We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hangover cure”

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.37*
and up
Szechenyi Spa Visit with Hotel Pickup
Ranked #3 of 112 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hangover cure”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After feeling a little banged up following nights in Amsterdam and Prague, the Szechenyi Baths were a very restorative experience upon arriving in Budapest. I felt the baths were a cross between a community pool and a spa. Families and couples packed the place, locals and tourists alike, with plenty of lounge space surrounding the main pools outside. Inside, there was a wide variety of pools at varying temperatures (from about 55F to >100F) and varying levels of mineral content, dry saunas, and steam rooms. We made a point of visiting the baths on our first day in Budapest, and we also returned early one Sunday morning (basically had the place to ourselves). Any muscle-soreness, hangover, or general fatigue melted away after a few hours at the baths. If visiting Budapest, this is a can't-miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,832
    5,799
    2,230
    760
    578
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never been more relaxed in my life..”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

A must-do in budapest, worth every single forint. Be sure to visit the saunas as well, they vary from 45 to 100 degrees. Bring your own towels, no need to bring a swimming hat.

Helpful?
Thank IlyaChe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Best activity when the weather is bad.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I went here on a cold rainy day, but it was brilliant. The hot water both inside and out was very relaxing. One of the outside pools has jets that push you around. The saunas are at different temperatures so find the one that is right for you! There is a steam room and you can book in for massages too. The daily pass was about 4200huf which I felt was good value. I was there about 5 hours in total, and left relaxed and tired.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquiHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Coast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although the pools are not cheap, we spent a good couple of hours here and really enjoyed the experience. I went with a family member who had been to the famous Gellert Baths a couple of weeks previously and preferred Szechenyi stating that Gellert were a bit run-down.

On a Saturday afternoon, the baths were very busy but the lap pool was fairly quiet (you do need a swimming cap to swim in the lap pool but not the baths) so it was nice to get a proper swim as well as lazing around the pools.

I think this would be a lovely experience in winter. As it is expensive, it might not be worth it in summer or holidays when it may be just too crowded to enjoy.

There is limited English signage and we did see some people struggling to work the lockers (you line up the magnetic part and twist) but the greeter spoke perfect English so ask if you have any questions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Pricier than the other baths, but bigger, prettier and more going on. The 3 outside pools are great - it feel like you're on a summer holiday, even in winter.
The inside pools, saunas ans steam rooms (of which there are so many, i lost count!) are great too.
Dont bother eating here - it overpriced and rubbish good food. Wait till after, and go to a nice restaurant in the Jewish Quarter!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GenniferBec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing