We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet ter 9-10., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Formerly Le Meridien Budapest) (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #31 of 331 Hotels in Budapest
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Superb luxury hotel in the heart of Budapest. Large rooms with wonderful bathrooms and huge comfortable beds. Location is excellent with metro stations on the door step and in the heart of the city with everything very close. Excellent service from all the staff who were all helpful and friendly. Only criticism I can come up with is that the pool was quite cold, but this really is nitpicking!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Brilliant location, with metro stop 30 yards from front door which has all lines running through it. Number 16 bus (I think) stops right outside door and takes you up to castle area. 2 minute walk to St Stephens Bailica, good bars and restaurants in all directions. Also located next to good shopping area. Hotel itself was very good with staff who were excellent. Good bar/lounge, Good sized standard room. I'd highly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwlYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Le Meridien hotel in Budapest is in a superb location right in the heart of city, just a few metres from the Deak Ferenc metro interchange and Vorosmarty Square.

I got a terrific room rate but then also took advantage of a EUR40 room upgrade rate which included a EUR40 allowance for food and drink, whether breakfast (which alone is EUR29), bars, restaurant, room service and in-room mini-bar. The upgrade also included free wifi (normally EUR19 per day) and a winter stay also included free entry to one of the top city spas and other discounts. I am sure that, at other times of the year, the hotel can be quite an expensive luxury.

The upgraded room was very comfortable with large tv, desk, high-speed wired internet, coffee/tea, large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Decoration was in a calm and neutral traditional style.

Breakfast was comprehensive but pricey. The room service menu was wide-ranging and food was well prepared and high quality. The top-class Le Bourbon restaurant had some wonderful French and Arabic inspired dishes.

Staff across the whole hotel, including the doormen, reception, concierge, housekeeping, and in the restaurants and bars, were friendly, welcoming, courteous and helpful.

Although in a busy location, the hotel was calm and peaceful, with the exception of a rumble of underground trains although this didn’t extend into the night.

There seem to be many international top-class hotels in Budapest, but I don’t think they can beat Le Meridien’s location and doubt if their service is any better. Overall, this is a quality and friendly establishment and is thoroughly recommended for business and leisure travellers alike.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited here for a long weekend in January, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We used some Starwood Preferred Guest points to upgrade to an Executive Room, and the hotel very kindly upgraded us to an Executive Suite to ensure that our stay met with our requirements! The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We were celebrating a special anniversary and Gabor Redling, Reservations Manager not only provided the upgrade, but also sent champagne and chocolates as a gift. Thank you Gabor. The hotel is 5 star and beautifully decorated. We tried breakfast and while there was plenty to choose from at 25 euros, felt it was a bit expensive. The hotel is a wee bit more expensive than others, but is well placed for shopping, being in the fashion district and well worth the extra. Try 2 for 1 cocktails in the White Room at 5.00pm

Room Tip: Ask for Room 826, its beautiful, and one of the best in the hotel, facing Erzsebet Square, witha vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I travel to Budapest frequently for work and used to stay at other hotels until I discovered the Le Meridien. This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious (with heated bathroom floors!) and the beds are really comfortable. The service at this hotel is very nice, and the breakfast is unbelievable...something for everyone here. The windows in the rooms open just slightly (something I really appreciate - I don't like when a hotel room offers no chance for fresh air). I should also mention that the wifi in the rooms is reliable and fast (that isn't always true of hotels in Europe, even those that advertise themselves as properties suited for business travelers). The hotel is also well-located: just behind the hotel is the famous walking street for shopping, a Starbucks, and just in front of the hotel is a metro station and nice park. It's just a short walk to the lovely Danube and Chain Bridge. When I come to Budapest for work, I always stay at Le Meridien.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel offer the best view. Lower floors you might feel the vibration of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veToTravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location, atmospheric - despite being quite new, good service and well equipped rooms. Brilliant breakfast in lovely dining room; excellent buffet selection. Only gripes were a slightly cold room and having to pay for wireless. For the quality good value

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GSUKKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is my 2nd review of this magnificent hotel I choose to stay in whenever in Budapest, but it has let me down badly. Reason being is that they have closed the much loved and frequented Adria bar until 8pm every day (except Sunday I believe) and opened a ghastly white walled, ultra hip bar at an impossible location within the hotel. A very narrow and somewhat dingy corridor leads you into this extremely opened bar, so much so that due to the lack of curtains on the almost ceiling to floor windows you can see a dog pooing outside, beggars staring at you or strangers staring at you wishing they were inside. The reason one wants to go to a bar is to relax to begin with, have a drink, enjoy the atmosphere. Well, this bar lacks in all areas. I am astonished to see a five star hotel not recognizing its own failure. I was told this debate of the white vs. the old bar started when the new owner took over. To the defence of them I get the idea of a hip cocktail bar on one of the trendiest streets in Budapest, but if you care to look at the clientele of this hotel, you would notice immediately that they are just not the type who would enjoy spending a coffee afternoon in a white, cold, empty, souless establishment staring at naked breasts on the wall. I appreciate art photography, at the right place, at the right time. Knowing the al habtoor group is the new owner I am amazed that they would let such photo be exhibited in a daytime bar where due to lack of other bar opened you might take your children to.
Noone wants to see the outside world when in a bar, let alone be stared at during a coffee conversation from one foot away by beggars and strangers.

The hotel needs to recognize it can be a great cocktail bar for the evenings, where it might attract people off the street too, provided they change the decor, put curtains up, get rid of this blinding whiteness (its not Ibiza or Greece) for crying out loud! The pathetic offfer of: 'If you,dont like this bar you can have your coffee at the restaurant' is just low. If I want to go to a restaurant I will.

Please come to your senses and bring the lovely Adria bar back, keeping the white bar for the evenings only. With the right interior design and marketing that bar could be an excellent attraction to Budapest's young and successful, hell, I would want to go there in the evening all dressed up...but not like this. Its simply a very poor decision from the management's side. For the first time in many years I am thinking of staying somewhere else. I cant help but feel this new bar is letting hotel staff down as well, as from what I hear the complaints have been pouring in for 6 months but noone listens!

Room Tip: Choose a room above 4th floor, further from lift Deak square as with musicians there it can get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iverano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 331 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest

Address: Erzsebet ter 9-10., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Formerly Le Meridien Budapest)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#14 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Family Hotel in Budapest
#21 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed for renovation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Budapest Hotel Budapest
Meridien Budapest
Budapest Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing