We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss - go in the evening, after long day of sights in the city!”

Szechenyi Baths and Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.15*
and up
Szechenyi Spa Visit with Hotel Pickup
More Info
$22.77*
and up
Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage
More Info
$80.28*
and up
Szechenyi Bath Entry with Gourmet Dinner at Gundel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 118 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The palace-like edifice contains a huge thermal pool where people often play chess while immersed in chest-high, and very hot, water.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss - go in the evening, after long day of sights in the city!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Budapest is an amazing city, and there are lots of sights to visit in it. You'll probably walk a lot, spend lots of energies during the day, and get tired around afternoon.
That's exactly the time to spend 2-3 hours at Szechenyi baths, as it is open (at least when we were there) in the late afternoon towards the evening. Some of the baths were closed, but most of them were open, and there are many - 20, 32, 36, 40, Celsius degrees and many more, as well as saunas with different tempratures, and the surreal outside pool, where the water can be very hot and the air around 0 degrees. It isn't so expensive too - around 15 euros, and definitely worth it.
The entire complex is tastefully designed and gives you kind of a 'historic' feeling, with the beuatiful architecture of it.
There are lockers where you can leave your belongings (incl. in price) and the entire site is very organized.
The only downside of late visit is that the massages services are closed...But the thermal pools are more than enough for most people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,443
    6,307
    2,474
    864
    618
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing outside baths but confusing place”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was one of the best parts of my visit to Budapest. The outside pools are amazing - particularly the hottest one. Sitting in a 37degree pool when it's 2degrees outside is magical. There was however a lack of signs and it would have been useful to have been given a map. Instead we followed others and found our way inside and to other pools. We went at 2pm on a Monday and it wasn't too busy.

For others visiting this place I would recommend you pay for a cabin (changing room) unless you are fully comfortable changing amongst naked women of various ages. This is possible for only 300hf more. Don't forget to take flip flops and borrow a hotel towel rather than having to rent one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ms21cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hot baths in freezing weather”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent a few hours here over sunset in late February. The yellow buildings are beautiful and the steam coming off the water is special to see. Not terribly well signed, but the staff are willing to help- until they find out that you are not interested in a massage or spa treatment.
There are a bunch of indoor pools with various temperatures, 2 saunas and some large outdoor pools. If it is cold, be sure to bring your thongs/flip-flops/sandals otherwise your feet will freeze on the walk from the change room to the water!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great way to unwind”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went just as it was going dark and it was magical.
Only problem was it was very busy - however these are the most popular baths in Budapest and I'm sure there are less known baths about.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“RENT TOWELS DOWNSTAIRS - funny but fun place.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose these baths at random, and I'm not convinced they're the best in Budapest, but they did the job. Nice temperature and ambience. I went with my boyfriend and it was very pleasant but here are some tips to help, as we were vexed on a few occasions, as were other tourists, as it's internally quite poorly signposted, and surprisingly for Hungary, few spoke English.
1, buy a cheap swimsuit from a street vender. My boyfriend and I picked up trunks and a swimsuit for £10, and they were ok.
2, don't bother with a cabin, unnecessary expense, and the changing rooms are very clean and very spacious
3, RENT THE TOWELS from downstairs - although we asked, not one upstairs told us this, they told us to buy towels from the expensive vendor of official spa towels, so we did. A hand towel (that we awkwardly shared due to expense) was 4000 HUF, and then we went home with a wet towel that we didn't need. You can rent 2 full sized towels for 2800HUF downstairs
4, The lockers work with the bracelet - push the button and then hold your bracelet against it - this will lock it, reverse for unlocking. Also, don't worry about remembering your number, along the walls of the changing rooms are "computers" that if you put your bracelet against, will tell you what number your locker is.
5, There seemed to be comparatively lots of older and "plumper" people, in scarily small bikinis here. I don't know whether I am an English Prude, but I didn't know where to look and found their lack of inhibitions refreshing yet awkward!!! Just to warn your eyes...
Well worth a visit, but take note of these tips - they will save you money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosita910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechenyi Baths and Pool also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Baths and Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing