We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechenyi Baths and Pool

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.03*
and up
Szechenyi Spa Visit with Hotel Pickup
Ranked #3 of 106 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our decision to go to Szechenyi Baths was driven by a lot of positive review and advice of locals. I cannot say we were really satisfied with the visit.
Here is our experience and some pieces of advice.

We went through the entrance near metro station Széchenyi fürdő, in front of the Circus. The staff was advertising an extended ticket with bath tour, fruits and stuff like that, but we went with the normal ticket. For normal ticket there is a locker and a cabin option. We took the cabin (for 2 people 1 ticket is more expensive (includes cabin price), another is at the normal price like for the lockers).
Then you go to the place with lots of cabins, by reading your bracelet you can learn your cabin number (the staff can help here). After changing in the cabin you go to bath itself, which has 2 areas - outdoor with a swimming pool and warm pools, and indoor with lots of thermal pools and saunas. The place lacks some signs for newbies, so it was not easy to find all the facilities available (e.g. to go to indoor area we had to cross the outdoor area and go into the door inside).
The place itself looks old and historical, but it lacks maintenance in our point of view. As a result, not everything is looking clean and hygienic, however it is crucial for this kind of place.
Regarding the health effect: the skin was feeling good after visit. But for sure it is impossible to see the real effect after 1 visit. Probably it is good for locals who go there regularly (there are a lot of them there), but not for the tourists who just make 1 visit.

To go to the place it is necessary to have bath suite and bath slippers. Also it is recommended to take a towel, as the towel rent there costs money and the process seems to be quite complicated. Also swimming cap is a must if you plan to swim in the swimming pool.
Leaving all the personal belongings seems to be quite safe (at least in a cabin).

To sum it up, we can advise to visit the place, because it is a nice experience, but probably you should not expect that much. Also it may be a good idea to try other baths in the city, but we are also not sure whether they are better or worse.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knerrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,477
    5,485
    2,044
    699
    522
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sandles and robes essential!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We got the fast pass from the hotel so no queuing which was great. The changing cabins are quite small so me and my wife had an interesting 10 minutes trying to get changed, get one each. We forgot our sandles and although the floors are fairly clean we really regretted it. Also take a towel to dry off and a robe to move between outdoor pools, its pretty cold. The saunas are a case of just packing in as.many people as possible and people even just stand in the middle just starring at you, which just seemed to be the norm. Overall we loved it despite the building being very old and a bit ropey. A must visit.

Helpful?
Thank amy12ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Baths - Massage average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great day at the Baths, really nice and warm, fantastic for a cold day. However, the massage was a little disappointing. Male masseuse was great, female not so much. www.szechenyispabaths.com is where we booked our massage. We did however get to skip the big line by purchsing our tickets here online and not waiting for 2 and 1/2 hours as mentioned in other posts. There was a MASSIVE line... but we didn't have to wait.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Myself and family queued for 2 hours to get into the baths on New Year's Eve. The reason being that not only was it extra extra busy but people who had booked online were able to skip the queue and get in ahead of those queuing. We hadn't researched that you could book online (I had looked at szechenyibath.com and not szechenyispabaths.com) and mightn't have been able to print off anyway. There was nearly a riot as tempers flared amongst the many queuing. No one was supervising the queue: say 10 people came out, 8 people we're let walk straight up to the top of the queue and get in while 2 from the queue were let in. We barely advanced at all in the 2 hours. People were getting very anxious.

However, once we got in and mastered the second queue at the cash desk - half an hour more - we really enjoyed defrosting in the baths. The lazy river was great fun. Staff were very pleasant despite being under pressure. It was a surprise to see people were drinking champagne from glass bottles at the pool-side. It is important to know that towel and swimming costume rental can only be done in florines - cash which includes a refundable deposit. You do this downstairs-a third queue. The system of renting out cabins runs smoothly using technology to find your assigned cabin. You swipe your wrist band.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wishing I had read the 'towel' review....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Yes this really is as stated in below reviews a 'must do' in the bitter cold of Winter. It is confusing on entry but persevere and you'll get there. Very glad we had pre booked tickets and a cabin as it was full when we arrived and very large queues outside in the cold. Once inside the experience of being immersed in bubbling warm water outside in these lovely old baths is a magical experience. However, as we had travelled light we did not bring towels. Oh what a mistake! We queued for over 40 minutes to rent a towel and then realised because of the deposit it would be slightly risky to take said towel outside into the cold. Ooops! So it was a rather quick entry and exit into the pools. The tiles inside are very very slippy when wet even in flip flops so best not to try going too quickly to exit the cold. Ooops again! So if going in Winter take a big towel, robe if you want extra comfort and then simply enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharrron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing