all the personal belongings seems to be quite safe (at least in a cabin).

To sum it up, we can advise to visit the place, because it is a nice experience, but probably you should not expect that much. Also it may be a good idea to try other baths in the city, but we are also not sure whether they are better or worse.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knerrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sandles and robes essential!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We got the fast pass from the hotel so no queuing which was great. The changing cabins are quite small so me and my wife had an interesting 10 minutes trying to get changed, get one each. We forgot our sandles and although the floors are fairly clean we really regretted it. Also take a towel to dry off and a robe to move between outdoor pools, its pretty cold. The saunas are a case of just packing in as.many people as possible and people even just stand in the middle just starring at you, which just seemed to be the norm. Overall we loved it despite the building being very old and a bit ropey. A must visit.

Helpful?
Thank amy12ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Baths - Massage average at best”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great day at the Baths, really nice and warm, fantastic for a cold day. However, the massage was a little disappointing. Male masseuse was great, female not so much. www.szechenyispabaths.com is where we booked our massage. We did however get to skip the big line by purchsing our tickets here online and not waiting for 2 and 1/2 hours as mentioned in other posts. There was a MASSIVE line... but we didn't have to wait.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing