We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting experience”

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.85*
and up
Szechenyi Spa Visit with Hotel Pickup
Ranked #3 of 109 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

You should always experience the unique cultural opportunities when you visit another country. This is one of those opportunities in Budapest. There are numerous baths of different temperatures both inside and outside. The spa offers some interesting treatments such as a fish pedicure. Be sure to bring your own towel and foot wear.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,640
    5,647
    2,157
    745
    555
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Try it in December”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to this bath in 25th of December so the opening hour was limited to 2 pm. It was the first time that we have tried an outdoor bath in a cold weather and it was a unique and must do experience. The weather was about 1 degree and it was very pleasant to rest in a warm water of 38 degree. We got a locker to put out stuff and I think is better than getting a cabin for a higher price just to change your cloths. The bath is well connected with public transport, a metro station is in front of the bath. We got out tickets from the reception of our hotel for the same price so we didn't need to stay in a queue for purchasing tickets. It is always good to have your towel and sleepers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahman_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Must-Do”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I took the subway to the baths, which has it's own station. The admission process was fairly easy and the staff helpful. Skip all the indoor stuff, it isn't worth writing about. The outdoor thermal pools are fantastic. We soaked outdoors, with the steam rising, in 100 degree water in December. The building surrounding us made me feel as though I were in a Palace courtyard. We stayed in about 2.5 hrs, and while it may be my imagination, my skin felt wonderful for about a week afterward! The only spoiler for us was , we each got a fine in the subway for not validating our tickets (didn't notice the machine nor anyone else using it). It was a group of 5 security people, they could see we were older tourists, asked to see our passports (really, like we had them), were kind of bullyish, and soaked us for the equivalent of at least 50 dollars each. I think the female was in training and was trying to prove something. She was the worst. Of course on the return trip there was no security in sight. The hotel concierge was very surprised, he said they usually don't bother tourists.He felt bad because it was he who talked us into the subway. Next time, it's a taxi ! But, hey, the baths were great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swift75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good BUT make sure you arrive way before closing AND bring a towel”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We didnt really know what we were doing when we arrived here.
We didnt bring our own towel, first big mistake - queued for over 30 mins to hire a towel - you need to have a huge cash deposit to get it as well (no cards excepted) We saw others in all kinds of bother not having enough cash on them, ending up having to share one towel. They had only ONE man on the desk both handing out & taking in the returned towels & returning the deposit - a very slow procedure indeed.
Great, well now we have our towel's surely it will be plain sailing - nope... it's not signed very well so you don't really know where to go. Lucikly we found a fellow patron who spoke English to point us in the right direction.
However - having got into the first sauna, I was kicked out after just 5 mins & told the indoor bit was closing! So having paid full price all i could actually use was the three outdoor pools, which stayed open for hours after the indoor bit closed. It would have been so helpful to know this prior to our visit.
These were nice but crowded now as that was all that was open.
What i found disappointing was that no one told us when we bought our ticket that most of it was closing very soon, & we still paid full price - which acutally isnt cheap.
I visited the Gelert baths last time, & actually if i were to return to Budapest again would go to them instead, beautiful surrounding & easier to navigate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xhe1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend an Afternoon”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Truly Hungarian Experience. We visited in May when it was still nice out, but it was fun trying all the indoor and outdoor baths. A different temperature to suit everyone. It was a great way to re-energize after cycling from Vienna. It can be a bit chaotic, but you will soon figure out the rhythm of the place. There was a long line up when we got there but it processed fairly quickly and the wait was worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing